Is chainsquad taking the users for granted

in #steem7 years ago

Today while going through https://steemit.com/trending I was surprised to see @chainsquad post making around 1760 payout. $1760 payout is big for a post that is barely 4 hours old. But I was even more surprised to see the blue upvote icon as I had niether upvoted the post manually nor had I set up a rule for autoupvote. I had recently read about the service being discontinued and so I thought of reading the article to know further details.

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 9.08.11 PM.png

I read the article but was still not convinced why it received such a high payout. I scrolled through the comments and realised what was going on.

Chainsquad was using the posting keys to upvote this post.

Though I felt that chainsquad has misused the posting keys after reading their comment I realised that we had given them that rights when signed their T&C.

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 9.06.04 PM.png

Everybody knows that nobody reads T&C

But this incident has highlighted what will happen when give away our posting keys without taking enough precautions.

If you are reading this and you had also used Streemian you might need to revoke the rights. As you can see from the image you can visit https://v2.steemconnect.com/revoke/@streemian to revoke.

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 9.24.21 PM.png

I am just thinking what would have happened if we had not used SteemConnect and entrusted them with our posting keys. I know we are not suppose to do that but many new users wouldn't think so much before sharing. In such case may be resetting the password form https://steemit.com/@gokulnk/password will help but I am not sure. Has somebody tried this before?

Now back to what @chainsquad did. Their actions have invited flak from all the bigwigs of Steem. Check out the following.

This

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 9.06.37 PM.png

and this

Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 9.33.27 PM.png

Lets hope by the payout time this post doesn't get any rewards. I value streemians contributions and would be more than willing to give out rewards to them but just not in this fashion thats all.

Sort:  

So now I know why giving the posting key is dangerous too.
And i thought the problem was use of the active key to claim a part of the rewards.

This comment has received a 2.25 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 4.17% upvote from @upyou courtesy of @stimialiti!

What I find very ironic about all of this is that I would probably upvote their post if they had written a good-bye post that were thanking their users for their support or something like that, but they want an entirely different route instead..

That is the whole point. All the good will they had gathered over an year is all wasted now. When users feel their trust has been violated, the repurcussions can be brutal.

Yep, that's true. I wonder if the new owners are even going to be able to rebuild their reputation after this stunt.

i just want to be seen more i seen that low rep makes you more hidden https://steemit.com/freedom/@brockstory/government-kenya-tv-shutdown Hey could you check out my post!

thanks for the info

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

wow that's a great success ... congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51