You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Should Not Trade on Exchanges - Buy/Sell Tips by Charlie Shrem

in #steem8 years ago

so now I can look forward to a new stats report of who is selling on exchanges and who are not :)

Sort:  

Yup, I just ordered one but the Visa Shift Card not Bitpay (no reason, that's the one I saw first and it's connected to Coinbase from the start, which I already had). Same $10 sign up and no fees (YET! The TOS says reserve the right in the future).
Thanks for the tutorial tho on making Steem work with it too, but I'm only buying Steem and powering up right now, trying not to spend it.

Very nice how-to Craig, think that is very helpfull for a lot of Steemers!

I'm gonna get myself a shift card as soon as I can. Wirex is good but they really don't have the service standard that would make me happy. Shapeshift has been less than stellar too, though they are pretty good.

That's pretty good buddy. Nice video.

it's easy enough to do by scraping the blockchain for shapeshiftio or blocktrades vs poloniex or bittrex. I'd quite like to see those statistics, actually.

Are these numbers not already being published? It wouldn't be hard for me to modify one of my existing scripts to get this information. Maybe it's not being published already to avoid witch hunts?

Do you have any specifics on how you would like the data laid out? I think it would be a bit of disservice to not show both the incoming and outgoing. Perhaps a table with 3 columns for each exchange in, out & net +/-.

just search for the usernames of the exchanges and otc changers like blocktrades and shapeshift, in the memos of users.

Yeah I know how to get the data. I'm just pondering how to output it and do people justice. Like if I just published money going out to poloniex and others but didn't show you the money coming back, it could make an active trader appear to be selling a lot without ever showing buys. If I just show the net amount it could miss big traders that with zero sums.

What will add some complexity is the exchange to exchange transfers which I will have to figure out the identity of the trader through use of the memo key. I've noticed some traders transfer directly from their Poloniex account to their Bittrex and vice versa so I'll have to map users to memo keys.

well, if it's necessary to identify the flows sources and destinations to that detail... but simply identifying the amounts that flow in and out, that still would be useful information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43