🐟 A Lot Of Minnows Are Stingy For No Reason (Voting Power and ChainBB)🐡🐠

in #steem7 years ago

Last year I saw minnows being stingy with their votes and in some respects it has even gotten worse this year.   It almost becomes laughable because their vote isn't going to make a significant change in their payout if they try to always save their power.   

Technically I'm a minnow with the Steem Power I have right now and I vote so much and so often that my power is usually between 20% and 30%.   If I didn't vote my vote could be worth a dollar.   So why don't I just let it recharge and then pay myself that amount?   I could pay myself an extra $5 or $10 / day right?   Yeah sure but that is the wrong way to go about it.   Even if my vote was worth $100 I would still vote like crazy!   You know why?   Because people will appreciate you and get behind you if you are helping them out.  I'm here to build a lasting sustainable following.   I have seen it many times in my life where people who are greedy actually cut themselves off from bigger opportunities.   

 🐟 🐡     <º))))><   🐠 🐟        ><((((*゚< >゚*)))><

So as always I try to avoid a cheer-leading mental masturbation session and give you something you can actually implement today to increase your earnings and progress on this platform.   A few days ago I did a Prank post about some of the voting I was seeing.   Now this post won't make sense to a newer user but basically I started it out as a pretend negative post but actually then said I was joking and explained where some of the comment voting was coming from.   You can read the post or just skip it because I will briefly explain it below.   

I explain in the post that there are a lot of comment voting that initially looked odd but upon further investigation it made more sense and it was from @jesta running an incentive for his alternative way to access the STEEM blockchain called ChainBB.  This is a forum style interface to the STEEM block chain. Essentially you can make money becoming a BETA tester for the project.    Considering I make thousands of comments while engaging with the community I'm able to do it through ChainBB and earn rewards that will really rack up overtime for helping test the project.   Anyone can do it.  Just go to the following website and use your posting key to access it.   ChainBB won't have access to your wallet and even if somehow something went wrong the only thing that people would be able to do with your Posting key would be to vote, comment, and make blog posts.  They wouldn't be able to transfer any money out of your wallet.   I keep it open in another tab at all times and comment from there.   

https://beta.chainbb.com

Here is a screenshot of a comment breakdown I had on one of my posts.   Notice by each of the red dots that I keep getting a solid little tip because I was posting through ChainBB.   Those are all without my own upvotes.

There are a lot of ways you can make money on this platform so you have to keep your eyes out for opportunities like this.   Getting stuck in the mindset that you are managing voting power to pay yourself an extra couple bucks each day won't benefit you over the course of months or years.  

Thank you for attending the Pool Meeting!      


Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

I upvote a ton of content when I can but unfortunately, I wasn't around this weekend and eSteem wasn't working on my phone so I am just now catching up!

I just treat steemit like any social media: upvote and share things you like, ignore all the rest. If it's just about money then buy some stocks (or crypto)! The money should just be a side benefit of creating, sharing, and posting good content that benefits the overall community.

Yeah man, I know it is hard and time is a big factor for a lot of people but I'm more talking about the smaller accounts that are saying they want to become Dolphins or Whales but then they are real stingy with their vote to pay themselves a few extra pennies and in reality a lot of the things they do they need to do the exact opposite to really make it here.

Yes I agree. Success can be counterintuitive. I think the amount of money a person makes is directly correlated to the amount of value they bring to the most amount of people. This is why Steve Jobs and Bill Gates are rich. Huge value. If somebody here is withholding a vote they are benefitting nobody but themselves so that's the result they'll get: very small. Those people ain't becoming whales. Another option is to just buy a lot of steem. Either way, nothing's for free. Time, energy, giving, money. It's all the same.

So... uh yeah.. thank you for this man, pretty amazing :)

@dexter-k That a boy! Way to Beta test!

Dude I jumped on the train as soon as I read your post! I don't mind using Chainbb, and the more testers the better (and quicker) it's going to get :) Plus with the added incentive they give to testers it's a no brainer.

It is a good thing hearing you are a man of action! These comment tips will add up overtime for sure!

Thanks for sharing... i went there a few times but never posted. Now I have too :)

Yeah just think of all that Steem Power you will be stackin up if you have ChainBB open in another tab and doing all your comments over there! It could really make a difference after a couple thousand more comments!

I'll give it shot, great tip :)

I also vote like a maniac haha !

I do too. It is funny how people mentalities changed after the hard fork. Before their vote wasn't even worth a penny so they were willing to support people mentally at least. Now their vote is worth $0.10 and they are going to strategically keep it for themselves. What a joke. LOL And even if a person's vote is $20 people will remember those who were supportive and it will all come back to them.

Totally agree with you. Somehow I feel the HF19 was a set back. Maybe more rewards but at least half less votes in general and some members don't seem to become lazy or greedy

I'm sea algae but I'm still upvoting this :-)

Me toooo :o)

Thank you! Every positive contribution helps!

I am going to check out the chain bb. Thanks for the heads up. Watch out for killer whales.

The killer whales attach sometime but that is part of the game! yeah ChainBB is interesting and with the beta testing incentive it is well worth being on there. I could be greedy and keep this stuff to myself but it is the same as people being greedy with their votes!

Great post brian, I've been playing with the slider for the last week and It's a pain in the behind. I think I'll just vote at full power and see where my power naturally falls.

Thanks! I just the slider a lot but I vote a ton both with a bot and manually.

I have a voting hierachy (which requires enough SP for a slider), so I can vote a lot, but still give a boost to those posts that really deserve it.

Daily Breakdown

10 votes at 10%
10 votes at 20%
4 votes at 50%
5 votes at 100%

I try to keep my power above 60%.

Yeah but why are you concerned with keeping your vote above 60%?

That way come the morning, im back up near full power, to go again!

I agree. I'll get a bunch of comments on a post I make and not 1 upvote. If you like the post enough to read it and comment about how great it is. Please don't be stingy with your $0.01

Yeah it is super weird the way some people act about it. Like they think they are doing themselves a favor or something. It is weird.

Please make a detailed post about it dear.

There isn't anything to detail. I'm just basically saying for people to not worry about voting too much on posts and then also that they can reply to comments using https://beta.chainbb.com to get rewarded to beta test that forum style website to access the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55