What Are Steem Witnesses and Why Should You Care?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

What Are Steem Witnesses and Why Should You Care?

If you've been on Steemit for any length of time then you're sure to have heard the term "witness" thrown around. What does Witness even mean and why should you care? In today's video I'll break this topic down for you in a simple-to-understand way and explain why this is actually a very important concept that everyone in the Steemit community should have a basic understanding of.


Join the Steem Witness Forum this Saturday at 11am EST

Which witnesses will be on?

@jesta (chainbb, steemdb, vessel)
@good-karma (esteem)
@roelandp (Steemfest)
@aggroed (Minnow Support Project)
@anyx (Steem Cleaners)
@ausbitbank (Minnow Support Project)
@lukestokes (Exchange Transfer Report)
@someguy123 (Privex)

This panel discussion will also feature backup witness @followbtcnews (@followbtcnews co-runs his witness with @crimsonclad).

Click here to learn more


If you're interested in more videos, tutorials, and how-tos, I encourage you to follow my channel and leave me replies of things you would like to learn about. If I don't know the answer, we'll learn together! :)


- Daily Comment Reward -

  1. Upvote this post
  2. Leave a unique comment (not just a "great video!" or "follow me")
  3. And you could win $20 USD worth of SBD!

That's it! It's also a great idea to go ahead and follow my channel so that you don't miss any upcoming posts. You can do that here: https://steemit.com/@brandonfrye

contest-winner.png

Sort:  

Didn’t know much about witnesses.. thanks for this info .. really enlightening

Great video. I will be honest, I skipped past the part at the beginning where you were talking about the market correction. I think it is easy a lot of times to forget the people that are doing things behind the scenes to make and keep Steemit great.

Thanks for the feedback @bozz. Yeah, I totally overlooked the whole "witness" thing in the beginning. But I'm glad that I looked into it and now understand how our blockchain functions here. Still a lot to learn but luckily we don't have to know it all. And yes, totally grateful for the people who put in the work to make Steemit a better place.

Thanks for another informative video, Brandon! Quick question...do you need to sign up for a blocktrades account? Haven't used it before

Hey @dirkboy41, no you don't have to have a BlockTrades account to use them. But I do recommend registering with them because it only takes a minute and allows you to view all of your past transactions on their exchange.

Gotcha, thanks! And I meant to post this on your other video where you talked about buying SP with coinbase and blocktrades.

As a gamer, I think @aggroed is pronounced AG-rowed. In a video game a monster becomes aggro/aggroed when it starts attacking you.

Ahh, you’re probably right. Thanks for that.

I am actually new to crypto and Steemit so this was a very good explanation of witnesses and also hardforks! So thanks!

Thanks @sushiltiple, I appreciate the feedback. :)

In your video you said to buy the dip so i really want to get some STEEM to power up my account. Is there an easy way to get some since i only have an account on binanse and they don't offer STEEM.

Also i think it will be really hard for me to choose a witnes. I have to look up every one of them and what they do. Also the current climate on the site is full of vote abuse and content flagging some of wich seems to be related to some of the witnesses.

You can purchase Steem Power right here on Steemit using Dash, Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Dogecoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin. Just go into your wallet and click Buy Steem or Steem Power and you'll see the option to send one of those currencies in exchange for Steem Power.

Nice video, steam witnesses are one of the more cryptic ;) sides of the Steemit platform for new users. Correct me if I’m wrong, but it seems like witnesses are elected representatives of the community. They seem similar to congressmen.

Question about the crypto currency market correction. You mentioned it likely occurred due to the Chinese New Year. Did a similar dip happen around Christmas time in the west?

Keep up the good work.

Thanks @nostone-unturned. Yes, the Chinese New Year has affected the markets every year for the last 4 years. Take a look at this chart which shows the dips that occurred in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017...

xKFssKT.jpg

And yes, we saw a pretty steep dip during the U.S. Christmas holiday as well. Seems to be when people are in need of money for presents. This is good to know for future market predictions.

“This is good to know for future market predictions,” agreed. That is an interesting observation about crypto currencies. Maybe it’s a good idea save extra money for crypto currencies around the big holidays too. I wonder if similar dips happen around the Super Bowl or Independence Day sales?

Thanks for that, pretty much made it clear.
I only dont ubderstand why I can choose 30 witnesses.

That's a really good question. I'm not sure why it's set at that number exactly. Perhaps somebody can chime in here with more information on why we're set at 30 upvotes.

Probably to stop you voting for 600,000. :)

Sure but why not just 1 witness. 30 seams like alot to vote on.

It's probably just down to the fact they need that many and it just gives you a bigger choice if you think 30 people are deserving of it. A lot of people probably don't vote either. I mean I have only done 1 vote.

thers that "probably" again, I had several "probabilities" for why, just interested in the answer behind, why 30!?
does you vote count the same if you vote for 30 or for 1, will the votes give the same "power" ?
There is a reason for everything (not always a good one tho)

Wow!. Thanks. I'm new here so, didn't really know the value of witnesses in the community, so I just chose randomly(I'm sure I'd catch up with time)
I enjoyed watching your video though i didn't finish up the 15mins.
Good job.👍

Excellent, I'm glad that was helpful. And the good news is you can change your witness votes at anytime.

Oh, I didn't know that. Thanks Brandon👍

Thanks for the update

You're welcome, thanks for the comment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51