MrWang and the big "OOPS"

in #scamalert8 years ago (edited)

So I made a huge mistake on Steemit... a $600 mistake in my first 24 hours... that's my type of luck tho... Every now and then I like to get too excited and... well.. TAKE A HUGE SHXX ON MYSELF

Long story short.. While in process of exchanging my Steem Dollars to BTC, I transferred my earnings to the wrong account. Let this be a lesson and warning to anyone who is moving too fast or unfamiliar with what they are doing...
the correct account is @bittrex

If the user currently known as @bitrex would be a nice gentleman and send back my funds I'd be very grateful and would even cut you off a percentage as a token of appreciation. If anybody knows who this person is or is able to contact him.. please do and once this is resolved I will do the same for you as well.

I want to thank user @derekareith who started a thread to warn others about @bittrex and to help me possibly recover some of the losses. You can find that link here https://steemit.com/steem/@derekareith/psa-warning-to-newbies-trying-to-send-to-bittex

Here's my original post of me reaching out to @bitrex https://steemit.com/money/@mrwang/for-account-holder-bitrex-or-anybody-that-can-help

UPDATE - @bitrex was kind enough to return the funds.. big high five to bitrex

Sort:  

bitrex returned the funds... thank you soo much @bitrex

WOW! he returned even the interest (0.004 SD) earned from the SD holding !!!!
He deserves a dedicated "thank you" post ...

Even if you get not back the funds believe me you get it indirectly back because you will get very well know to the community cause exactly this bad experience... I am for example now connected with you because of what happened to you... Guess what... more votes for your future posts... believe me you are very lucky to be the first one something like that happened (at least the first incident that got so public and "viral") ...

I like the way you think lol... you gotta stay positive and that image you posted has me very thirsty atm

seems like that person named "bitrex" is a black hole, maybe an account created by mistake .. see @ https://steemit.com/@bitrex/transfers

yea seems like it

I don't see others made yet this mistake...

thats why you always do your first transfer with a very small amount, like a see a few people did already. :)

I was SO CLOSE to taking a hit, sorry for the trouble man, a better future is ahead!! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72