The art of being stupid- sending your whole steem to the wrong Bittrex account

in #steem7 years ago

So, I was so tired when I made the transaction, and as the title suggests, I have sent my whole steem, my entire work, all my savings to the wrong account. After 30 mins, I have checked the Bittrex wallet, and I saw that there was no STEEM in it.

You can imagine my frustration when I saw that I have send the whole sum of 5478.300 STEEM to the bittrexx ( notice the 2 'X ')

So if there are people selling steem to @bittrex account, always check that there is only one "x" and not 2.

OPEN YOUR EYES AND MAYBE YOU WILL BE RICHER. IN MY CASE i HAVE LOST ~$900.

As a result of my stupidity, the account @bittrexx is $948.88 richer.

I have no idea if I can take them back, maybe @dan can help.

However, OPEN YOUR EYES.
Not sure if I will continue on STEEMIT after this, maybe this should be like a head up and act like a motivation to do more, what do you think?

Love,
Gabi

Sort:  

Ah, shit! Every Steemer's worst nightmare. My condolences, that is brutal @gabi-dumitriu.

@Dan won't be able to help.... You know how it goes on Blockchain, there's no central authority, so no take backs.

The only way you'll get the money back, I am afraid to say, is if Bittrex ALSO owns the @bittrexx account - and it's worth asking, just in case.

[note: don't take my word for it alone - get a second opinion in case I'm mistaken]

yeah, this is what I did in the first place, I have submitted a support ticket. But judging after @bittrexx's history, I might be only one to send steem to his account, and no deposits have been made, so I don't think @bittrex owns that account :( I think I will leave steem for good now. There's no way I can make it back. RIP:(

Gabi, I know this is a terrible time, but I encourage you to stick with the Steemit platform. The fact that you have earned nearly a thousand dollars in liquid steem so far is incredible, even if this calamity took it away from you.

Think long term. In a few years, your continued success on Steemit can be worth tens of thousands of dollars. You've already proven you can do it.

I can speak for everybody when I say we'd hate to lose you. Take a night to sleep on it... I hope you'll stick with Steem :-)

Yeah, but I have to see some improvement so I can direct my energy in creating content.
Let's put it this way: if I can invest $200 in some ico for an altcoin an earn 200-300 usd more afterwards, or if I invest in Ethereum for example an earn thousands later, then sticking with Steem make no sense.

Yea, that's fair - we all only have 24 hours in a day, if you have a more profitable opportunity to spend your time on, it's understandable.

yea.. that happened to me after my introduction post back in July.. sent it to bitrex... luckily I was able to recover the funds... just see if you can find out if somebody owns the account and is willing to work out a deal with you.

So as I was expecting, the Bittrex reply was no surprise to me:

@mrwang how did you recovered the funds?

the same happened for the account I sent to as well.. sometimes those accounts are set up to catch users who mess up like you and I.. I just happened to catch a lucky break and somehow the owner of @bitrex sent the rewards back.. never wanted anything in return despite my offers... The best advice I can give is.. keep searching for ways to get a hold of the owner of that account and hope they respond.. if not, you probably won't recover those funds unfortunately

I have sent him 0.001 Steem with a comment, no answer....

you're on the right track tho.. making a post about it.. here's my og post when i messed up too
https://steemit.com/scamalert/@mrwang/mrwang-and-the-big-oops

If you can contact Mr. or Mrs. "Bittrexx" directly via steemit.chat, perhaps he might be so kind to send your funds back.
Annother method is to send him 0.001 steem with a comment.

@anyx do you consider this as an identity theft? I mean with the @cheetah be improved so it can flag the identity theft? Think of domain squatting ( registering a domain name similar to your domain name). So if you have Facebook.com and I register faceibook.com, I will definitely have my ass sued. Maybe this should be an alarm to the community. ~ $900 is a lot of money. Loosing them, it only makes me leave the platform. Yes, indeed it was my mistake, I get this, but it should be a way to fix it. To improve this. What do you think?

Really Bittrex? Really?
It's like sending (by mistake) funds from your account to... ( oh, wait) your misspelled account. Why would you do this?

Oh, there are still some amazing people with great heart.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing this.

Did you ever get this steem back?? I am having a similar issue right now?

and if you loose money (in your local currency) you will also quit buying things and move to other currency? i see no corelation in loosing STEEM vs not using it in future

In real life when you go to an Apple store, you don't send the money for an iPad to a Microsoft account, right? You pay it to an Apple account. What I mean is that the devs should improve the way you retrieve your steem. A list of exchanges when you withdraw, so you can choose, instead of typing the account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98