You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I got hardforked - and all I got is questions

in #steem6 years ago

well, this whale feels beached!
I thought that I was being patient, and was happy that my voting power was back up 49.9% after falling down to 20% yesterday from a single low % upvote. So only 5 minutes ago I refreshed to see if I was above 50% yet, ... AND it suddenly plunged back below 30%.
I have NOT voted at all since yesterday. So much for being patient.

Sort:  

This might shed some light: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/update-on-unexpected-voting-power-behavior

It's really a waiting game now. Things will be backed to old days (+ additional features) in about 3-4 days.

Thanks, yes. I read that blog right from the beginning. But it was VERY confusing. First of all, Steemit Inc said this:

most accounts that have been active will return to their expected voting power equilibrium within one day.

So I hoped to be part of the declared majority that would recover voting power within a day, YET my voting power rose slowly and now it is clear that it will take the full 5 days. Now some places are saying that everybody will take 5 days to restore voting power.
AND while I was waiting patiently and watching it rise all the way to 50%, it dropped suddenly again down to 30% - which no one prepared me for either.
(And since then it has shot back up and down YET again.)

Now that I FINALLY have figured out what to expect (a 5-day recovery) ... I am fine with waiting patiently. But it did waste a lot of my time trying to figure out what the heck was happening and not knowing what to expect.

I admit that things can get a little jarring unless you follow the announcements and Discord channels closely. Ethereum started with 1/3 of their funds getting stolen and having to do a hard fork resulting in ETH and ETC chains. Look where they stand now. Then check https://blocktivity.info and imagine what STEEM could do.

I followed all the Steemit announcements, as well as some witness updates on Steemit. But I did not know that there were further updates on Discord (unless you are a Witness.)
Yes, I believe that the long-term future for Steem is very good.

damn. So, what is going on?? It seems that there are some interesting 'tweaks' happening somewhere.

I just tested powering up 50 SP and it bumped me up almost a percent but i powered up another 50 and it then went up 0.2 of a percent. No rhyme or reason :)

Unfortunately it seems that the active voters are suffering the most.

yeah -- no rhyme or reason. It makes it extra frustrating.
I don't know if I should just be voting anyways because waiting patiently no longer seems to be working. It's going down no matter what I do it seems.

I have no idea what you should do, nor what I should do. There is a lot of conflicting information at the moment which isn't helping either.

Well, now Steemd shows me suddenly back at 52%. I'm glad but still confused about what is going on.

Just... don't move, don't breath.

I mentioned you in my last post, hope you don't mind. I think that there is a lot of ongoing confusion and I have chatted with a few people who are struggling in various ways and I take it as a good sign about how serious people take this place even though they might react poorly at times. Steem might not have a large community but no one can say it isn't invested, passionate and outspoken :)

Well, holding my breath didn't work!
My voting power dropped back down again. But I think that the lower number is the right number somehow. At least it correlates to taking the full 5 days to building my voting power back up again.

... SO ... since holding my breath doesn't work anyways, I threw you a bit of a vote on your new post. :)

Hey @dera123 This is exactly what happened to me and what I was trying to explain in the comment you responded too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64290.64
ETH 3155.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86