Orangila's Photos of Steem-Music: Women Empowerment Musical Night - 10th Mar 2018

in #steem-music7 years ago (edited)

Immediately after dinner, I made my way to Liberal Latte in Bukit Damansara. I was excited because this was my very first Steem-Music event. Also it was the first time at Liberal Latte, took me a while to locate the cafe as it was embedded in a quiet office building. I could sense the energy even before I stepped into the building.

STEEM-MUSIC: WOMEN EMPOWERMENT MUSICAL NIGHT:

During TeamMalaysiaBabes Chinese New Year Pot Luck, @perennial, @angiechin28 & @sireh had an opportunity to discuss collaboration opportunity between the 3 subgroups of TeamMalaysia: TeamMalaysiaBabes, Steem-Music & Steem-Cartoon. Merely 2 weeks after the pot luck, announcement for this event was made. I applauded their initiative and pledged my support. 10th March 2018 was a memorable day for TeamMalaysia because during the afternoon, #MyJuniors & #Steem-Cartoon collaborated to teach children to draw and sketch. And this event was done in collaboration between #TeamMalaysiaBabes & #Steem-Music with agenda for @perennial (a lawyer by trade) to educate attendees about the womens' rights in Malaysia in particular about spousal abuse. After the not-so-brief talk, it was show time for the musical geniuses and sketch artists.
 

Write up about this event is difficult for me because:
1) Tough I understand the logic and topic discussed by @perennial, I am not familiar with civil law or legal topics whatsoever.
2) I have little to no experience about anything and everything related to musical instruments or art of making music.
3) When I am taking photos, my sense of sight is amplified. I am fully aware of surrounds and happening. But my other senses including audition is toned down.
4) There are too many new faces from Steem-Music & Steem-Cartoon.

What I'll do instead is to walk you through the event via photos with as much description as I can conjure up.


BELOW ARE PHOTOS TAKEN IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER WITH DESCRIPTIONS:

I took this photo because I was discussing about photography with @jacktan. In particular, topic of foreground subject (in this case, the dessert) & background subject (in this case, the baristas).


Not sure what is going on here, I'll just make up a story: @angiechin28 was giving a stern warning to @perennial to no longer harass her to invite him into the TeamMalaysiaBabes WhatsApp group chat that is exclusive for women. Hahaha...



From left to right: @bitrocker2020,  @calebleejl, @perennial, @angiechin28, @sireh & @kymio

@bitrocker2020 - Chief of @teammalaysia, literally the one who started Steemit TeamMalaysia and full time job is to foresee the growth of the community.
@calebleejl - Founder of Steem-Music who combines his passion of Steemit and music. Successful held multiple music related events while sharing the benefits of Steemit platform.
@perennial - Lawyer by trade and main speaker of the day. Co-founder of both Steem-Cartoon & Steem-Music.
@angiechin28 - Main person behind #teammalaysiababes whose passion is to empower women members via various initiatives such as seminars and educational events like this.
@sireh - Founder of Steem-Cartoon. Hosted multiple events that are related to drawing/sketching/animation and is well known within the community of artists.
@kymio - Architect by trade, founder of @KLsketchnation. He has a talent on both art and music.


If you haven't done so, please:
- Leave a comment here to support @perennial for his application to be a Steem-Ambassador.
- Leave a comment here to support @sireh for his application to be a Steem-Ambassador.
- Leave a comment here to support @bitrocker2020 for his application to be a Steem-Ambassador.
- Vote @bitrocker2020 as a witness.
- Leave a comment here to support @calebleejl to get community approval to be a Steem-Ambassador.
- For TeamMalaysia ladies, feel free to contact @angiechin28 if you are interested to join teammalaysiababes


Daughter of @jacktan & @liewsc stealing heart of the ladies.


@angiechin28, @bitrocker2020, @sireh, @kaerpediem striking a pose for the camera.


Prior to @perrenial's talk, @bitrocker2020 was actually giving a short opening speech about TeamMalaysia. I was in the washroom so didn't manage to capture the moment.


@perennial is truly passionate about this subject matter. You can read his intro post here.


 @liewsc & daughter. She wrote a blog about some of the speakers and myself.


@perennial was a natural speaker, everyone was attentive and was the golden opportunity for me to take photos. Secret to good photos for events always comes to eye contact and the direction that everyone is looking at.


 @vikapuzach - I took photos of Vika during TeamMalaysia CNY Party. Didn't have an opportunity to talk to her back then but was delighted that I got to catch up with this lovely Russian lady this time. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with her and I am looking forward to seeing her again.  


Serious @melissawong. You can read her well written post about this event here.  



Based on her blogs, I know @jassicania is interested in talks like this. Of all Steemian I met, I know @jassicania, @perennial and I can have a very deep discussion about a vast spectrum of topics ranging from history, sociology, economy, politics and all the subject matter that will bore the average person.     




Please read @perennial's blog about the summary of the talk.


While the speakers and musicians were busy making noise. @choiko82 was quietly sketching them all.  


@notimetospace is no stranger to mic or the centerstage. I believe she was secretly hoping that the musicians would play a Kpop song for her to sing along to. 


 @vikapuzach wrote an amazing brief about this event. You can read it here.




 @silviagoh & her adorable 3 month old daughter. 





In Malaysia, more often than not, crowd are too shy to speak up or ask questions. This was not one of those events. As a result, the talk took an incredible 45 minutes to complete.



Husband and wife taking the stage. @calebleejl & @silviagoh  


  @silviagoh's write up




 @silviagoh is from Indonesia and she beautiful sang a few of their local folk songs.


Round of applause from the crowd.


Next on stage was @cbppls  


 @cbppls is new to Steemit but said he is thoroughly enjoying the benefits that Steemit offers to artists like himself.


 @cbppls is from Sabah and his performances simply mesmerised the crowd


I believe this is an amplifier. Having said that, please click on this link and up vote the post. You can read the plea to raise funds for future Steem-Music events.






 @cbppls & @kaerpediem (I am sure she took amazing videos during this event)   


 @angiechin28 recruited @vikapuzach to join TeamMalaysiaBabes. Click here for @angiechin28's summary about this event.   


@farisnoor (the sweet teddy bear) with his ukulele




  @choiko82 and I were busy at work the entire evening  






 One of my only few shots of @kymio performing as I was busy sharing photography tips with @jacktan.



 @jassicania was invited to the stage... we wanted to witness her performance after viewing her performance on DTube.   


You can read @jassicania's post about this event here



 @jassicania performed Alicia Keys - Girl on Fire and Adele - Someone Like You




  @choiko82 almost done with his master piece


Steam-Music at work



It was ashamed I didn't manage to capture the proper shot of the caricatures. You can view it at @vikapuzach's post.  


The mandatory group photo


I didn't manage take a candid photo of @noriaakip. You have have a look at her post about this event here

After this amazing event, a few of us headed to a mamak stall in TTDI, it was such an amazing Steemit day which I'll never forget.

Sort:  

Love love love your picture story @orangila... my favourite is @angiechin28 and @perennial’s make believe one because it is believable 😂

Owh no...my name is tarnished...who leaked that story out?

Thanks for stopping by:)

Lols!!! I laughed so hard at that photo! I look like a gangster babe there hahaha!

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

As usual, never failed to impress us! I love this post and photos! I will resteem! Thank you @orangila. You are indeed a talented photographer! And you totally earn the title The Flashman! @noriaakip coined it! Well, because you are everywhere and I cannot imagine you actually at 3 different places all in the same day?? Amazing!

Thanks @angiechin28, it was an amazing event and I had so much fun... Yes, thinking about it, except for under the table, I was at every corner of the Liberal Latte.
I was at 5 different locations with Steemians: MyJuniors in Puchong, durian in SS2, Bak Kut Teh in SS14, Liberal Latte & Mamak in TTDI.. hahahaha

You are indeed the Flash Gordon of Asia!! How could we not see that?? Lols!!!

I never heard of Flash Gordon before.. hahaha... I know Flash as in Barry Gordon, but not Flash Gordon..

This is so cheesy~!!! hahahaha

Lols!! Its the 70s babe!

I was born in the 90s~!!! hahahaha

Really?? Lols. Nevermind, everything 70s are trending now! Hahaha

awesome write-up and very informative! beautiful photos as well. love the captions and the attention to details! thanks for dropping by. appreciate the support! :)

Banner Steem-Music (500x200).jpg

Welcome and thanks to you and your family too..... it was an amazing event and looking to support more of steam-music events in the future.

Super awesomeeee photos! 😁😁😁😁😁

Thanks bro~!!!! You are truly multitalented and it was great meeting you... see you again soon:)

Btw, I could talk about boring stuffs too! Lols. We'll catch up again bro!!

Great.... I'll keep that in mind and we'll think of a boring topic to debate one day:)

Aaaahh...can. It will be awesome!

Love your pictures and caption, @orangila! Thank you for capturing precious moments of this event and two other events earlier on the same day! I admire your dedication. Keep up the spirit! See you at the next event! :)

May I use some of your pictures?

@melissawong: Thanks for stopping by. Actually, taking photos is the easiest. Post processing, captions, tagging, adding links, time and effort to prepare this blog takes even more time...

See you at the next event and you are more than welcome to use any of the photos...

Great posting and awesome pictures!!!

Can I take a few (7) of your picture to share in my IG page? I will credit your name as @orangila.

I will not post it untill you give me the permission.

Thank you bro

@farisnoor, welcome to Steemit and go ahead and use the photos...

Thank you so much bro!! Looking forward to meet you soon!!

You are most welcome my friend... if you are interested to learn about Steemit, there are 2 courses coming up:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/steemit-bootcamp-jumpstart-your-blogging-income-tickets-43500323639?aff=es2
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/steemit-bootcamp-jumpstart-your-blogging-income-tickets-43497032796?aff=es2

Yes, definitely see you soon... feel free to ask us should you have any questions about Steemit

omg! this event looks and sounds so much fun! I am so glad with the theme of the gathering, especially around this time in the year!

Looking forward of attending any other meet-up, that will be happening soon.

Thanks @orangila, for sharing

Cheers

Too bad you missed this event, but based on your post, you had an amazing weekend and outdoors in Malaysia can be a challenge but is fun.... yes, stay tuned for more events. Vika was with us and I know she had fun:)

Bloggers, artist and musician all gather in one place to support. The best things ever happen and can't find it elsewhere. Thanks for sharing @orangila.

Thanks for stopping by... I am sure we can arrange to have something similar in Penang. First, we need to build Steemit communities in Northern region.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77