PSA: Poloniex withdrawals may compromise your STEEM Privacy

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I have recently noticed that Poloniex doesn't rotate memos on STEEM deposits.
This is unfortunate for multi-account holders, as they could leak their ownership information by withdrawing from multiple Steem accounts to a single Poloniex account.

I wrote a little script to see if I could find any such accounts. I was not disappointed.

Filters:

  • Poloniex Withdrawals Only
  • Withdrawals of at least 5 STEEM/SBD

Results
(results have been removed from the post)

What now?
I would suggest using a service that respects your privacy. I have recently started using blocktrades, and it has been working very well for me. It does generate random memos every time, and the conversions are super fast and reliable.



Don't miss out on the next post - follow me.
SteemQ | steemtools | steem.li | witness


Sort:  

You mean pfunk and pfunk3 are the same person?!?!?!?

Same for Bittrex!

One comment. It is possible for one person to send to another person's Poloniex account for various reasons, so Steem accounts A and B sending to the same Poloniex account (memo) doesn't necessarily prove that A and B are owned by the same person, though it can certainly raise questions.

You are absolutely correct. I don't want people to infer things from my post as de-facto proof for anything, hence the disclaimer below the data table.

Yep. I help my non-crypto friends with their cash outs :)

Good post though! I have had this thought before when cashing out with the same memo as my account.

Indeed, both my fiancee and I use a single poloniex acct for financial ease, however have separate Steem accounts for obvious reasons

I agree with smooth's comment and would like to add that everyone who is really concerned about their privacy if they have multiple accounts presumably already know this.

I agree with @smooth two people can send to the same account to Poloniex !

Very important. Thank you!

Thanks for sharing! Upvoted.😊 Hope u'l reconize my posts soon 😊

Should we really be encouraging whales to have less transparency as they cash out?

That is not the issue at all. Anyone can see when anybody makes a transaction using steemit, steemd, steemstats to name a few tools built around the steem blockchain. Once your funds go out of the blockchain it should not be anyones business what you, I or anybody else does with their money.

Thanks for the information!

I've known about this for a while. You find the same kind of results with bittrex. This info can be very handy at times.

Aren't the multiple accounts the product of mining Steem. You setup multiple mining accounts, but they mine to Steem Power. So, they vote all the accounts (as a group - you can see this in steemd), and they would be powering down and selling from the multiple Steem accounts to one exchange account.

If they are mining accounts, then nothing wrong here; just interesting data.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65