You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginner's Guide For Steemies | Part 2 - Registering and Keys

in #steem4 years ago

I'm not of full knowledge on that tbh. I'm still learning about that. It's like a feature that doesn't get utilized as much to know about it well enough at least from my standpoint. I'd try to search up "memo" thru the Steemit search to see what can be found. I'll probably update this page when I do.

Sort:  

If you find anything could you drop me comment please? it would be appreciated

I think I found the way based on this article. Just use your wallet and send 0.001 STEEM and in your memo, you type your message there and put a # in front of the message to encrypt so only you and the other see it.

I'll add this in the article.

wow thanks for that @bleuxwolf much appreciated

You're very welcome! Happy to help out. :)

fyi
The first time you sent an encrypted memo it will ask you to enter ether the owner key or active key.
Ignore that and enter your Private Memo key
press ok
it will ask for owner or active again so enter one or the other.
The next time you send an encrypted memo it should go through immediately.

When I tried to enter my active key on the first request I got stuck in a loop and needed to send the msg un-encrypted to escape the loop.

So it asks you for the Owner or Active key but you still just and supposed to enter the Memo key if I'm reading you correctly?

yep the private memo key first or you get stuck in a loop
it will ask for the owner or active keys after you enter the private memo key.
check it out

I can't figure out how to read the encrypted memo.

haha its nothing i was just playing with it.

You may need to enter your private memo key.
I dont know as i have never received an encrypted memo

Okay, I think I understand it now! The memo key is so it can encrypt the memo (unless it's for any memo encrypted or not), then the Owner (preferably Active) key is so you can actually send the transaction since it is a wallet transaction.

bla.bla
test.function

I got it. You have to log onto your account with your memo key to view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57379.94
ETH 2522.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32