Is @steem-ua simply supporting the Utopian-io community?

in #steem-ua6 years ago (edited)

Is @steem-ua supporting ALL of the STEEM community or is it preferential to the utopian-io community?

steem-ua.JPG

divider.png

Post EDITED:


Thank you @scipio for kindly stopping by with an answer. Please read below and come to your own conclusions.

https://steemit.com/steem-ua/@beeyou/is-steem-ua-simply-supporting-the-utopian-io-community#@scipio/re-beeyou-re-abh12345-re-beeyou-re-abh12345-re-beeyou-is-steem-ua-simply-supporting-the-utopian-io-community-20181013t005702472z

divider.png

Original Post

Being an infrequent poster, I noticed quite a difference between @steem-ua’s upvote on my latest post and the one prior. My post was ranked #463 out of 471. I was rewarded $0.02. Hey, I’ll take that!

Per @steem-ua:

Your UA account score is currently 4.266 which ranks you at #2573 across all Steem accounts.

Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2569).

My last post received $1.01.

divider.png

Being curious if there was a change of logic, I stopped by their Discord room to ask if the bot is broken or if their upvote logic changed.

The question was asked today and I haven’t received a reply yet. Perhaps someone will get back to me later?


If something intrigues me, I start researching!

By looking on Steemworld, I noticed that Utopian-io posts are receiving the big upvotes. Many of them are translation posts.

Today's Upvotes given by @steem-ua

Utopian-io posts are highlighted in yellow.

Yesteday's Upvotes given by @steem-ua

Utopian-io posts are highlighted in yellow.

Non-Utopian-io posts start around 3% (ish) and depreciates to 0.01%

I’ve only delegated 100 SP to @steem-ua but would still like to know where my SP support are going. From my understanding, users from @utopian-io do not have to delegate SP to receive an upvote. Do we all have equal stakes in the algorithm or is @steem-ua skewed to the Utopian-io community?

Per @steem-ua
https://steemit.com/ua/@steem-ua/news-and-updates-on-steem-ua-and-ua-api

utopian-io.JPG

I only joined @steem-ua because @abh12345 wrote about the project in his posts. Last I checked, @fulltimegeek had delegated 50,000 SP to the project. Today, his delegation is no longer with @steem-ua.

Should I still be supporting a project that seems preferential towards Utopian-io users? Not that I have anything against @utopian-io.

Post EDITED:


@fulltimegeek removed his delegation from @steem-ua to combat reward pool abuse. This is WHY I support him as a witness!


https://steemit.com/xxxxxxxxxx/@xxxxxxxxxx/lhe5w-this-post-will-fund-project-xxxxxxxxxx

beeyou copy-paula.final.jpg

Sort:  

Nobody is really impartial on Steemit

That's really interesting @beeyou, after delegating to @steem-ua, I am still getting almost the same vote from @busy.org which doesn't cost me anything. My reason for delegating was the hope that @steem-ua would spread the votes around to quality content producers. As much as @utopian-io does great work for the community, it does make the way the current setup is a little murky. I hope someone gives you an answer soon.

I did hear about the partnership previously, but I wasn't aware the votes were so skewed towards utopian posters.

@kabir88

Kabir, what have you done to get to a negative 11 rep. I gave you an upvote so people can see you.

Long story DC. It occurred a couple months back when the truce was broken between haejin and FTG. Lots of flagging going around then.

LoL, long story, but the events are well summarised here

https://busy.org/@moeknows/haejin-timeline-updated

My reason for delegating was the hope that @steem-ua would spread the votes around to quality content producers.

That was my reason for delegating too. I don't post 4/times a week to justify my small 100 SP delegation, but I thought the algorithm would be used to support other users. IF their logic changed recently, it is very skewed toward users posting with the #utopian-io tag.

I did not like the concept at all when it first came out. My initial reaction was that it’s going to become another giant ring of a circle jerk, and just another thing that makes me want to further distance myself from this platform.

As I’ve said to you, I am only around now due to actifit. I loved the transparency of @actifit’s latest update to their reward system. My 100SP Delegation is better spent there because it encourages me to improve my lifestyle. That project actually helps people, even though the big players of STEEM prefer to invest in projects like Steem-ua. Anyway, off to go for a long bike ride to work on getting more actifit steps!

Have a nice day beeyou!

I was hoping for a system that wouldn't be another "giant ring of a circle jerk". My bubble might have been busted today.

With actifit, can't people simply cheat to earn more tokens with more steps? I was told that someone could simply put the phone on a baby swing and get steps that way. There are the people that do exercise but when there is a financial incentive, I would think abuse would be there as well.

I was actually thinking of trying actifit myself, but I only get 2k steps a day. That's nothing! Enjoy your bike ride. Have a good day at work @linnyplant!

Give actifit a go @beeyou, I’d love to see an actifit report from you. The team is trying really hard to improve the post quality and I applaud them for it.

Yes, people can cheat the system to earn tokens and I am against all that shit. I did not join their curation chain to upvote people a shit-percenter just so I could earn an extra token too. I’ll be honest and say I was close to dropping the app for that reason. But I saw the founder @mcfarhat genuinely try to work at a building a stronger community. They’re also responsive to community feedback and plan to bring more features to make posting easier. Their recent release of a reward system has made it harder to just get rewarded based on ‘swinging the phone on a baby swing’ or voting on that curation trail. Activity is only part of the factor of being rewarded now. And if people want to cheat, it’s sad but whatever. Fitness is self-regulating and they can only answer to themselves. I assume the tokens will get harder to get with time. I went with the app because I sorely needed motivation to get off my backside and to move again. Writing and artsy stuff is a fitness killer for me. It conflicts with my love of running.

As for others who love creating rings and selling these memberships...well they can keep rubbing each other. Whatever makes them feel good. If I’m going to join something, I need it to have real value to me. Actifit delivers that for now.

I’m really gone now, was just waiting for my phone to charge.

❤️

Linny

I got the app to see how many steps I get in a day, and the average is 2k. Blah, that's nothing. Maybe I will make a post and talk about my day if it's not so mundane, but I've always hated exercising, lol.

Thanks for the explanation @linnyplant. The founder stopped by; that speaks for something! :)

I couldn't have explained it better than @linnyplant just did lol .. Thanks Linny, so much love !
@beeyou please join our discord and feel free to ask any further questions, we will be more than happy to help !

@mcfarhat, I’m glad you didn’t frown on me being less than diplomatic about a few things. I forget to moderate my words often. I know you have to cater for the many needs of actifitters and I’m only one little voice. But you’re doing so much good for those who want to use the blockchain for self improvement and motivation. I do have a lot of love for actifit at the moment. The number 10,000 has taken on new meaning, nice trick that! hehe ;)

Thank you for stopping by @mcfarhat. I see Linny's post and some other friends, but I don't exercise nearly as much as I should. I will give it a go one day. Appreciate you stopping by and for the invite. :)

I only looked at steem-ua very briefly. Initially, it seemed like it could be a tool to move Steemit towards being more content oriented... but it seems more and more like it's just another device to maintain the inequities here.

=^..^=

I had high hopes in it when I received that $1 upvote. Not that I felt my post deserved that amount, but it was nice to see the support. I'm okay if they decide my posts are now deemed to be worth 2 cents. I just feel that we should know where the support is given and from what I can tell in the last couple days, it's all going to utopian community.

All we can do is follow along with what comes next @curatorcat. Glad to see you're still mousing around. :)

Technically speaking, I have nothing against utopian-io, either. I'm sure they do fine work, but once again... it's yet another element of Steemit that's oriented towards the "back end," not towards end users.

Most of the time, I just sit back and watch. And yeah, I'm still mousing around...

=^..^=

Most of the time, I just sit back and watch.

Me too, and perhaps I should have done the same here.

I never did like steem-ua. Too many bad vibes. Too many red flags.

  • No transparency.

I wasn't sure how I felt about steem-ua, tbh but it did receive a lot of community support. So I threw in my hat into the mix. I'm not techie enough to understand their ranking logorithm, but surely the logic is not favorable to just developers and translators?

When I first saw mention of it, all top 20 witnesses were top 20 UA. To me that was a red flag.

  • Someone did a post saying they didn't think it was about "reputation" at all, just simply a pay to play scheme.
    • After all, how come if you delegate to them, you get a higher UA?

There have been a lot of smarter people than me say it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, so I don't really know.

  • BTW I lived in the town where sliced bread was invented! :D
    Chillicothe, MO

After all, how come if you delegate to them, you get a higher UA?

Really? I didn't know that, where did you find this info?

OK, I think I misread the post.

  • I searched through my comments and evidently didn't comment on the post I'm thinking of.
  • Next I did a search for steem-ua and found this post by @cryptoctopus.

How to Increase Your UA
The first step is to delegate, the next is to increase your UA.

I read that as...
to increase your UA the first step is to delegate.
In re-reading that post I don't think that's what they meant at all.
They meant you should delegate 25SP, so you get upvoted.
Then you should work on increasing your UA and they list several ways to do that.

So, I withdraw my comment that delegating increases your UA. :D

Sorry, for any confusion.
Thanks for questioning. After all, not questioning is how rumors and misconceptions stay alive.

Now that I did that research, I'm back on the fence about Steem-UA, but still think there needs to be more transparency.

No worries 😁

I think they are doing a fair job, everything out in the open has positives and negatives.

Fair enough though, the view on the fence is usually pretty good 😁

how come if you delegate to them, you get a higher UA?

I don't believe it works that way @wizardave. The logic of steem-ua is to upvote the posts of steemians that delegate to them. Upvote worth is supposed to be based on ranking (which is where witnesses come in because the trust factor stems from witnesses.)

The steem community (non-utopian users) delegated to show support and/or to get a piece of the upvote pie. Utopian users do not have to delegate but they qualify if their contribution is approved by utiopian, so they too get an upvote. A very nice one it seems!

Correct.
I found where my misconception came from as you can see in my reply to Asher.

Gosh, I just went over to that xxx post you mentioned and it is so sad to see how a personal vendetta can make people fight like 5 year old's. I must admit that there's only 1 person in that comment stream deserves my respect. No surprise it is @abh12345 again.
I'm only vaguely aware of the history of this thing, but IMHO, FTG is not coming out of this conversation as one of the good guys...So sad... if both would invest as much time, efflrt and SP in the community instead of in their stupid fighting, everybody will be a lot better off.

These last two weeks, I'm slowly starting to lose my faith in SteemIt, and this is just another example on the big pile of other things. If things keep going like they are now, I really doubt I will stay long enough to wait for SMT's...

Thanks Mike

I thought I'd try to bring something else to the table there.

Bernie and FTG have sided together before, and from what I gather this a disagreement on how Bernie is funding project x.

Hopefully, it'll be resolved soon.

The in-house disagreements affect moral, but not the wider price or direction the Blockchain is going. Just need to stay invested and do your thing.

I was glad to see a constructive note in the thread. Now I just read that Dave has been downvoted for trying to talk some sense into them. This is all such nonsense...

I don't see it as a personal vendetta but as ftg doing what he has been doing ever since I've heard of him on the blockchain; which is combating reward pool abuse. We may not all agree about the method and I'm sure the SP wasted would benefit many others but it is what it is, right?

These last two weeks, I'm slowly starting to lose my faith in SteemIt, and this is just another example on the big pile of other things. If things keep going like they are now, I really doubt I will stay long enough to wait for SMT's...

Others have told me to post at competitor sites and I have yet to try. I simply don't have the time to try other blogging sites, not being a blogger at all. I'm throwing my lot with Steem Monsters. If they leave the blockchain, I will likely go with them. I feel there is less "gameplay" there than on here, tbh.

I've been checking out the 'competition', and haven't found a worthy alternative yet. I've just been reposting my old and cross-posting my new articles, since SteemIt is taking up all of my time. There is no time for engagement on the other platforms

Wow well I really do not know how they really measure or ascertain posts Paula and methods of upvoting and the percentage but I'm so happy that you did a little digging

Hi Joseph. Reading their posts directly is probably the best way to learn about their logic. I am writing it as I see it, but perhaps my understanding of it might be perceived as being flawed and skewed. It's always nice to hear from you @josediccus. Hope you have been doing well since the last bout of sickness.

I'm better now Paula, I don't think your perceptions are flawed, if I'm thinking straight your perceptions will be totally spot on and legit as well, though I'll see like you suggested, you're such a splendid friend and a lovely person

Happy to hear you are doing well. :)

Thanks for the cheerful words. You don't know how much needed it is today! Whew. I tend to stay away from these types of topics; perhaps I should have done the same here. Oops.

Lol you did good I'm not sure i can be half a splendid content creator as you lol. Keep up my friend. Cheers!!

I always do enjoy it when you stop by. Take care of yourself over there. Enjoy your weekend!

Interesting... I will await the answers, I hope you do follow up. I read all the comments too... you are going to take my place as "bitcher of the week" :P

I happily turn it over to you NOW :)

Lol, it wasn't my intent to 'bitch' but I guess some can perceive it to be so. You know I tend to stay away from these type of posts @davemccoy. I shouldn't even have bothered. Not worth my time or energy to look into anything on here. I'm only writing it as I see it, but perhaps I'm not smart enough to understand everything on here and shouldn't be expressing my 'opinions'.

I clearly remember this topic being brought up quite a while ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @palikari123. Yes well, discussions are one thing. Data is another.

There was no data available at the time.

Great point. I was surprised to see a sudden drop in my post rank (and voting %). I was waiting for a couple more cases to start proving for a possible reasons, but it seems that you already found one.

Let's wait for steem-ua's response for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43