My Songwriting Journey: Original Song No.2 - 我们的心跳 (Our Heartbeat)

in #steem-music6 years ago (edited)

Capture2.PNG
Source image

"I always get stuck in writing songs."
"Find someone to write together then!"

And so I did.

By an odd coincidence, me and my friends manage to write a song in a short period of time and I get to perform this song in UCMA's 1st year Anniversary Celebration at Empty Cup Coffee House about a month ago.

UCMA (University College Music Association Malaysia)

UCMA is a non-profit association that helps provide a platform for local tertiary students who are passionate & talented in songwriting to showcase their talent, and for their originals songs to gain exposure & recognition from the mass media. And I am one of the committee. :)

The CNY song that I recorded with 2 other singers (which I shared on Steemit on Feb), was actually written by UKM (Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia) students. They are one of the few originals that UCMA scouted for 8TV CNY album song recruitment project.

So back to the story. The president of UCMA, Kenn requested all committee to write a song and perform during the event. As I was cracking my head on what song to write, Kenn approached me and said..

Let's write a song about Malaysia!"

Aha this is interesting! Let's do it!

What comes to your mind when you think of Malaysia?

hibiscus.PNG
Hibiscus - Our national flower

teh tarik.PNG
Teh Tarik ("pulled tea") - A hot milk tea beverage commonly found in coffee shops in Malaysia

mamak.PNG
Mamak - A 24/7 eatery operated by Indian Muslims that serve Mamak delicacies like roti canai, teh tarik, nasi kandar etc

nasi lemak.PNG
Nasi Lemak ("fat rice") - A Malay fragrant rice dish cooked in coconut milk & pandan leaf, and comes with basic condiments like anchovies, ground nuts, egg, cucumber etc.

Ok it feels like I'm writing a Malaysia food post now. Hahaha look at all those mouth-watering food pictures! Oh my! Malaysian food is DA BEST! ❤

So What's In The Lyrics?

I manage to give a simple basic words & idea for the lyrics (like the food examples above haha). We decided to do this song in Mandarin as my friend is more well verse in that language. Even so, we still had to google the synonym words that rhymes or sounded nice/flowery. Definitely squeezed our brain juice for this. Now I know why some artists use up to years to produce an album!

kennn.PNG

For the Verse, we tried to incorporate Malaysia's food/scenery into the lyrics. Sadly we didn't manage to insert Nasi Lemak, because we couldn't think of elegant word for Nasi Lemak. Hence replacing it with coconut tree instead. Hahaha. 😁

Then for the Pre Chorus, it is about the reality of human behaviors & mindsets of the society today. The greed for power, fame and money had complicate the simplest things in life - conscience, friendship, love.

Chorus is what we wish and hope to see in Malaysia. We hope everyone fight lesser and hug each other more. To be less pretentious and give praise to each other more. Lesser accusation, more understanding. Lesser misunderstanding, more unity.

So What's In The Melody?

Its in C key. Simple chords. Not anything fancy, since it was written quite last minute. It started with Kenn humming few notes in the beginning and I try to get the feel and finish the whole line of melody. Basically just let the creativity in my brain to flow and not pressuring myself with all the what IFs. "What is the song turns out not ok... What if the song is too simple..." bla bla bla..

graceeee.PNG

The melody is finally out, so I was thinking if I could get someone else to help me improve the song. And I recalled of this new friend whom I got to know recently. She said "If you have any new originals in future, just pop over to my house and share with me. I'll be happy to help!". Her name is Grace Cho. She's a Korean who have been residing in Malaysia for almost 10 years. She's now a keyboardist in a local band called Fazz.

When I met her, I explained about the meaning of the song and played once for her. Her feedback was.. "This song sounds peaceful." hahaha. She then went ahead helping me to change and add certain chords to enhance the song. As the chord changes, I had to make slight changes to the original melody, just to make it sound better. She helped to create the melody for intro & interlude too.

So here you go! I've attached a simple translation below, for those who do not understand Mandarin language.

我们的心跳 (Our Heartbeat)

词曲 Lyricists/Composer: Michelle Loh, 野田弘
编曲 Song Arranger : Grace Cho Hee Won

Verse 1:

陽光下的紅花璀璨
The red hibiscus under the sun
熱帶雨林奔放
Beautiful rain forest
回憶少年時光
Memories of childhood
椰樹上害羞的芬芳
The fragrance of coconut
撲鼻的拉茶香
The smell of Teh Tarik
說話聲嘹亮
The atmosphere of people speaking loud loudly (in mamak)

Pre-Chorus:

人們的思想過於囂張
The arrogant mind in human being
像荊棘裡 爬行的慾望
Like the crawling twisty vines
想要太多 抓著不放
So much to hold on to
忘了本來就那麼簡單
We forgot everything was so simple back then

Chorus 1:

少一點爭吵多一點擁抱
Let's fight less hug more
少一點偽裝 多一點稱讚
Be less pretentious and praise each other more
當個 純真思想的色盲
Let our mind be as pure as the color blind (meaning not to see skin colour - racism)
這裡就多一份希望
And we will see the light of hope here (in Malaysia)

Verse 2:

遊樂園善忘的小光
The forgetful Siao Guang (Chinese race)
阿里姆都相伴
Playing together with Ali & Muthu (Malay & Indian race)
友情這麼簡單
Friendship was that simple (to Pre-Chorus)

Chorus 2:

少一點責備 多一點諒解
Let's blame lesser And understand each other more
少一點誤會 多一點團結
Lesser misunderstanding More unity
謙虛 羽毛在空中翱翔
The motion of shuttlecock in the air
我們的心跳 我們的驕傲
Our heartbeat Our pride

This is our home Our love
Our home Our love Our pride

Yay! Finally 2nd original song - Done!

On my right Kenn Yeap, the co-songwriter and on my left Grace Cho, the music arranger. It has been a humbling experience to write with this two talented duo and see how our strengths has helped each other's weaknesses. I'm not good in words/vocabulary, so I gave ideas and Kenn put the thoughts into beautiful words. I'm not good in arranging songs, thus I gave the melody, and Grace helped to beautify the chords. It made me realize, we can do so much when we are in a team, rather than doing it alone.

Capture.PNG

Thank You Lord for this 2nd song. Thank You for placing favorable people around me to have this awesome experience of co-songwriting. This song is not perfectly done, definitely have room of improvements, but surely a progress to me. pat pat on my shoulder. More to come! 😊

Over the years, I've learnt that I don't have to be perfect to start anything. In fact, no one else is. I just have to do whatever I know now, at where I am, with every resource I have. :)

YOU CAN DO IT TOO!


Animated Banner Created By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Very beautiful song, can feel your love for the country. You carried it very well and bravo for writing such talented lyrics, keep it up, @michelleloh168! :)

Thanks for your kind comments @happycrazycon! Thanks for your encouragement. I wouldn't be able to come out with such lyrics + melody, without the help of my 2 friends. So thank to them too! :)

Wow... creating music to me is like building a space craft for me... what an amazing work~!!! Keep it up

Thank you so much @orangila! Haha i guess that's why everyone is born uniquely and have different sets of character/talent/gift. Songwriting is something I'm still exploring. Yours would be taking amazing photos! So you too keep it up! :D

Thanks and same to you too... so how does song writing work?? You first need to come up with the music before you write the lyrics?? or you write the lyrics first then make music accordingly to the lyrics?

Haha i guess it depends. Some write lyrics before melody, some melody before lyrics. For me, it happened simultaneously. Certain parts of the song, the lyrics & melody came at the same time. So i guess its down to personal intuition. No fixed formula. 😄

THANK YOU JOSEPHINE!! :D

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Oh! Thanks for dropping by and thank you for the upvote @scuzzy @minnowsupport @msp-music!

The word talented is a perfect description for you. Could totally see that there's so much of hardwork being contributed for this masterpiece. Good luck & keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @explorernations! Yea writing a good song is not easy, but it is possible. Many times I doubt whether I'm able to produce good song content. But I guess as long as we are willing to try, explore, and practice, we'll find our niche along the way. Thanks for dropping by @explorernations! :)

Hey @michelleoh168, on behalf of @msp-music, I've featured your post on my weekly music curation post! Thank you for sharing your story with us!

Here is the link to the post: https://steemit.com/music/@scuzzy/scuzzy-s-weekly-music-curation-29-04-25-or-msp-music-community-curation-initiative

Thank you so much for the feature @scuzzy! :D

This is one great piece and you sang out the feel :)
Just knew you are same band with zhihuang and zhiling. lol

Hey thanks for your comments @kimzwarch! Ohhhh u knew zhihuang and zhiling too? What a small world! Bu actually we're not a band la, just friends that happened to play music together. 3 of us performed other songs for the same event too. Haha

Oh, I see :) small world indeed. You all are awesome with music!

Very beautiful! You're doing fine, not everyone is ready to write something of your own!

Thanks for your encouragement @amalinavia! Songwriting is something I'm still exploring, definitely have alot more to improve. Thanks for dropping by to read and listen :) I've always love your drawings & paintings! You too keep it up @amalinavia! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56