Compare Them! - An Easy Way to Promote Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Compare Them

Screen Shot 20181008 at 10.16.58 AM.png

A few months ago my YouTube channel was demonetized because it wasn't big enough to be attractive to advertisers, which is their prerogative. Despite the the small size of my channel - and the pennies I was earning for my expensive and difficult filmmaking work - I was always comforted just a little by the fact that I could earn SOMETHING on YouTube and because its reach is so vast.

However, with Steem and its various dApps, I have been able to earn more money on one film than with the entire life of my channel and nearly 100 uploaded videos and films. Earning money from your artistic work is one of the most rewarding feelings I've ever experienced, and Steem makes it possible to earn something without having millions or tens of millions of followers. It rewards me, even if it's a few cents, for nearly every photo, every video and even some comments I make on other people's content.

Screen Shot 20181008 at 9.31.45 AM.pngScreen Shot 20181008 at 9.29.21 AM.png

So, why has Steem not been breaking into the more mainstream with such an obvious incentive?

Some of it is of course technical reasons and the learning curve crypto currencies bring with them, but what I haven't been seeing on mainstream networks is the simple act of comparing the outcomes of your posts on social networks like Instagram and its crypto cousin @steepshot (or @dtube, @busy, @zappl, et al).

I've recently started comparing identical, or near identical, posts from my Instagram and Steepshot accounts, my YouTube and Steem postings, and other direct comparisons to illustrate that money is being left on the table for our hard and creative works.

The Proposal

I wanted to put forth a proposal of sorts to help promote the cryptocurrency backed social networks over the advertising backed ones. Simply take an post from Instagram, Facebook and/or YouTube and compare how the identical post on the Steem platforms performed. Right now, I'm posting my comparisons on Twitter because it's the easiest for me to do this and because Twitter is directly tied into the News gathering community.

Screen Shot 20181008 at 10.17.12 AM.png

This kind of promotion is simple, cheap and easy to do for anyone. Even if it's one cent worth of value difference between the two, it's money you didn't have yesterday. Meanwhile, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter continue to enrich a very select few while also engaging in social engineering and censorship.

I think this could be an easy wedge to pry open some more support for this kind of social networking.

Here's another example of my comparisons.

Screen Shot 20181008 at 10.17.22 AM.png

The Hashtag

I don't know what hashtag we could use to rally both the Steem community and people on Twitter, but here are a few ideas:

#CompareThem
#SteemVsTwitter (or something like it)
#moneyonthetable
#InstaPoor
#FaceThief
#whatdidyouearn
#worthit
#promosteem (@promo-steem)
What do you think? I'm open to your suggestions and if anybody here can come up with a better hashtag, you should post it here in the comments.

Comparing your post's performance on the advertising networks vs the crypto networks is a cheap and easy way to promote the Steem blockchain - and other blockchain networks - and undermine the advertising based networks on their own platforms.

Phil


WHO DIS IS

If you want to know who I am and what Distant Signal is, check this out. It's sort of a manifesto. The TL;DR is that I've won an award for producing, make a lot of reality TV, live in LA and think that artist and media incentives are misaligned and serve large corporations and not independent artists.

SUPPORT ME ON PATREON:

https://www.patreon.com/adistantsignal

I’M PART OF STEEMFILM COMMUNITY

SteemLens.png

CHANGELINGS


The fist horror / thriller film made on and with the Steem blockchain. Use this hashtag to find out all about it!

I LOVE CRYPTO!

Monero - 48NMrZPCKUm4J66b1vcZ2q9izF4yoSFJ6KvfFtBC3ZjMMv4FCky9LRm445TKvts5pw9Lo2rVx85KRXH9Nc2JKpkH14EXP5U
Litecoin -LR7WauUkXse8fdNwaYhdaua3ziXseFmUPo
Ethereum - 0xD167b23385B3fFca651ACC2948BCC14e554d22B3
Dogecoin – DGqwbUQvm273E9pTxgKhyb7PjJQEPW5F51

PHIL ABATECOLA:

INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/distant_signal/
INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/abatecolasan/
WEBSITE: http://www.philabatecola.com

MISSION

To create narratives, comedies and documentaries that are short, fun, interesting and cinematic.

Sort:  

This is a brilliant approach! I use to do this a lot, working in my company, when it's about market positioning of a product or simply pricing. I never found a better way to put things in the right perspective. Bravo!

Good to know, @f3nix. I figured it was the most objective and salient difference I could use to illustrate the benefits of crypto social networks. I just hope that Steem and others gain enough momentum before Facebook and Twitter incorporate the blockchain into their own models.

Tokenization of content will happen soon. We need to build a sufficient moat here, I hope that things will accelerate with the SMT in the first half of 2019..

I'm wondering how the SMT can be leveraged for a small producer like myself. Any thoughts?

That's a good question but, being into writing and running a writing contest, I'd feel more at ease in suggesting you a fiction plot more than replying about SMT leverage :->

I love this post, what a fantastic idea to do comparisons on revenue and use the hashtag!
(just saw your Twitter handle and followed too)

You should edit and tag @promo-steem & #promosteem on this post - I think this is a fantastic idea they might support and get behind!

What do you think @steem-ambassador?

Thanks for the suggestions, Ash! I placed the new hashtag and tagged Promo-Steem in the post. Also, I think the ambassador account is @steem-ambassador.

Correct! Just edited my post, my mistake!
Hope they take notice.

Me too! Another "comparison" could be showing the different skins of Steem. Facebook and Twitter always look the same, but with Steem you can choose your favorite way to interface. That's a level of freedom you don't have with more traditional networks.

Excellent point! So much more flexibility and diversity within this network that isn't appreciated.

Hey man, I love this initiative. Will definitely be looking to put this in place whenever I talk about Steem. It's already something I say when I talk to some friends about Steepshot.

"So... You only made 25 cents on that post?"
"Yup. And I made $0 on Instagram & Twitter."
"Oh.. Oh! Ok, cool!"

Even if it's small, it infinitely more than ever before. Not too mention the awesome community :^)

Right! It's weird that people scoff at earnings for the same exact posts that they only get a thumbs up for. I guess ego stroking is more valuable to them.

haha exactly. Don't mind me, I prefer real engagement over mindless thumbs ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by distantsignal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80