I Removed My Witness Vote For @jesta And You Might Consider Doing The Same (Prank)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I still feel that the net effect of Hard Fork 19 has been positive but we are seeing it more and more where people aren't really looking out for the long term health of this platform and community.   What I'm talking about is the 100% for yourself FUCK EVERYONE else mentality on the voting.  You know.....where they will not upvote the post but then leave a comment and upvote the comment.  Well sometimes that is pretty obvious but some of our brightest individuals are able to obfuscate this strategy.  

There was an exchange on one of my posts with an individual names @charles1 commented and initially I thought it was a normal comment.  Then I looked at the upvote on the comment and realized that @jesta upped the comment.  I thought this was odd because neither @charles1 or @jesta upvoted the post.  

I started seeing this same pattern on almost every post I was looking at.   What is worse is he was mocking me in that last comment.  Here was a post by @rulesforrebels that I was catching up on.  He is a YouTuber with over 58,000 followers and has been working really hard at Steemit.  The sad thing about this is the same thing happened and @rulesforrebels even upvoted the comment but he got no love back from either @charles1 or @jesta.  

Hmmmmm.   I wonder who upvoted @charles1 this time?????  Oh yeah.  @jesta like always.  

Then @charles1 responded again.  

If you look at https://steemd.com/@jesta you will see that he is mainly upvoting comments.  If you trace them back the mass majority of these comments are being made by these "Shield Accounts" that don't upvote the post and then always get an automatic upvote from @jesta.  

Can @jesta do this?  Yeah Abso-fuckin'-Lutely.  He is one of the most brilliant programers on the platform so he clearly has the technical knowledge.  There is also no programmatic rule against it.  

One of the reason I voted for @jesta for his Witness is because of his contributions with chainBB and his stand alone wallet Vessel.   That is also why he still has my vote!  

That's Right!  The Whales Got Pranked!   Who Was Pissed? 

If you are still confused let me fill you in.  The reason all those comment votes were upvoted like that is because @jesta has a curation trail experiment to promote chainBB which is a forum platform that runs off the STEEM Blockchain.  Those comments are being made from accounts utilizing chainBB instead of Steemit.com.  Every post made via chainBB is getting a 0.05% upvote from @jesta to help debug and test the forum.  

On first glance I didn't realize what was going on with those accounts until I investigated further.  It can be confusing but some of the stuff going on has good intentions behind it.  The STEEM Blockchain needs this type of experimentation and 3rd party development.   The only thing I would say about those comments is that it would be nice to see those users sharing the love a little more and upvoting the posts.  That made it confusing.  

Hopefully no one got to pissed in the process of realizing it was a joke!

Also here are the witnesses I have voted for.  If you don't see your name on the list and feel that I should vote for you let me know! 

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

In case anyone didn't read the post - He didn't actually remove his vote for @jesta.

I feel like a lot of people won't actually read it. LOL Hopefully whales won't be like WTF..... that guy who is always in his pool doesn't know shit. And then just not read the post. Hahahah. That would suck LOL

I think you are on to something.
Interesting advice to pay attention to.
I've seen seeming unrelated comments voting and wondering what's going on.

Yeah it was easy for me to jump to conclusions at first and I was upset for my friend @rulesforrebels because he has been working hard and has a lot of command on YouTube but then I researched further and realized what was happening.

So I decided to do a prank post to get the whales singing! Hahahha


This Post is Manually Read, Curated and Upvoted✔
🆕💯🆙

ALBERTVHONS™ aims to give 300x upvotes to awesome post!💲💰
this post is chosen as great content📃📝📍
You may choose to reject this 🚮 and I will no longer Read, Curate And Upvote your future Post
this i reserved my rights🔛

Cool thank you very much for checking out the post!

Are you really recomending leave at jesta? It seems that you still following her

No it was just to explain what was going on with some of the strange comment voting.

Ok, i get it, i do too experience that..

How are you celebrating 20 years on steemit?

I mainly have the footer ready so I don't have to change it for awhile. :-)

ready for that 20 years in steemit? More like ready for those graphene technology blockchains and applications on those long-term goals being hit. ;}

The sky is the limit really! It is kind of impressive to me how long of a run Facebook has had. 20 years might not be out of the question.

haha, was gonna ask the same ;p

I was just involved in this - Jesta upvoted a comment, not my post....

https://steemit.com/steemit/@gemstoned/how-much-is-your-upvote-worth

Yeah it looks like @shahzadnisar made the comment from a forum called chainBB which is a different way to interact with the STEEM blockchain. And @jesta 's account is automatically upvoting it. I know it looks weird initially but it is just an incentive to test chainBB and debug it. This is what STEEM looks like in the forum style. https://beta.chainbb.com/

Interesting...
Congrats on your "20 year anniversary" =P

https://beta.chainbb.com/chainbb-suggestions/@shahzadnisar/home-page

oh man. cryptopreneurs pranking each other...is that considered a steemgig?

Hahha, I just hope that people read the entire thing so they know it is a joke and just explaining what is going on with some of those votes.

maybe tag prank next time ;}

Haha at first I thought you were talking shit but then I realized you weren't. :)

If you want to support our initiative, consider voting for @agoric.systems as witness. Thanks!

Hahahha, yeah! It had a happy ending!

I voted for @agoric.systems for witness!
Thanks for checking out my post and reading it!

No problem Brian, it was entertaining. :) Thanks a lot for voting for us... more info to come soon!

Curatation on this platform is one of the most important things.

Can you explain what the witness list exactly is?

A STEEM witness is a person whom operates a witness server (which produces blocks), and publishes a price feed of STEEM/USD to the network.

Basically they also update the servers to the new code when a Hard Fork happens. Everyone can vote on the witnesses just like you vote on a post by going to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You will see the witnesses announce updates once in awhile and also campaign for your vote to be a witness. You can also become a witness and campaign for a top spot!

Eventually I will run a witness but I need to gain more credibility on the platform and I want to do some programing for the platform before I roll out a witness. If you don't get in the top 40 or so slots then it won't be profitable to run a witness. If you get in the top 19 spots it can be very profitable.

Helpful as always. I've read the FAQ and some other stuff here but couldn't remember reading anything about it. Thanks.

Yeah no problem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58482.75
ETH 2615.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42