My Last Post Before HF 20.. See You On The Other Side

in #steem6 years ago

Well I thought it would be rude not to put something on the blockchain prior to it exploding in an hour or so.....

title.png


That's if you believe some people, including witnesses. A couple of sentences from the @steemitblog yesterday seem to suggest they are ready if (/when?) issues to arise.

The uncertainty of unknowns and things that are difficult to predict

We will be fully staffed and prepared to deal with any problems that may arise.

Due to this uncertainty, we added a “fail safe” to the code that will enable witnesses to revert from the RC system back to the old bandwidth system if absolutely necessary.

...That being said, as the transition goes on, users will likely notice some changes in user experience, though it is difficult to predict what those changes will be.

We will be monitoring the behavior of the RC system following the hardfork and promise to inform users of any changes that represent serious threats.

The changes in user experience should only last around 7 days. Unfortunately, it’s impossible to know exactly how things will unfold as the system relies on unpredictable human feedback.

As with the RC system, there are a lot of unknowns with respect to how this will function IRL.

...but the cost we must bear is some uncertainty with respect to how these systems will interact with users in the short term, as well as what systems and tools we will need to build in order to effectively leverage the features we are adding to the base layer.

Scared? Excited? Both!

As it stands we have all of the top 20 witnesses on v20.2. 'Only' 23 of the 120 currently active witnesses are not running the latest code, but I expect these, and those currently offline, to upgrade over the coming hours and days. Picking out the above sentences doesn't fill me with the utmost confidence that all will go to plan,but I do think that because of the recent hiccup, Steemit Inc and key witnesses will be glued to their screens ready for whatever action needs to be undertaken.

Positives

Personally, I'm looking forward to being to update my 'profile' page, and I think this is a good use case for being able to update older posts. I doubt I'll be going through eighteen months worth of posts and correcting spelling mistakes though, but I can see some content producers (writers?) wishing to do so.

Resource Credits sound promising, at least for accounts with a reasonable stake in place, and it does sound like new accounts will not be able to run free with their old 'free' 15 SP delegation from Steemit. If you've spent any time in the past year looking at what large groups of these accounts tend to do, RC's have to be seen as a good thing. If you want to 'comment circle-jerk' from now on, you'll need to buy/delegate Steem Power to all these accounts, with the amount depending on the 'cost' of these transactions. However:

...we are making transactions artificially cheaper than they would otherwise be at the beginning‒setting the resource pools to 90% of max equilibrium at the time of the hardfork‒which will allow users to continue using the blockchain after the hardfork and gradually transition them into the RC system..

And so at the start, the true reduction in suspect behavior may not be quantifiable for a little while.

Perhaps the most exciting thing to look forward to is not what happens in about 45 minutes time, but that today's effort is 'Setting the stage for communities on Steem and Smart Media Tokens'. I have read about a push in price coming due to the fork (which did happen but probably only because of liquidity and the wallets being closed on the exchanges), but have my bets down for Communities and, most of all, Smart Media Tokens to really give Steem a name. Whether this name is repeatable to your kids or not, we will have to wait and see.

No power-downs so far for me.... fingers-crossed for today and next March then.

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Yep, see all on the other side

Posted using Partiko Android

One thing few are talking about is that I believe we will start to see SBD in payouts again! As they are released and continue to trade at a premium to Steem, it can provide more opportunities to accumulate more Steem Power in the short term.

Yes that could well turn out to be a plus, especially if most people choose to power up. I'm not sure that will be the case though, but again, we shall see.

I doubt if any of us will go through all of those hundreds and thousands of posts in order to correct spelling mistakes :-)

Maybe the functionality has mainly been implemented in order to be able to delegate take down notices, as I can image that Steemit, Inc is already receiveing a lot of them. Being able to edit an older post, also means that we can modify it in case we had (accidentally) included content or parts of content that is not ours.

Honestly, if I had seen that list of uncertainties again before publishing my own "see you later post", I may have used a different title. Some of my coolness is just gone :-D

Let's have faith!
See you on the other side hehe

Maybe the functionality has mainly been implemented in order to be able to delegate take down notices, as I can image that Steemit, Inc is already receiving a lot of them.

Interesting, and sounds very reasonable.

Honestly, if I had seen that list of *uncertainties" again before publishing my own "see you later post", I may have used a different title.

Well I liked your 'just roll with it' style, don't worry :)

It seems we do all need a bit of faith though!

Well I think we've had enough bad news during the past days, it's time for some happy moments :-) Crossing my fingers for a smooth switch though!

Haha..@abh12345 "see you on the other side" i used similar line a while ago. All the best 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

heh :) Well it does feel that way. Hopefully, it'll just turn out like the year 1999-2000 in which seemingly all was going to go to shit, and next to nothing happened!

Haha...thats true...hope all goes well...

Posted using Partiko Android

I am on HF19..and will change maybe some hours after HF20 or tomorrow..
Their blog post didn't convince me at all.

I'm not surprised some are waiting it out (and willing to lose out on blocks to do so). There is a good deal of uncertainty voiced, but it looks like the vast majority have chosen to spin the wheel!

Let's hope it will be a blast. But I am not sure how some things will have impact on me or not!
We will know more on the other side, or better after 7 days when the post written after the HF20 will be paid out.
Cheers,
Peter

A 'blast' as in fun, and not just an explosion of the blockchain I take it?!

If you beleive this post below, we should be altering our voting timing 3/4/5/6/7 days ago?

https://steemit.com/hf20/@accelerator/hf20-change-your-autovotes-now-as-new-posts-will-be-paid-using-hf20-rules

I'm not sure, and we will certainly know more in a week.

See you there!

Lol we wait and see what the changes are...see you on the other side

The changes have been presented in recent posts by @steemitblog, it's just how they will all pan out that is the unknown :D See you there!

WOW its finally happening?!?! eeeek...

The hfappening is here!

Not seen you around much recently, hello!

Hi back!! In Guatemala everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. Lost my computer charger and couldn't find the right size in all of Guate, difficulty finding strong internet, busy learning about people and culture and language and volunteering--- and then my cell died leaving me without any connection at all! Now I'm in Oregon and all my priorities are fucked. I'm feeling like I need to be around my mom more but also need to get more education.. anyway.. I am trying to be here at least some now.. but not crazy like I was... hopefully I can get back to doing SOME teamgirlpowa stuff but I don't even know how to arrange my time these days. Looking forward to hf20 and hoping it makes things easier!!

Here I give you my last upvote to you on this side of steemit, Asher. I'm curious to see what's going to happen within 1 hour. Are they also going to change 'beta' ?

Cheers!

Personally, I think 'beta' will remain forever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79