UP or DOWN... votes are votes

in #steem6 years ago
I would suggest to the STEEM team to change the little flag that we see in the top corner and make it so that we have just the option of going up or down with our vote in whichever way we choose...

Everyone likes the upvotes they get but we should also all be able to accept the downvotes.

Not everyone has to like what you do. On Facebook and other social media sites that option is there and it is used without any thought. If you do not like something, down goes that thumb or angry face it is...

Here on steemit it is much more delicate because there is money involved and whenever people have those SBD signs in their eyes things get easily heated.

got this gif from https://dribbble.com/slyw

Recently this has been a big topic with all the "FLAGGING WARS"

Thats the main reason this should change. Flagging sounds very negative and everybody also regards is as such. The votes are a way to express your opinion backed by your influence on the platform. And it should be nothing else.

So change from flagging wars to simply voting up or down

In the end, is @blocktrades or @ned giving you a big vote and different than @berniesanders or @transisto giving you a downvote. A vote is a vote and it means you got their attention and they actually read what you have to say, maybe next time it will be the other way around.

What I would like to add is that it would be nice to have a comment about WHY the vote was given. I use steemvoter myself on certain authors but do try to read as much as I can and comment as well.

So upvote this post if you liked it and agree and if you downvote please let me know why

thanks and have a nice weekend

Sort:  

I agree they should change the voting system to either up or down voting and forget about flagging. Flagging sounds so offensive and puts people on the defensive and problems start. It looses some of the negativity when you say down vote rather than flagging.

hopefully this post will draw a little bit more attention to that and might drive that change

I have seen a lot of hub-bub lately on steemit about down voting and flagging. Some of the comments are getting a little personal.

I have not down voted a post or comment, nor had any down voted (at least not that I know of) but I do know on the esteem app, the flag could easily be hit by mistake.

Ad I agree with the explanation as to why a down vote was given. This could or would create less drama... perhaps

I found someone flagging my post and when i looked a bit further then he was also flagging his own post. He actually did not get the system and thought the flag was the upvote (his English was not very good but I guess he got confused, the up and down thing is easy to understand)

Oh now, that is real sad. The up/down tab would be a real good idea for that person; and others in the same situation

Yeah, I wanted to talk to @good-karma about the app UI making it to easy to flag by accident. And the lack of apparent resteem option.

I have ALMOST hit it myself. Luckily I stopped my finger mid-air. I would feel awful for such a simple mistake

YES for the love of all that is good in the world YES! Where's that resteem button now?

I've mentioned it more than once - the concept of "flag" is offensive. A "downvote" is something we all know from just about digital service we use - from the app store to reddit to bloody Amazon product review ranks.

it just makes more sense to me to use it that way

it would lose a lot of the negativity in my opinion... and its universally understandable

I'm still pretty new to this so I don't really have a dog in this fight, yet. I know I don't 'flag' anyone, because there's just so much content that is great. I don't waste my time flagging bad stuff.
X

I am the same usually. I will flag the comments that are obviously spam sometimes if I have decent VP and only after checking the account to see if they really are spammers

I live in Switzerland, So I am basically neutral about this but it should be your choice if you do or dont vote and then either up or down
Thanks for your input though

I usually do the same... just scroll right on pass. Eventually the person putting out the content will get the hint or realize the issue and maybe stop.

I'm just a small fry and don't log in every day. I think there is a place for both. I agree with most of your reasons for up or down voting. I also think 'flagging' or whatever you decide to call it is needed for obvious spammers and these using SteemIt for nefarious reasons. I like to read various articles and some comments. But I lose interest fast when I see comment after comment that are just worthless.

I can get behind that. I've only flagged 1 person since I got here. The people whose content I can't like I ignore - I just move on. The only comment I really took offense at was someone who had obviously not read the post (a diary written by a man going through the loss of his son). The poster particularly asked not to be voted on, he just wanted a venue for his thoughts and feelings. The steemian replied with 'Good post. Upvoted. Please upvote me.'

There are some people who need flagging. This instance was not just boorish (which replies I can either comment on or ignore), but it was highly insensitive an inappropriate.

Having both a downvote and a flag might satisfy those people who absolutely must disagree with someone instead of just moving on.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I've never flagged anyone since I've joined a few months ago and I don't think that I've been flagged either, but it would be nice to know why you are being flagged. You can't change a behavior if you don't know what the behavior is, right?
I'd love it if everyone that read my posts left a comment to let me know if there is anything else they'd like to see in my posts, anything they think would improve my posts, constructive criticism is always helpful, especially for people that are new to blogging, like myself. I think a simple comment like "your punctuation needs work" or " your posts are too long/short" or "you're post was not under the right tag, try using this tag instead" or whatever, just to give people ideas on how to improve. I think it would make a huge difference in some posts and improve the content of others, it never hurts to improve ourselves. :D

So if you don't like it don't read it.......simple as that just like crappy tv shows. You don't sit there and watch the whole show then complain because you didn't like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95