Steemit limits to 5 tags but others do not!

in #steem6 years ago

I noticed that posts made from other services can include more than 5 tags. This appears to me to be a Steemit limitation not a STEEM limitation. The actual Steem blockchain allows for it appears as many tags as you wish. Proof of this is in the fact that posts made on services that are not Steemit include over 8 tags (the most I have seen so far).

What is weirder is that despite steemit not allowing you to create a post with more than 5 tags, it properly displays all the tags even when there are more than 5. This behavior is very strange and actually appears to benefit those who make posts outside of steemit. Steemit limiting your tag usage while it technically can be more seems very arbitrary. IF the blockchain supports it, why not allow it? Just another crappy "feature" or I should say limitation that Steemit has imposed for no good reason. Tags are useful, if you need more than 5 why shouldn't Steemit allow it? They will display more than 5 tags but refuse to allow us to create a post with more than 5!

What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

I'd love to be able to use more tags. As it is, the main tags get crowded fast and it can be hard to post really specific ones because the search for tags is also pretty crappy

Agreed! Just wait for Shadow Book to come online! We are fixing all this crap!

Thats right man and what bothers me the most is that we can't start a tag with a number so I can't use tags like 3d or 3dprinting. ;((

Yeah its bs isnt it! Steemit kinda sucks no offense! Wait till ShadowBook is out! @shadowbook!

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

Agreed. Steepshot allows a bunch! The first time I saw it I was like wtf mate

Then again, some spammer cunt could just tag all the tags... Wtf mate

Congratulations @bigdeej! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I haven't bothered with trying to use more than 5 tags. Lol I'm going to test this on my next post. I do feel that 5 isn't enough though.

I think 5 is enough. I personally use 3 to 4 tags and the last one is kind off a message. Often it says: "Nobody reads this anyway", because it's true about my writings.

Oh God! It's self-pity again.

Thats stupid people use tags to find your post so if you aren't using all 5 you are instantly give up ability to be found for no reason. It is free to use 5 tags why wouldn't you use them all? If I go to trending and hit a tag if you aren't using it you can't come up period...

As a matter of fact, when I started posting a year ago, I created a special tag just for me: crazymumblings. I put in all of my posts. It just that general public doesn't know about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74