Is it worth it?

in #steem5 years ago

16B87977-BB41-4106-9FE5-DED18EDEA4BE.png
As much as I loved steemit and blogging I have since dropped off. Well that’s not entirely true. I do still blog but just not here.

This time last year I joined steemit and was instantly hooked. I started blogging which was something that I had never really done before but once I got going then it was hard to stop.

The hardest part for me was trying to think of what I would blog about next. As time went by and I got a lot of followers this became easier.
Then I entered into a 4 month break and when I finally returned I found it hard to reconnect.

Along came whaleshares

For me Whaleshares was a blank canvas, a chance to start from scratch and so as the timing was right I went for it and have been blogging on there now Since October of last year.

But then I started to look back and remember that steemit was still a thing and I should not just give up on the one place that made me a the blogger I am today.
Only thing is I still don’t know how to make a blog achieve a decent reward here on steemit.

ok I have not been putting in the time or effort so maybe I don’t deserve to be rewarded

ok I don’t know nothing about the currency market so maybe I don’t deserve to be rewarded

ok so I left and went to Whaleshares so maybe I don’t deserve to be rewarded

But the fact is, I’m here and I’m writing and I want to engage but when a post is hitting only $0.36 in 7 days I can’t help but think is it worth it?

I would love to be proved wrong but this post will say it all.
B249FF7F-8934-4220-AA1C-646CAB3EE489.png

Sort:  

If you are solely seeking a financial reward, then $0.36 cents may not seem worthwhile. It has always seemed strange to me that the rewards are displayed in fiat. What if you held on to them and steem went up in value against fiat? Would it have been worth it to you then? A $8 steem? A $12 steem? Or perhaps USD blows up with inflation from all that Quatative Easing? Would it be worth it then? A lot of what ifs coming from that criteria in my opinion.

Having traded BTC for most of my steem/SPs, your dilemma has never been shared by me. It is the community and the interest in the evolving technology that keeps me hanging around. Maybe you just need a different motivation. 😎

Wishing you every success no matter your decision.

Thank you for you excellent feedback and yes despite my rant, I totally agree with everything you are saying.
Only last week we seen a climb in the price of steem which ( despite how little it was) seen my account worth climb almost an extra $50 which opened my eyes.
Am I here for financial gain? yes
But I have been here long enough to know that it’s not all about that. I have met some great peeps from this platform and actually I have put my own money into the platform so I can at least have a something to give back.
My rant ( this post) is me trying to decide is it worth my while carrying on. I do hope I decide that I will and in a way I am and it’s your interaction and interactions a like that renews my hope. Thank you

Glad to have shared my thoughts. Before my FB account was deleted a link to my posts on steem (and some resteems) would be mirrored there. You might want to try that with steem so as to keep your toe in the water so to speak and the steem still trickling in.

Congratulations @father2b! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97