Steemit DELETES some posts randomly, as in they DISAPPEAR! What the hell? THIS MUST BE FIXED!!

in #steem7 years ago

Where did my post go? I'm quite disappointed, as this ISN'T the first time this has happened to me. Thankfully on the other times, I've had my posts saved on multiple pages. Unfortunately I only had one copy this time.

Even more bad luck.. I decided to try to promote my very first post. I lost my SBD pretty much. Is there anyway to recover from @null ?

Some other users are reporting the same problem, and alongside the lag and glitchiness, this is a bit of a turnoff. I LOVE Steemit, but @ned this needs to be looked into. Sometimes the posts show back up, but we'll just have to wait and see.

The link was: https://steemit.com/drugs/@avilsd/ohio-sues-5-pharmaceutical-companies-due-to-rising-opioid-deaths-3-8-billion-pills-were-prescribed-in-one-county-alone


AVILSDSteem.png

Sort:  

I've experienced the lost posts on creation twice. It is a problem. I've seen it happen to many others. The cause is not quite known at this stage, but it is not censorship. It is a bug in the system.

I compose my articles in an external markdown editor if it is going to be a long one. That avoids the pain of losing a long composition.

Here is a link to some markdown editors on the Steemcenter Wiki (Markdown Editors)

The SBD thing is quite normal. When you promote a post, the SBD is sent to @null and always has been. This burns the SBD which essentially increases the value of Steem as a token, through decreasing the supply of SBD, thereby relieving the 'debt' of Steem to the SBD value.

Yeah I meant to send the SBD to @null however it's unfortunate that right as I did it, my post goes down :P A little bit of a waste, but I'll still try out promoting again, regardless of what the previous incidents were. Thanks for the link mate

Just wanted to point out.. this is STILL a problem that's happening like crazy. Wut.

What's funny is that I have yet found a way to delete my own post! Can't even edit them after a while. Apparently they become permanent after a while. Makes you wonder who actually owns the content after receiving our rewards. @ironshield

Copyright is always retained by the original author. The purpose of a censorship resistant blockchain social media platform would not be achieved if the deletion of content was allowed. Once something is on the blockchain, it is there permanently. You can edit it, so that what is displayed on Steemit is an empty deleted post, but the original post is still visible on the blockchain itself. This is by design a feature of the Steem blockchain.

Anybody can look back and check the edits, see what's going on. It's good especially for scammers and the likes! The whole community can be made aware

oh my... it definitely needs to be fixed. ive been experiencing lag and it seems like i get logged out when i click on someone elses profile

Most likely why you are being logged out is that you are using a high privilege password/key to log in to your account. The best key to use to log in on a daily basis is you posting key. Please read this wiki article on Steem Key Management to understand how the different keys on your account function.

Sometimes this happens to me too! I get logged out randomly lol

oh my... i thought it was only me :(
devs please fix this issue!

Thanks for pointing this out, hope they fix the issue asap. We should have the power to delete our post or not..however I have my faith in steem and its community.

Well I think that'd be nice, however as seablue mentioned up above, there's a reason it's like that. But yes, I wish I could clean up my feed sometimes. #aesthetics

Thank you mate :) in order for this site to evolve, the major content issues and server stuff needs to befixed first. I have a lot of faith though

I agree with you lots of room to improve...I posted about the steems limitations today...check it out too...Thanks for your quality post here and we all will succeed together...Upvoted

Is there a possibility in your post was something against the terms of the site ?

My post was removed within a few seconds. If you look at my other posts, I discuss drugs in many of them (i mean that's what my whole channel was about). This was one of the least offensive posts I've made actually, it was about a news piece coming from Ohio giving notice about the Opioid crisis.

Maybe this should be considered as NSFW ?

Let's hope this issue gets fixed soon. I have faith that it will because if it doesn't then... well I'll be very sad cause who doesn't love an unstable social platform especially when there's money involved am I rite!

Right! And don't worry about followers, it'll grow. Just worry about providing consistency and everything else will follow suit.

Doesn't look like @null has received your SBD so if the transaction failed then your currency should make it back down through the blockchain, back to you or at least lets hope it does! Good luck!

Also looks like @null, LITERALLY nobody, has more followers than me :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56