Our first litter of piglets - Photo documentationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #family7 years ago (edited)

375910C3- (1).jpg

Saturday morning August 5th our sow delivered her first piglets beginning at 2:17 am. Since she started acting very unusual Friday evening we knew to expect babies in the middle of the night. She had been laying down all afternoon and would only get up every once in a while to try and push.

8D4AF3CF-.jpg

Our little girl loves Peppa-Pig end was sooo exited! :)

97F0AFA1- (1).jpg

We were worried about the sow rolling over and crushing the babies and we had heard that some might get stuck inside her and need to be pulled out by hand.

In the end she did just fine and probably wouldn't have needed me there anyway. All I ended up doing was move the new piglets away from hear rear a bit and make sure they didn't crawl underneath her before they had found a nipple to suck on.

4268D351-.jpg

Out of 12 piglets total the third one was underdeveloped and didn't live for more than 15 minutes. While that was sad to see, it happens often and that's what's called the runt.

Within minutes after being born the piglets are able to walk and see.

The rest of the piglets were nursing within minutes.

4BA1DF6D-.jpg

They probably nursed most of the night and by the next morning they were already wandering around and exploring in between nursings.

20170805_163557.jpg

67857E19-.jpg

DA5F9979-.jpg

Now it's a week later. They are all alive and healthy, play most of the day and have just about doubled in size.

Definitely cute and another first for all of us! :)

Sort:  

Excellent news and great post. I'd edit the tags and swap #farm or #homesteading and #diy for #animals. Those recommended tags seem to get more traction. (Just some advice.)

I appreciate the advice and swapped the tags. Thank you. Homesteading and working full time is a lot. I wish you the best of luck. I'm thinking I need to take a break this winter. Vermont winters are long.

Those piglets are so darned cute. Congrats on your instant farm! 🐓🐓

They sure are. :) "instant farm. You have fine chickens. We just sold 12 of ours and are just doing ducks now.

Curious to see how those babies mature. Need more pics which we hope you will post later on. We love our chickens! Thanks for stopping by. 🐓🐓

I promise I'll share more soon. :) thank you!

So cool, thanks for sharing! We had pigs on our farm last year, but I never got to experience the birthing process. Hopefully it's in my near to distant future.

That's so many piglets... are you going to raise them all?

I will be selling them and if I can I'll sell them for Steem. :) I would like to keep the sow for next spring piglets but I'm not sure yet. maybe start fresh in the spring. I'm not properly prepared for winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39