A Clear FlawsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Is it any wonder that of the million+ Steem accounts only 50 thousand or so are active?

We come to this platform with the belief that (however small it may be) we will be rewarded for our time spent here and that (based on our SP) our vote will count for something.

Unfortunately, this isn’t at all the case. Rewards that are earned are not paid out (this is not just butthurt) which is unfair to the author, but as much or moreso to the curators, as their vote is entirely invalidated.

At least on Facebook I had no expectation, and therefore no (repeated) disappointment.

I really want to have faith in this platform but knowing my .019 SP went to someone who already has a lot more than me seems unjust...perhaps it is a problem with there being a finite amount of Steem, perhaps this platform isn’t nearly as scalable as it claimed to be...perhaps that is why the price of Steem is collapsing and the participation is dwindling?

I don’t know...but it doesn’t take much to wonder.

Sort:  

I'm not sure that the amount of Steem is capped and finite, but you do point out something that is quite wrong with the system. There really is an unequal distribution of wealth that makes this look like the complete worst of a capitalist system with no controls.

Brother's excellent post, always brother's success

Source
When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

There are so many problems with steem. No well defined revenue streams, too big whales, bidbots, and many more. But there is also so much unique opportunity here.

Of course during the bear market it is tough. A lot of the people that joined in 2017 thinking they would be millionaires soon are getting flushed out now. The pain will be served.

But I am sure that this will not be the end. Free media are much needed nowadays. In the next bull market many new people will join. I am not giving up and just hodl for now.

As a plankton I need those .001 transactions...eventually they add up, but this week I’ve watched 3/4 of my posts just not pay anything from .004 to .019...probably .12 SP or more total. That’s what has me upset. It means the votes I got weren’t worth anything and that’s contrary to what the platform is supposed to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59483.95
ETH 2714.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50