You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Glitches

in #steem6 years ago

hey, I haven't noticed it, but I'm also not sure if I would have, before seeing your post. The witness-unvoting sounds very strange. Do you mind to share more details?
I had a look into your witness vote history in the blockchain, and there is no case where you voted for the same witness twice (e.g. after potentially getting unvoted). I'm not sure if you want your voting behavior to be summarized here, so I'm leaving out details.

The problem with not being able to vote 100% seems to be related to condenser and was fixed a couple of hours ago: https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/2920
Not sure when the changes go live, though....

Sort:  

Do you mind to share more details?
I had a look into your witness vote history in the blockchain, and there is no case where you voted for the same witness twice

The witness in question is @krnel, and I voted for him months ago. I appreciate your looking into this, but will admit that there is zero record that I have voted for him before the other day makes me question what else may disappear from the records of the chain.

Being ignorant as I am of how this works, is there anyway you can think of an explain to someone with little knowledge how this would be possible? I have always heard that records in the blockchains were unchangeable.

Edited to add: I know I have referenced it earlier posts directly with Krnel, but here is a post from close to 3 months ago where I mention to another how to vote for him because he was not in the top 50, and I mention here that I vote for him.

https://steemit.com/politics/@wolfhart/re-krnel-anarchy-symbol-designated-as-hate-speech-in-a-canadian-city-20180520t031504854z

As you say, from the blockchain data there is no indication that you voted for krnel before, and the blockchain is designed in a way that it keeps all previous records. Do you remember seeing your vote on steemd or any interface other than steemit.com back then? If votes really got lost, or appear like they never happened, that would be a very serious issue! The only thing I could image is that maybe the steemit API node had issues back then and it seemed like you did the witness vote, but it didn't actually make it to the blockchain.

Do you remember seeing your vote on steemd or any interface other than steemit.com back then?

I hate that I have to answer this no, which leaves room for multiple possibilities I am guessing from your asking. It never occurred to me to check an independent site as from appearances it did appear to take. I can however say with certainty that people do disappear as followers and from my follow list with their being no record that I was unfollowed or that I unfollowed on Steemd. Which would still indicate that somehow things are getting lost. Others have noticed this glitch with the follows as some of the comments and the one link I shared show. I am thinking for those with large followings this might never be noticed, or they just assumed that it was done intentionally.

At this point I feel that we have went as far as we can with the data that we have in. I feel good that you are now aware that this might be an issue and perhaps will watch for it in your own dealings here. I looked up your blog and you seem really smart at blockchains and pulling data from the chain itself.

I see that you are a mod for Utopian. I do not understand it (nor the other interfaces), but was curious. Are you a witness for the blockchain? If so, I wish to vote for you. Your coming here, looking into this for answers is exactly what a witness should do, and I thank you for reaching out.

I hate that I have to answer this no, which leaves room for multiple possibilities I am guessing from your asking

There is a chance that some witness votes or follow operations never really made it to the blockchain due to interface issues, and it's not a problem with the blockchain itself. While the result is equally inconvenient for users, the this option wouldn't question the integrity of the chain. I will certainly keep an eye on the topic.
Thanks, but I don't run a witness. Seeing your votes, we at least seem to have a similar understanding of witnesses who care ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64