How to Transfer Steem from Poloniex to your Steemit Account

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I am taking a work vacation this weekend. What does that mean? I am in the mountains of Colorado at a friends cabin by myself. My team is not here, my family is not here, no one but me. My goal is to get some serious work done. I talked about why I did this in my last post on Steemit here. https://steemit.com/books/@investfourmore/why-deep-work-is-so-important-in-our-world

20180303_172843.jpg

While I am here I was just working on transferring some Steem to my account from Poloniex. What a pain!!! I have been using Poloniex for a while as it was suggested by a friend as a good site. It worked great until about three weeks ago when I kept getting a message saying:

"STEEM is currently under maintenance or experiencing wallet/network issues. Deposits and withdrawals will remain disabled until a solution is found, which may require an update from the STEEM team. Any updates must be tested and audited before enabling."

I thought this would be cleared up in a day or two, but after a few weeks, I was getting annoyed. I had some Steem I wanted to transfer to Steemit and I could not do it. When I first started looking into Cryptos a few weeks ago I gave myself a few thousand dollars to play with. I bought some Bitcoin, sold some Bitcoin. I bought some Ether, bought some Ripple, Bought some Lite Coin, etc. What I kept realizing was I was purely speculating. The cool think about Steem is I can invest in the coin and use it as well! I can power up, which is allows me to hold the investment, while I earn money with it as well. When I vote for other posts I earn curation, I can vote for myself, I can even sell my votes and earn curation and money from the vote seller.

The more Steem I have on Steemit, the more money I make. Of course, there is always the risk that you could lose money as well. But I am a real estate guy. I love to be able to make money with my money while it is gaining value. My rentals are awesome because they go up in value and provide cash flow every month. I wanted to invest more money into Steemit and it was super annoying that Poloniex was not letting me do it.

How did I get my money from Poloniex to Steemit?

Before I tell you anything, please know I am not a tech guy. The fact I have anything to do with crypto at all is a minor miracle. I am sure there are better people to learn this stuff from, but this is what I did.

  1. I found another cyprto exchange that has Steem. I tried Bitrexx, but it is closed to new users! I asked around and found Binance had Steem and is fairly well known. I chose them. Are they the best? I have no idea, but I was tired of not having my Steem.

  2. I opened an account with Binance which was really easy! I used a referral code to reward the person who posted info on Binance. So I thought it wise I post my own referral code. If you use it sweet, if not, cool. https://www.binance.com/?ref=27833386

  3. I was able to transfer my Poloniex money to Binance really easily. I went to Poloniex and sold all my Steem for Bitcoin since I could not transfer any Steem anywhere. I then went to Balances on Poloniex, went to deposit withdraw, clicked on withdraw and they show me the screen where they ask me where I am sending my money. I then went to Binance to Funds, and then clicked on deposits. They show me a deposit address that I enter on the Poloniex site. Make sure you are using the address of the correct coin! You enter the address on Poloniex, and send the coins over to Binance.

  4. Ten minutes or so later I had my Bitcoin on Binance. I then bought Steem with my Bitcoin, which sucked because the exchange rate was worse on Binance than Poloniex. Once I had my Steem I was ready to send it to Steemit! Except they wanted a 2-factor authentication or something on Binance. Great, I will use my phone and they will send me a text. I did that about ten times with no success! I got the code, entered it, and they kept giving me a message in Chinese. I don't speak or read Chinese. I assume it was Chinese because Binance is a Chinese company. Anyway I was able to get Google Authentication on my phone which allowed me to send Steem to Steemit!

  5. The last step is easy. I click on Funds and then withdraw on Binance. I type in Steem and it asked me where I want to send my Steem and I simply use my username on Steem. I tried a small amount to make sure it worked and wallah! I had my Steem on Steemit.

I hope this may help a few people. I was a little pertrubered about the whole process. Along the way I also went to the Discord chat and saw some scary things bout Poloniex. I saw people saying to close accounts, and move everything ASAP. I have no idea if Poloniex has issues, as that is beyond my knowldge, but I thought I would pass it on.

Sort:  

I seem to be one of the few who like Poloniex. When they changed their terms and conditions it did become scary. I trade less than I use to so took the leap and invested in a hardware wallet.

I have sold some strong coins to invest in steem power. My personal goal is to begin writing more real estate articles where the amount exceeds $10 so that any links to my website are considered in SEO algorithms.
http://www.ColumbiaSC-Houses.com (shameless plug if you know anyone moving to South Carolina). :)

Have you written any articles about the voting robots. I haven't used them and want to know if doing so would help me attain my goal above quicker.

I have not, but I should, I think they can be a big help if used right. There are also many other resources you can use. https://steemit.com/steem/@investfourmore/why-is-steemit-awesome-passive-income

Good post,friends.
@investfourmore.

It's more simple with blocktrades.us, without an exchange but I'm not familiar with current fees.

I feel it may be lawsuit time against either SteemIt or Polo. Ploo is deflecting that it's on SteemIt, as there's a development update they need (or something). From what I can tell, wallets may have been disabled sense early January. What my lawyer finds peculiar is that the SteemIt account may have powered down during this time, see it's history:

2 months ago | Start power down of 71,629,243.954 STEEM

Anyone who uses other exchanges doesn't realize that if Polo is right (the problem is on SteemIt), SteemIt could do this to any other exchange, which could be construed as a form of limiting liquidity. Be careful!!! Some might see this as price manipulation. It's possible Polo isn't telling the full truth, or they have to do something. Unsure of who's at fault, but it's gone on too long and it may be time to investigate legal options against either or both.

I feel I should add this too that we know how much Steem and SBD has been locked up from the wallet:

14,479,804.585 STEEM
$471,584.271 STEEM DOLLARS

Quite a bit of both!!! Users cannot do anything with any of it during this whole time!!!

Interesting stuff! Thank you

I have had that same problem with Poloniex. I decided to move to OpenLedger. The volume is low, but as more people move over, it will get better. It too has problems, but mostly that not as many coins are supported and the volume problem.

Plus there is the benefit that it is a Decentralized Exchange (DEX).
Here are some others. -> https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@diggndeeper.com/moving-to-dex

the spirit keeps your friends what you do or that you hope you can get

You got a 1.09% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @investfourmore!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 1.92% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @investfourmore!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 6.11% vote... I was summoned by @investfourmore! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78