Steem update #24566524, by @abh12345

in #steem6 years ago

Welcome to another update of all things Steem. There will be a short table of contents, so you can quickly find anything of interest and ignore the other topics.


title.png


Contents

  • Witness node update to v20.2
  • Delegations / Trails
  • The @steemcommunity Leagues
  • Legendary Gold Chromatic Dragon!

Witness node update to v20.2

Is underway as I type this post. @paulag is at the helm, and on standby is @markangeltrueman. This guy also runs his own witness, and maintains @curie's witness and 'saved their ass' earlier in the year by offering his support. He's a Support Engineer and Software Developer by trade, covering networks, apps, and operating systems, and this has earned him a recent witness vote from myself and @steemcommunity.

I've been hearing some concern from fellow witnesses and prominent user accounts over the hard-fork, which is scheduled later today. I hope that although it is impossible to test everything and that minor issues will be present, the downtime and fixes last week have made Steemit inc and top witnesses take this update even more seriously than before.

Good luck witnesses!


Delegations / Trails

This has been mentioned previously, but in a few days time I will lose 4k delegated SP. The goal of my delegations to many 'person' accounts was to give them a push to 500 SP - Minnow status. I'm happy to report that many of these accounts have reached 500 SP in the past few months, and so today I've trimmed back on their delegations. The accounts with less than 500 SP will keep their delegations until this milestone is met.

I've also removed a couple of delegations from accounts that have decided to power-down and/or have become mostly inactive. I'm not sure if I will be delegating out to more 'person' accounts for the time being, and think I will be focusing on @steemcommunity, @c-squared, and @c-cubed over the next couple of months.

As above, it's about time for our team to focus more on errr, our team, and in particular our witness and partners, @c-squared. I currently have delegations out to over 12 different communities, but know that this is not even close to covering the whole community. Partnering with @c-squared, and their 200+ strong curation team, has given us the opportunity to support anyone creating solid content, irrelevant of their community focus.

At present, I have 1000 SP delegated to @steemcommunity, 500 SP to @c-cubed, and 1000 SP to @c-squared. Both my account and @steemcommunity are trailing the @c-cubed vote, which aims to select the top 10 daily posts from @c-squared's curation effort. As above, the @c-squared team are looking for posts by everyone and anyone - tag, SP held, reputation, are not considered.

The content voted on is something @ned could get behind on Bloomberg...

https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20180923t225901000z

If you wish to support a variety of well-produced content that would be fit for a Trending page, consider trailing @c-cubed (via https://steemauto.com/) and join the likes of @dandays, @puravidaville, @simplymike, @lynncoyle1, @lastozgur , @jazzhero, @gibic, @choogirl, and @professorbromide in doing so. Nice one guys!


The @steemcommunity Leagues



Card courtesy of @themarkymark

Retention and engagement(!) is a key focus for our witness. And along with platform wide curation, we also now host 3 Leagues.

Hopefully, most of you know about the Curation and Engagement League that I've been hosting this year:

https://steemit.com/engagement/@abh12345/2llje5-the-curation-and-engagement-leagues-steem-prizes-and-steem-bounty-available

And so i'll not spend too long on that. It's free to enter (drop your name on the post linked above), and has distributed, with the kind support of @curie, over 700 STEEM/SBD this year.

The 2nd league, which is also seeking @curie sponsorship, is the Red Fish Power-Up League hosted by @paulag. This is for accounts with less than 500 SP, who are looking to power-up and stay around. Enter here if this sounds like you:

https://steemit.com/steem/@paulag/redfish-power-up-league-and-wall-of-fame-week-12

The latest League (split into 4 sub leagues) is The Minnow Power-up League, which is being run from our witness, @steemcommunity. This is for everyone with owned SP between 500 - 4999, and the link is here:

https://steemit.com/engagement/@steemcommunity/minnow-power-up-league-week-1

If you are planning to 'grow with us', it's well worth registering, even just to track your growth against others with a similar SP.


Legendary Gold Chromatic Dragon!

It's been pretty impossible to avoid @steemmonsters over the past few months, and despite being a football card collector in my youth, I've not been involved with this type of card game before. I thought it would be worth at least getting involved though, after all, this could be huge for Steem - great for us all.

I decided to pick up a few beta packs the other day, and found this card:



Fly monster fly!

I mentioned to @themarkymark that I had a few cards, and sent a screen shot of the above stating that I thought this was my best card. He told me that on the Monsters Market, this card is for sale at anywhere between $750 and $2000!

😲 😲 😲 😲 😲

Damn!

Well, as much as that sum is tempting, I think I'm going to hold onto it for now. Who know's if that is wise or not, and if I were to get an offer of 800 STEEM, I'd be very tempted!

Cards packs can be purchased here: https://steemmonsters.com/#

and if you do buy a pack this week, go upvote this post to be entered into a raffle containing a bunch of gold cards:

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@steemmonsters/steem-monsters-raffle-time


That's all I have for today. I find these posts useful in rounding up items I couldn't fill a whole blog with, and doing this allows me to clear my head a little.

Have a good one!

Asher

Witness: @steemcommunity

Sort:  

Very nice pack pull! I did read everything else in the post, not just the SM part but had to comment on that nice gold legendary. 😁

I’m sure you are aware of the affiliation program but didn’t post the link above. If anyone is reading this and is NEW to Steem Monsters AND support Asher, then clicking on the Steem Monsters link below when you first log in will give Asher a bonus when you buy cards in the future. No cost to both parties.

https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=abh12345

Thanks for sharing Steem news!

Thanks @beeyou! Lucky me :D :D

I had noticed the referral program, but decided not to mention it - I'm glad you did though! :D

Hopefully this card will help when the games commence!

Congrats on scoring a great card!! I have been saving my few cards to play when games start. I must say if I ever get one that good I would probably have to try and sell it off for SP.
I think C-Squred is an awesome project to support. I try to curate over there a couple times a week. Definitely where I go when I need a feature for pifc.

Really lucky eh! The cheapest on the market for the Chromatic Dragon is $750!

If @c-squared had 50 million SP, Trending would look great :) Good idea for #pifc, heading over there, I shall remember that.

Indeed! With a card like that I could make a minnow of myself and a friend.

Yeah, very lucky of me.

Delegated you a little SP to get to 500 :)

Thanks so much. Hopefully one day I will be a bigger fish and can do the same for someone.

Nice card ... I too got very lucky on my very first purchase and found a Gold Foil Dragon. ....

@steemmonsters has taken Steemit by storm ... its amazing what their team has accomplished.

Wow! Nice work!

Yep it's been a bit hit, they've gathered a huge amount of Steem and so let's see how they do when the game begins :)

@abh12345, I want to talk about the Steemmonsters and in my opinion most of the people are waiting for the Steemmonsters Battle because for sure this game will be an exciting aspect and when it will start then the Engagement Levels will going to boost for sure.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemmonsters could be a really awesome thing for Steem - lets hope so!

Have a great day too :)

Yes, let's hope for the best and in my opinion exciting times ahead. Stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I voted your content because you are on my whitelist.

Join our army of good authors, delegate to me to apply: 2000 SP JEDI | 1500 SP **SITH Lord | 1000 SP Skywalker | Less Stormtrooper


Witness: @castellano

Use SteemConnect to delegate safely: 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP
JEDY 2000 SP | SITH lord 1500 SP | SkyWalker 1000 SP |

Wow. Congratulations on getting the Gold Chromatic Dragon @abh12345. I hope the price increases for you.

Thanks for the general update. Always good to hear what's going on. 😁

Well - a 750$ sale translates to about 750 STEEM! If someone buys it with STEEM/SBD (and for now it's not possible to buy single cards with anything but STEEM/SBD) you get all that STEEM/SBD in your wallet after it's purchased.

Does that make you drool?

I know I am drooling!

:D

Oh wait, you wrote more in your post but if I hear steemmonsters I just forget all the rest :') I have to say I love the @c-squared initiative and am a irregular curator (Dutch Team, but the Dutch don't post enough content in actual Dutch ;-)) in their Discord, and love the fact that it's open for anyone to join in and add undervalued posts :-) Glad you've teamed up with them and are going to make each others efforts stronger!

Thanks for the mention. I'm happy to support the curation trails and support groups that encourage good content and strong communities. @helpie and @c-squared are good examples.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.507 which ranks you at #151 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 152).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Here's hoping the hardfork goes smoothly in a handful of hours. I like your Steemit card. Do you say "engagement" like Picard says "engage"? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65739.28
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66