TRYING SOMETHING NEW

in #steem5 years ago

SCORE-TTCT-Logo-WEB.png

Yesterday I managed to find two new people to join Steemit. There were originally 5 of them that I pitched Steemit too, but will start with the smarter ones first. Firstly when I started to explain how it all works I lost them. I could see by their expressions that they had no clue. I chose the two that had a better understanding and grasped the important bits. I am not selling the idea of fortunes but more on the basis as get in now before everyone else.

The other three I will return to once I have got these two trained up. I am hoping that once they see the other two growing slowly they will realize the bigger picture. I understand now why we only have 16 000 odd active users. This place is hard to get your head round and is very foreign to the masses. The Dapps will help introduce them and it will be way easier to draw them in via that process.

This platform is not quite ready for mass adoption and will be a little while yet. It is obvious that the ones who arrived and disappeared were after quick money and soon realized that this wasn't the case.I am hoping by giving these two people one on one lessons I can get their mindset right.

Maybe going forward this will be something to look at by doing classes on the discord channel with small groups of new users. We need to retain who is here by guiding and assisting as much as possible leading them down the path as such. I will see how long it takes to get these two up to speed but it shouldn't be that long.I have no idea what I have started now ,but it is a positive step and maybe I can start having classes weekly in my area. Start small and who knows where it will end up. I would love to have a hundred people in the area doing their own Steemit meetings once a week.

Image source teachtodaytn.org

Sort:  

It's a good strategy and hats off for doing this! I admit, it's not easy to understand but they have you on their side. Great job!

I think they are fortunate and I know they will be just fine. I need to get a stick and they will learn quickly lol.

😁 wow, I guess I wouldn't want to be your student 😀

I am still working with my first person to convince her to join Steemit so you are doing pretty good. It feels great I guess to see people growing on Steemit that you introduced them in here.

It's not easy, but I am positive I can do this with a little work. It shouldn't be that difficult and they do have me. I wish I had someone who I could just visit or phone when I first started out.

I mentioned in a post some months back that discord is a fundamental part of steem. As it serves asa training ground for newbies. I got to know almost everything I know now about steem and the cryptosphere through did discord.

So we need more groups like that. I'm trying to work on a project similar to this but I won't be dealing with new steemians but non-steemians from other social platforms. Well, let's see how 2019 goes...

Posted using Partiko Android

It's all positive and I think if we had classes for groups of 5 at a time it would help speed things up.I am also hoping to do classes outside Steemit and grow groups that way. Just a thought but that is my aim anyway.

I always think about trying to get new people involved in Steem - it seems difficult to explain to newbies. I remember when I joined and how overwhelming it all was!

Well done. Will be interesting to see how they get on 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

I think two lessons and they will be close and will have them up to speed quickly. Will do posts on each class and take it from there.

Sounds good. Look forwars to reading

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

posting for cash . Thats the easiest way to describe it. Be interested to see how they get on .

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 20.59% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptoand coffee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 49.51% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD or the respective amount in Steem. Vote value is 150% of the bid.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

sir cryptoandcoffee! great idea, who are they so I can support them?
also, I don't really pay much attention to people's rep scores but dang, aren't you shooting up pretty fast in yours? do you think it's based on the larger amounts of the payouts per post?
Because I'm not bringing in a dollar for mine and it takes many weeks to move one rep number.

Download esteemapp and try a post from there. You will see a difference straight away.
Also go and look at pro mentors it will help you no end as well. We all need to grow.We spend enough time on here.

thank you sir, I agree. well in my case it's like if I don't have something to show for my time pretty soon Mrs. J will give me an ultimatum I don't like! lol. The price just needs to go up or not matter what I won't be able to last here very long. Dang I would sure miss giving everyone a hard time like that froggy guy @blanchy!

Do yourself a favor and use esteem. You need to grow. That pro mentors will help as well. You spend a lot of time on here and are growing but concentrate on growing your self now and Mrs J will be happy.

thank you sir, I'll post using them today. I don't know if Mrs. J will be happy but it might prolong my stay here if I can show some good progress!

You will grow, patience is needed.

howdy again sir cryptoandcoffee..thank you. I have patience I'm just running short of time! lol. so we'll see. Hey did you give the usernames of those two new people in one of your later posts so we can support them?

Not yet waiting for first lesson to commence. Will let you know as soon as I have them.

@janton just asked me about my reputation as well @cryptoandcoffee. For a guy that doesn't pay much attention to rep scores he is very very interested. 😂😂😂

haha! sir blanchy I don't pay much attention to them that's for sure unless I see them jump up fast then I do of course, who wouldn't?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54