What Will Come Of Steemit and Steem ?

in #steem6 years ago

steemit.jpg

From what I have so far steemit and steem itself is looking rather shaky from the news I have reach about Ned and past history of the steemit site and network.

That being said I am trying to get all the facts right here as there really seems to be no central place yet to really get good solid information which is sad.

  1. 70% of steemit employees where laid off. Why? I guess to cut costs but then I wonder WTF where those 70% of people doing because I didn't see shit come out of steemit this last year other then a hard fork that pretty much did nothing to help the community or system.

  2. SMT or Smart Media Tokens now will no longer be worked on and wont be a thing. Is this true? Because I swear for the last year they have been saying its going to release soon. Talk about some bad marketing and lack of understanding a project! I know smaller teams that get more done.

  3. Generally pissed

I find myself really angry that for some reason we cant find a way to recoup from this all and keep on task. When times are though you figure out a way not complain and blame others. There is a MASSIVE community here willing to help and in most cases do it for free to help see the system they invested so much time and money into grows. So why is this not being used or asked for help ?

There seems to be some serious flaws here when you look at the way this place is being run.

Again another reason why I dislike DPOS and rather of POS instead of relying on a few people to run the network everyone could help run the network and more it more robust for $10 a month on a cloud server. I mean come on now let us know how we can help and stop complaining and trashing the entire thing this is not the right way to go about it.


By all means if I am wrong about any of the above or have more details please comment below. This is just my point of view from the information I have found so far.

My confidence went from 100% of steem and steemit all the way down to next to nothing because of the current news coming from Ned

steemit-sig-final.gif

Sort:  

Great to see @ned interacting with the community at this critical point in the history of the ecosystem. I would sum it up by saying that Steemit relied completely on their stake to pay for research and development which made them dependent on the price of Steem. As the ecosystem grew, so did the costs of said operations. While efficiencies are available, they are no longer able to fund their structure without adding even more pressure on a declining price. Therefore, for the short term they are focusing on reducing costs to a sustainable level. The community has overwhelmingly responded with ideas and support to not only assist in reducing or distributing costs but also adding streams of revenue less dependent on the price of Steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If this happened in a bull market I would be beyond concerned, but given that we're far from a bull market, I think this is a positive step. Great companies do what they have to do, to make it through the hard times. I'd much rather see an attempt to right the ship fail, than just let it fail.

Posted using Partiko Android

Most of the details have been posted on my blog steemit.com/@ned and are reviewed in the recent (Thursday) livestream: https://steemit.com/steemit/@ned/third-test-livestream-steemit-update

Tokens on Steem are definitely still in play -- since, cost cutting needs to be take priority, staging of the SMT project is not completely figured out, again, though we did receive proposals this week to outsource the RocksDB development -- though there have been suggestions to simplify the initial release, such as removing the on-chain dex and market maker, in order to be able to ship sooner. I expect to be able to cover more questions in a livestream this week.

Can you get someone to bookmark your youtube streams? Not everyone is interested in watching the entire video. By bookmark I mean adding links to specific minutes in the stream like

0.01 Stream starts
3.00 Discussion on eSteem
...

Do you feel a community member would be interested in doing this?

Yeah. His handle is @littleboy aka me. I just posted a short overview of the discussion here: https://busy.org/@littleboy/overview-of-ned-s-third-livestream

And if you sought help from the community on steemit or in youtube comments about adding bookmarked links, I am 100% sure that someone will definitely come forward to volunteer and do it.

For sure I believe I have seen a post here on steemit already that had a break down ill see about reaching out to that person or doing it myself. Thank you for the feedback Ned again please let us know what we all can do to help out we are all invested in this vision and want it to be as successful as possible.

I would love to know how we could help everyday users legit thousands of them are behind this project and each of there small actions can turn into a massive wave to help the community and blockchain grow. Giving members small tasks/ options then can do to help will go a long way.

So... how can SMT owners and token holders trade such tokens if there is no DEX or even market-making protocols? What about using an existing DEX, such as Bitshares?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @bitcoinflood!

You just got a 2.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82