Steem Community: Let's get Steem on Coinbase!

in #steem6 years ago

I was going through my feed and saw @jrcornel post about getting Steem added to Coinbase. I've seen a few of these before, but figured one way I could help promote Steem this year was to message dapp developers and see if they would be interested in creating a version of there app on the Steem blockchain.

image.png

I was planning on doing this for EOS Knights first and messaging the developers to find out what it would take for them to develop Steem Knights. After all it's usually just an issue of time or money getting one of the top Dapps to crossover to the Steem platform would be a great investment in my eyes.

I digress. When I saw the post mentioned above I figured now was as good a time as any to start harassing . . . no emailing projects that I think could mutually benefit from joining up with Steem. I clicked around on the Coinbase platform until I finally came across their support page that I could type out an email asking them to get Steem added to Coinbase and wrote something along the lines of this.

As a Coinbase customer I was wondering how Steem could be added to your platform and what it would take?

I know things are tough for all crypto projects in this bear market and thing adding Steem to Coinbase could be beneficial to both projects for the following reason.

Steem is a platform where people can earn additional income through blogging sites and dapss such as busy, steempeak, partiko, and esteem. Since some people depend on this additional revenue it would be great for them to have access to a platform that could easily allow these creators to cash out said Steem into fiat via Coinbase which will lead to additional signups on your platform.

Additionally, investors could be looking for an easy fiat -> Steem on-ramp so they can invest in platforms such as Steem Monsters, Fundition, and other great projects through delegation of Steem via Steem Power which will also lead to additional signups for Coinbase.

I was wondering if I could get into contact with someone at your company to make this happen. I'm looking for what you will need from myself or the Steem community to begin the process as I know if I can't help you with something myself, many people from the community would be eager to help.

Is this Spamming?

If everyone were to copy the above message word for word and send it to Coinbase 100x a day then yes I think this would qualify as spammy. However, my goal is going to be to send them a message at least once a week saying something similar until they at least give me a response besides something that is automated.

What I would suggest for others who are looking to take part in this request is to take a few minutes and think how Coinbase adding Steem would be beneficial to Coinbase and then send them an email with a request to add Steem and then go through and give said reasons on why it's beneficial.

If it's one thing I learned from my second-grade teacher that helped us run a business selling Blue Bell ice cream over the course of the year to raise funds for children's statues going to be sculpted and installed at the capital in Texas was to never give up and to be respectful. You might not always get your way, but you can almost guarantee you will at least be heard.

I think it's also important to point out that when someone finally does respond be professional and remember your representing more than just yourself. This might not get Steem listed on Coinbase initially, but if it's done with respect and is handled in a professional manner by the community, you can almost guarantee it will at least get people at Coinbase talking about Steem, and that folks may just be the small victory we need.

Sort:  

You got a 9.76% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Thanks for including it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77