Some Observations

in #steem5 years ago

170101-N-KP948-093C.JPG
source

There are a few things I have noticed lately and they are not huge , but you need to be aware. Whilst the place is quiet we need to be maximizing our rewards at every opportunity in order to grow.Lately just by posting regularly i am picking up followers and this is what happens now as you will be noticed.Don't be overly worried about rewards as they will come at some point.Your base or foundation is more important right now.

I was a little puzzled with steemworld.org which I rely on heavily for account information. I know they added some new features regarding curation and percentages. This to me is only a guide as some of the figures are wrong by as much as 40 percent. I will give you an example which is current and happened last night.

I had just received a payout for curation that didn't make sense and it shows how wrong the stats actually are. I voted on Daan's post last week and here are the stats according to Steemworld.I have just added another one as well which was about 30 percent out.

oshfzqocqrycwtuzxfhqmqkkgitkgigoylxk daan 19m 10m 12s 70.00 % 0.06 $ 296.50 % 0.456 SP
oendertuerk 53s 13m 12s 75.00 % 0.06 $ 113.81 % 0.186 SP (actual payout was 0.242 SP)

The actual payout was 0.631 SP which is a difference of 0.176 SP. This is just one and I have had numerous ones over the last day or so. You could say using it as a guide is a bit crazy as it is quite far out and if you are doing well on curation with Steemworld's figures currently,then you are doing very well. They can be slightly over as well as I have experienced a few last night that was under on what I was going to be getting. Not by much , but by around 10 percent.

Any growth today is good growth as there seems to be less people around and if this is the core group of Steem we all have an advantage over the others who have gone quiet. I compare it to companies riding through a recession by not shutting up and waiting but by expanding and coming out in front when the markets change.

Just keep growing and look at everything as an opportunity and not a challenge.

Sort:  

Thanks for pointing that out! It looks like there is an issue with Javascript's inbuilt Math.sqrt() calculation for huge numbers. Maybe the votes in those posts contain a very strong vote and the number of voted shares mess up my curation reward calculation.

I will try to find out, what exactly causes the large deviations and fix it with the next update. The values should not differ from the actual payout more than a few percent (10% deviation is still way too much).


Edit:

I now found the real cause for the issue. It seems to be impossible to calculate the exact curation reward based on the from the node delivered time and rshares fields alone, because the time-based order of voters may differ in cases, where the vote's time (second) equals that of an other vote.

I calculate each vote's weight myself with:

TOTAL_RSHARES_SQRT *
(
   Math.sqrt( rSharesBefore + vote.rShares ) - Math.sqrt( rSharesBefore )
)

and I need to change my logic a bit, so that I can take the node's calculated weight field into account. That's quite some work to do for me, but it needs to be done.

I guess the overall calculation will be much more accurate with the new logic.

Nice analogy with the business in the recession at the end there.

I wonder why steemworld is out then? You'd have thought this is all hard-wired and that mistakes are impossible?

I thought they would be accurate and obviously they aren't. I have about 3 different tools open now along with steemworld as it is still a good tool. Someone mentioned different nodes, but I can't see that being the problem as it is the information that is wrong. Maybe the curating code is out.

I take it you've noticed that the author/ curator split varies with each post according to steemworld.org, could that account for it?

I have noticed that quite a few things are out our a bit wonky over the last week. Actually maybe since MIRA?

@steemchiller?

yes, it is quite an interesting one I think.

I wouldn't get too chuffed about most of the new followers. Ghosts in the machine... Wooooo! :0D

lol woooo

That is really very funny.We need more characters like you around.

Hehe, woooo!

You downvoted your own comment!! :0p

that's cause im trying to be a ghost haha

You should be super excited about the proposed downvote reward pool. Then you can downvote yourself all day long and be rewarded for it! Yoo hoo!

lol love it, post a comment and downvote it. become the silent achiever. How's michealb doing on steem? oh he's doing really really well, we just don't see much of him anymore:)

Ha, I'm a doofus! So you were!! Lol, top notch!

The haunted block chain lol. I have actually chatted with some so some of them are real. I agree not everything is as it seems and one mustn't get too exited. It is Friday though and looking forward to another quiet weekend.

I am looking forward to the weekend too. Only another four and a bit hours then freedom!

I am looking forward to the bullrun so we can all get 30 or 40 new followers in 15 minutes :D

Hehe, I remember it well, it was like watching a clock tick up and up!

interesting, worth referencing some top steemians here , see if they can help

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I am doing my best to grow as much as I can! I should hit Dolphin today, so I am pretty excited about that!

I'm pretty sure that most people that know about steemworld use it as a handy app for tracking progress.

I rely on heavily for account information.

I had noticed the same issues by following the ups and downs of the curation weighted averages displayed on the app where the variance was +- 10+% within 24 hours?

Good to know @steemchiller is on the case to update the program.

It is a very valuable tool and ideally could be integrated into the new steemit front end whenever that gets done?

Steempeak has some useful data on the UI.

U+R

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.153 which ranks you at #2936 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2926).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 483 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43