Bandwith Limit Exceeded? price of steem to blame? [WorkAround+newest.UPDATES]

in #steem7 years ago (edited)


(coingecko.com)

A lot of people have gotten this error message within the past 24 hours:

"bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact, or power up STEEM."


(source steemit.com/@geordieprepper/bandwith-limit-exceeded)

What does it mean? There are speculations that you could get this message from irritating a Whale. But after a little time on the PAL chat, i find that that there are many people experiencing this.

There, I was directed to this post The Day Steemit Stood Still, advising me to not panic. @sircork says, we are still in development, and most users get restored function of their accounts after a bit of time.

Thanks to @neander-squirrel for sharing a link to this post:

steemit.com - @someguy123/dear-witnesses-please-increase-your-block-size

In this article @someguy123 proposes a fix to resolve this issue.

also in the comments section we find some work arounds:

  • Some have had success with restarting their computer
  • Some have also found that going through busy.org works.

  • But the question still remains. What exactly is causing these bandwith issues?


    In this post, @rycharde - Bandwith limit Solved, we are given some technical data on exactly what the reason for this is... but I'm afraid that I didn't fully get it.

    so.. I got a response from @rycharde on his Bandwidth Post.

    The price of steem is not the issue, just a coincidence in this case. It is about traffic: possibly many new users, possibly the explosion in various bots (some useful, others less so). Every action has a small cost (in Vests) which is why, ironically, one cannot even power up SP if needed, but have to wait to be able to do so until allocated bandwidth is above that already used. @rycharde steemit.com Bandwidth Limit Solved

    Another answer that helped clarify for me was:

    to help prevent flooding, bandwidth is restricted based on VESTS. This makes sense, it ensures that people with significant investment in the service are less likely to power down or bail out @timeshiftarts on steemit.chat

    So that answers that question. No, it is not the price of steem interrupting our service, it's a hiccup that the developers and witnesses are working to fix.

    In the meantime, I'm still experiencing the error.


    [work-around UPDATE]

    You can find, on the steemd.com website, how much bandwith you have at any given moment.

    **There is a number at the bottom of the left hand column (the same one where you check your voting power). This number jumps up and down pretty quickly, so within 20 minutes, I have been able to post both times i got the error tonight. Including trying to post this update which it went from -720% to 80% in 3 minutes** (steemd.com/@YourUserNameHere)

    @rycharde has come out with a follow-up post about practical ways we can help!

    The Bandwidth Game

    So per the update, in above post: regardless of actions we can take as a community (such as regulating our usage), we require a deeper re-configuration. This is being addressed, in the soon to come Soft Fork 19.1. Be patient, and keep track of how much Bandwidth you have available on Steemd.com. If you have trouble posting refresh steemd.com until your bandwith available increases.

    Newest update!!!!

    @timcliff - potential-bandwidth issue fix in the works softfork 19.1



    Feel free to comment if you are still experiencing these errors, and to share other informative posts.




    Thank You !!!

Sort:  

Hi @inquiringtimes,

I just got this link:
[Dear witnesses please increase your block size] written by @someguy123, where he explains what the solution is. Some of the witnesses are already cooperating on this matter.

Hopefully it will be solved soon.

thank you for the link @neander-squirrel. I've been trying to find any and all information related to this subject.

thank you, @neander-squirrel! @timcliff is the best. Vote for him as witness. He is a champion in the steemit.chat help section

You're welcome,
Yes, I'll probably vote for him, I just need time to think who is going to be all of my candidates:) Unfortunately I'm not using steem.chat but Discord only.

Have you checked out the new steemd homepage? It got new features:)
Just saying...

i did see that :-) I understand there is so much going on in discord. I'm on like 8 servers there. However, steemit.chat is worth it for a few reasons. the help channel is a major reason. that's the only tech support steemit has besides crowdsourcing your feed. and Tim is meticulous about answering everyone. not immediately of course, but he goes back and responds to every question. fer real

https://steemit.com/news/@timcliff/potential-bandwidth-issue-fix-is-in-the-works-softfork-19-1

I didn't know there was a direct link to bandwidth and the price of steem. Good to know!
We will have to see in time how this develops further.
I am always curious how the system will handle new challenges.

we'll see. it's still a question to me. but I will continue to search for the answers. certainly we have more users than ever, and it's increasing every day. maybe it has nothing to do with the price of steem and everything to do with the service getting used to more users

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inquiringtimes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I was able to ReSteem your post, but not cash out my wallet... awesome :/ lol

hopefully you got your wallet to work. have you tried checking steemd.com for your bandwith %? that has helped me to know when I can take an action

I was finally able to get it to work! I didn't check Steemd prior to that, but I just did just to check it out. It looks like I'm currently at ~59%. Not really sure what that means though... is there an optimum number we should be at?

mine has been swinging back into the %80 range often enough. it's all about using those windows to get posted. idk what the minimum is to post though

Thanks for putting it all together. I declare you our Steemit official journalist 😏

You're Welcome! I'm covering this bandwidth issue. I'm not sure if I'll stay with the journalism though. I'm still a newbie to crypto currency. I just wrote this because I searched and I couldn't find a whole lot of information about it. That, of course, led to me learning a lot more. I appreciate all the people who have shared links and wrote all the stuff I don't quite understand.

Thanks for doing all the hard work, I just have to read your post and learn:)

I didn't know about that you can see your bandwidth on steemd! Even I'm using steemd every day this little information has avoided my attention until now.

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02