Piglet update # 2 Uploading Video to Steem and IPFS without Dtube / Tutorial / InstructionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

This video was uploaded to IPFS and shared on Steem with only IPFS and Steemit and without Dtube.

Here's a video update of our 2 week old piglets playing and loving their mama.

Remember, 2 weeks ago they looked like this
https://steemit.com/family/@camb/our-first-litter-of-piglets-photo-documentation

Watch the Video:

https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmaLHevfKWjtBTqwvncmRc5Vy6o6YTmxZVSoTWPLb11JGz

For the first few viewers this video will likely be quite slow. Due to the nature of IPFS this video should be available with good speed after a few views.

Today I was going to try out Dtube

and I was quite excited about uploading Steem videos. Shoutout @dtube Great site you've got there.

My home internet speed is under 2mb/s so it was taking a while to upload my video to Dtube. As I was waiting for the upload I began to wonder how Dtube would pay for initially hosting my video and running the Dtube website.

Dtube is very upfront about this in their introduction and explains that 25% of author rewards for videos uploaded to Dtube will go to the Dtube account on Steem and 10% of of those 25% will be used to fund the long term storage of the video. In most cases this will only add up to a few cents per video uploaded to Dtube but in some cases for popular videos this could be hundreds or much more.

One thing I like about decentralized networks like Steem and IPFS is that the community will share my files for "free" if they are valuable and I do not have to run advertising schemes or similar in order to pay for whatever I am uploading and sharing.

Even on Facebook and Twitter, the advertising they show your followers is what pays for your account usage.

Here is how to upload a video to IPFS and share it on Steem.

1 - If you do not have IPFS installed then go ahead and download/install it.

Here are the official instructions for Windows,Mac, and Linux. I would not be able to explain it any better.
https://ipfs.io/docs/install/

2 - Start IPFS on your system and browse to http://localhost:5001/webui in your favorite web browser

Click on "files" and select the video you want to upload.

ipfs.png

3 - After your upload is complete you will be shown the hash (link) to your new video. It will be seemingly random numbers and letters like this:

QmaLHevfKWjtBTqwvncmRc5Vy6o6YTmxZVSoTWPLb11JGz

In order to share on Steem we will take this hash and add https://ipfs.io/ipfs/ to the beginning.

Now we have a link that we can share on the regular internet. Even people that don't have IPFS on their device will be able to see it thanks to the IPFS gateway.

Example:

https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmaLHevfKWjtBTqwvncmRc5Vy6o6YTmxZVSoTWPLb11JGz

4 - Share on Steem

Share a photo from the video on Steem and place your IPFS link underneath.

That's it

We have now successfully uploaded and shared a video on IPFS and Steem without giving up 25% of our author rewards and without having to share a posting key with anyone.

Dtube has a nice and easy to use interface. In some cases it may be more convenient to use a service like Dtube instead of running your own IPFS node. I personally try to avoid as many third parties as possible in my networks.

I hope you like my tutorial. Feel free to comment if you have questions.

Good luck! Vote @camb for witness https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Thx for your Post. Help me a lot.

I'm glad you liked it. There is an easier option I wrote about here now: https://steemit.com/dtube/@camb/troubles-with-dtube

Wow, sad, so good but nobody is reading it. I know that grrr.

I like your approach but then you have to host it yourself. Does IPFS run on Synology NAS?

Thank you much for resteeming. This is the first time I've heard of Synology NAS. IPFS works on pretty much anything though.

Hey, good post, worth it. I was looking that it had an effect! I hope someone will do it for me too!

I'll look if there are apps for Diskstation (Synology). Going to bed!

My IPFS runs on my Desktop in the background. I barely notice it's there.

You only have to host it yourself until the first few people see the video. Ipfs is a lot like torrents. The viewer becomes a host. If your videos are somewhat popular you only have to host them once and then never again.

Yeah but you have to keep a seeder just like torrents so... I would get int touch with @heimindanger or @dtube maybe we could earn some $BD for hosting / seeding hehe

If by seeder you mean the original host, then yes. But again. If a few people running IPFS watch your video they become seeds and you can stop hosting yourself.

IPFS can run on any phone, tablet, laptop etc, with a few tricks. An app will come soon I'm sure. Hopefully more people will begin using IPFS or similar distributed networks and then paying for an original seed/host will slowly become obsolete.

Thank you very much for sharing these important informations.

Gerne! Ich hoffe Sie finden es hilfreich. :)

Awesome article @camb! Do you know if there is a way to have video embedding now or in the future? This is a very exciting direction either way.

I believe Steemit would have to change the site a bit to allow embedding IPFS and Dtube videos. For now the best you can do is make your photo link to the video. People seem to be loving the videos on Steem now so I'm sure embedding will come very soon.

Good idea with the photo linking to the video.

Thanks. Have you watched this video? Did it load OK for you?

It's really laggy especially at the beginning. Unfortunately, I suspect most people won't have the patience to wait for it to catch.

Only the first few will have to wait. Dtube has been only slightly faster for me. How is your experience?

DTube seems identical to me.

This technology is very new and only few people are using it. It works, but more people will need to begin to use IPFS for speed to become faster. Dtube only posts your videos to IPFS for you. If you run IPFS yourself you don't need Dtube.

I am having trouble installing IPFS using the link provided above

Hello,

I'm trying to view that video, more than a year later. It's just not catching, like most of the IPFS videos on d.tube. If you want to ensure good accessibility, and speed might I suggest these services:

eternum
pinbits
onelovedtube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50