Steem.Supply Update: Caching CoinMarketCap Price, Bug Fixing And Latest Blog Entry

in #steem7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 1.37.08 PM.png


As promised, during the weekend I added a basic caching layer to the price routine, the one querying CoinMarketCap. It was the easiest to do and I could test a few approaches on how to do this on a larger scale for the more consistent routines querying the blockchain. As you can see, now the last check of the price is clearly displayed (time zone is UTC) and if the CMC API is down you will continue to use the site, but the calculations will be done taking into account that last seen price from CMC and you will see a difference between that time and your current time.

Apart from that, I fixed a critical bug which was sometimes displaying incorrect payout times, if the time window was under 24 hours.

I also added a little entry holding the link to the latest blog post related to Steem.Supply, as you can see in the screenshot below.


Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 1.37.12 PM.png


The inclusion of the comment rewards is advancing steadily, but it's unstable, not ready for production.

As always, waiting for your feedback and suggestions.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running.
For the Steemit ecosystem I created a free tool for checking your potential rewards at steem.supply.

Dragos Roua


If you appreciate my contribution, you can vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Just had a look at this for the first time, very useful as I had been just adding it up manually on the windows calculator... :P

Is it just me being dim, or it doesn't appear to include the STEEM rewards from comments you leave on other people's posts?

you're not dim, comments are not (yet) included. I'm working on it.

Love it! Great work!

Thanks for this service, it's very useful! Here's a small possible improvement, the two numbers overlap here:

numbers.png

I also have a favor to ask from you: could you please give a lift to my post about onboarding friends to Steemit?

Thanks for the feedback, what device / browser are you on? As for your favor, I kindly ask you to have a look here first: https://steemit.com/steem/@dragosroua/steemit-newbie-faq-netiquette-how-to-avoid-being-a-steem-douche

I am on Chrome for Mac. I've read this post, thank you. Sorry if it looked like whalehunting, it wasn't my intention. This post could help invite more people to Steemit, that's why I thought it's worth asking.

Thanks for the feedback. As for getting friends on Steemit, yes, everybody is doing what he / she cans. I will look over your initiative and, if it's up my alley, i will support it. Steem on! :)

Thank you, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks so much, I love the application, it works pretty well. It helps me look forward to my payouts (I h ave not received anything yet though, firsts posts were just 6 days old as of writing).

You deserve a:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07