You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Piglet update # 2 Uploading Video to Steem and IPFS without Dtube / Tutorial / Instructions

in #steem7 years ago

Wow, sad, so good but nobody is reading it. I know that grrr.

I like your approach but then you have to host it yourself. Does IPFS run on Synology NAS?

Sort:  

Thank you much for resteeming. This is the first time I've heard of Synology NAS. IPFS works on pretty much anything though.

Hey, good post, worth it. I was looking that it had an effect! I hope someone will do it for me too!

I'll look if there are apps for Diskstation (Synology). Going to bed!

My IPFS runs on my Desktop in the background. I barely notice it's there.

You only have to host it yourself until the first few people see the video. Ipfs is a lot like torrents. The viewer becomes a host. If your videos are somewhat popular you only have to host them once and then never again.

Yeah but you have to keep a seeder just like torrents so... I would get int touch with @heimindanger or @dtube maybe we could earn some $BD for hosting / seeding hehe

If by seeder you mean the original host, then yes. But again. If a few people running IPFS watch your video they become seeds and you can stop hosting yourself.

IPFS can run on any phone, tablet, laptop etc, with a few tricks. An app will come soon I'm sure. Hopefully more people will begin using IPFS or similar distributed networks and then paying for an original seed/host will slowly become obsolete.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51