Excuse The Terminology But I Did My First Steem Buy Today

in #steem7 years ago

I have been wanting to buy steem for a while. Mainly just to see if I could do it.
Well, this morning when I woke up and saw the price of steem had been dipping down, I thought I should check more into it. But being leery and intimated, I decided to scroll through my feed and see what my 'friends' were up to and maybe I'd comment on a few posts.

riosparada.jpg

Photo Image Credit @riosparada

But low and behold, I came across @em3 and his post about buying steem NOW! So I went to his post, saw his easy step-by-step tutorial with pictures... and decided, the time was now.

Well, I watched the changing of the "buy' and the "sell" for a few minutes. Decided on the amount of sbd I wanted to use without using all of it and I set to work.

I took the amount I settled on and entered the information and hit the "Buy Steem" tab. Then I waited.
When my 'bid started going down the row lower and lower, I thought "had I underbid myself..." But I waited. And waited some more.

I refilled my coffee cup. I gave the dog a homemade bone. I checked my email. I refilled my coffee.

My bid was now second in line... wait for it... wait for it... Nope! Slipped back to fourth in line. Crud! Should I cancel my bid and re-enter a new one? A better price?

I needed a break. Coffee refill time again.

This was becoming nerve-racking

I sat down at the desk, refreshed the page and watched the number +58, +75, +1.01... OMGoodness! When will this insanity end!

Just as I was about to give up, I was next in line... c'mon.... c'mon... THERE IT IS!

I may not have gotten the lowest price of the day, but I felt confident I did well for a beginner. The stress on the other hand had me for a few moments. but in the end, the adrenalin was high and I survived my first steem buy.

All in all it was a good morning. How did you fair when making a buy today?

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Congratulations! I did that a couple of times but I must say I didn't know you could set a lower price. I just hit the button, so thanks for pointing it out!

Yes! Which is what I liked. You can set the price and just leave it. Once it gets to that price and the amount you want to purchase becomes available it will automatically buy for you. NO need to sit and watch... unless you want to.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Ha! Sounds like you had some fun with the Cryptocurrency Roulette Wheel, @goldendawn... Reminded me of my day trading days watching the bid & ask fly around.

With every currency getting hammered, the time could be ripe. While this may not be the bottom just yet, I think you did OK getting in here. Are you intending to hold long term, or are you looking to flip it once the price recovers?

Cheers!

I'm in this long term @braveboat
I showed my husband what I had done today and he said just 'buy it up. You can always write more and keep building..."
I have no intention of flipping. I'm looking at this as an opportunity to enhance and add to our retirement fund. Some day I/we may sell it off but for now I'm here for the writing and blogging. Today's 'experiment' was to ease the intimidation I have.

Cool! I'll be following along to see how you do. :) Good luck!

I bought today also some.
Good choice :)

Seemed like t he time was right. If I had been awake earlier I may have gotten a better price but as I said, I'm happy with what I accomplished.

You can be.
I am also new in this scene :)

I was skeptical about doing a transaction but our oldest son was in town last week and he gave me a tour, some tips and helped ease my mind a little.

@originalworks

Good going goldendawne. I didn't know you could do that either. I got my first significant payout today and turned it all into steem power. Anyway, now my votes give a little to those I upvote.

AWESOME!!! congrats on the first big pay out! WONDERFUL feeling, isn't it?

Glad you were able to get in on some good prices today too!

good for you!! I am hoping also to be able to do that :)

Good for you. I was looking at the price go down to .92 on Steem and wanted to buy Steem Power from the Steemit Wallet page. I couldn't figure it. Then the price was going up and I still didn't figure out how to buy with my SBD. I bookmarked blog you mentioned. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48