98% of Steem currently held in Steem Power!! Securing the longevity of Steem!

in #steem8 years ago

First of all, this was pointed out to me by @smooth on a post below, but thought it was worth reposting;

https://steemit.com/steem/@hisnameisolllie/steem-getting-pump-ed-will-there-be-a-dump

Data from https://steemd.com shows that a massive proportion of Steem is currently held in vesting Steem Power;

  1. Steem (current supply): 95,949,815.277 STEEM
  2. Steem Power (total vesting funds): 93,765,476.432 STEEM

Percentage: (2/1 = 0.977): 97.7%

This is an interesting fact to consider, and in my opinion, should aid in the development of the Steemit platform, and help @dan and @ned achieve their 'evil plan for cryptocurrency world domination';

https://steemit.com/steem/@dan/steemit-s-evil-plan-for-cryptocurrency-world-domination

Steem Power is like restricted stock. Locked down for a 2 years period, and only returned at a rate of 1/104th per week, it guarantees that a traditional market dump cannot occur. This will also aid in the development of a stable ecosystem over time. Too many cryptocurrency are harmed by wild market speculation and market manipulation in their early days. Steem Power gives the Steemit platform time to develop, build a community, and move on to the next task, without the traditional;

Pump, Hype, Dump, Death...

Sort:  

So many things have been done right that it is scary. I'm starting to believe that @Ned an @Dan are aliens now. I just wish they could get more devs on board to fasten the speed of development.

Dan is actually superman from the planet BTSX as you know. Ned contributes the ineffable human viral X-factor :D

It's almost like @ned and @dan started with an ultimate aim, and worked backwards. Steemit.com is like planting the seed...Stage 1 of many more to come. So many crypto projects try to go from zero to hero straight away, and not one has achieve what they have set out to do thus far. These guys (@ned @dan) know what they are doing...

This is something that does make Steem stand out amongst the 'crowd of coins'. Rock solid, dumping is difficult, long term price might get quite stable, after a few months. While Steem power is growth and made me even buy some more. It is such fun, a platform that has so many different sides to it and you can all join in on any of it. With even more exciting developements on the horizon.

I know that I am storing most of my STEEM as steem power. I want this project to succeed big, and doing that, and telling people about this (word of mouth/twitter) are the two ways I think I can make an impact.

I originally purchased Steem for that reason but upon learning more about what this platform is immediately converted it into Steempower. It's just a smart move for the long-term.

This is effectively like locking away 98% of the money supply and is huge for the price. I am an example of this. I have just recently gotten into steem ( a few days ago) and yesterday i bought some steem, signed up and powered up right away. As such my coins are locked away.

Today i noticed right away that my funds have slightly increased overnight. Way to get people hooked.

very smart. you build a platform to survive the BS.

Yep. I don't know about anyone else, but this feels different to every other crypto project I've either followed/invested or been involved in. Exciting time to see how this develops...

That's because its not a crypto project. It's a social media project with crypto in the back-end, not the front-end.

yes, it's very cool that non-crypto people can use a completely new platform without knowing how the backend works

That is a very good point to make, and one that I have not given enough thought to. I will be sure to do just that over the next few days. Thanks @pheonike

I am excited. Praise Be.

если эта платформа получит развитие я буду только рад хочется надежного вложения своих средств

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55