You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Voting Survey Results and Announcing the Winners!

in #steem6 years ago

This was a good conglomeration of the real life voting situation. Hopefully more will read it. this is the situation that really ticks me off somewhat and I personally do not like it:
No. I got chewed out once when I was a new user for doing that
I have seen this happen to far to many people, mostly to the new users. There is not a damned thing they can do about it either than to come back with a smart ass snide comment such as, I did not see you upvote all of your commenters so I did not upvote your post or something like that but all it would do is invite a down flag from said person. I have a few people on mute because of that comment.

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment. I agree that there are situations where new users get punished before they are trained. When someone new stops by my blog and does something that is not considered appropriate, I try to write up a thoughtful comment about how they can improve for next time. When we start flagging new users without warning, we run the risk of running off people who can add value to the community.

However, if someone is constantly spamming, scamming, etc (and their intention is clear), I do think that flagging is appropriate. But when possible I want to err on the side of educating people so that our community is strengthened.

I agree most of the time scams and spam are clear. When it is not then it calls for a soft touch before the flags come out.

Completely agree. Showing grace may help a new user stay around longer and learn how to add value to the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58131.27
ETH 2360.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38