Why is it so hard to convince charities to accept steem (and other crypto) for donations?

in #steem6 years ago

Want free money? Every charity/person screams yes! Okay I'll send you it in cryptocurrency, none of them want it... SMH!

Every time I find a charity I like I want to donate to them. I will call or message them and ask if they accept cryptocurrency and if they do not would allow me to help get them setup with it. They always come back with the answer no.. Donations in that form are no good? Seems weird...

Sort:  

Because their prices are too unstable, because converting them to fiat money costs fees and is very hard to do and dangerous.
Just holding these assets is an added complication and dangerous.
If it is so trivial for you, convert it to fiat and then donate it.
Why pass the difficulty to others?

You got a 28.41% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @fersher! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

Because I VOTE with my money, and I HATE fiat! I REFUSE to sell crypto to fiat then pay taxes on it... FUCK THAT! Why can't they listen to me? I LITERALLY offer to come in and sit down with them and either run it for them or show them how.. They just don't want the money obviously so I give it to the few that do instead. If I have $10,000 to give out it get's given out, either to 2 or 200 charities that is their choice..

You got a 100.00% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @fersher!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @fersher!

This comment has received a 75.00 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @fersher.

Bids above 0.1 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Nice Post..!I have done with 100.00% upvote Thanks @fersher for sharing the post..!

You received a 20.00% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @fersher!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Earn passive income in SBD/STEEM by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 53.04% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @fersher!

Almost everyone I tell about Steemit balks the minute I mention cryptocurrency. I can tell them all about how it drives traffic to my website more than Facebook now, how there's no crappy algorithms keeping your own followers from seeing your content, how I've sold art to people on Steemit (for good old American $ as well as SBD), how my following is growing relatively quickly - and then the minute I say anything about crypto, it becomes "a scam". Wait, a what? Didn't you just listen and go "awesome!" a bunch of times when I was mentioning the web traffic, the no crappy algorithms, the art sales etc...? "Ya but cryptos are a pyramid scheme".... Ok, so don't even cash out your cryptos, JUST use it as a social media site to promote your art/music. "I dunno, sounds like a scam"... ARGH lol

Right! Read that 10 times then explain to me how insane people are lol!

Glad I found Steemit when I did! I do need to remember to mention more that I can accept cryptos when I post on other platforms! lol

Lol. Same shit here man. Same exact experiences.

They won't take it cause they get tax write offs for accepting FRNs. No tax write-off for crypto, and they ignore the BTFD cause it's a bubble and all going to zero.

They can get a tax write off though for it just like if I donated say Ford stock or ATT stock. They are allowed to have it on the books as an asset OR sell it for fiat OR find another to take it as payments. They just probably are lazy and/or run fraudulent charities imo...

People need to know about the crypto and educate,I just new to steemitpowerupph I and still so any things to learn.

Take a look at all my #protips over the year, I am constantly teaching people. Do not up vote a post that is over 6 days old as it is expired and you are wasting your Voting Power. #protips

Congratulations @bigdeej! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Perhaps it's real reason,not all people aware about crypto currencies and the value is always fluctuated,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84