You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When is sharing another contributor's content appropriate?

in #steem-help8 years ago (edited)

The "Resteemit" option could be an interesting feature. However, I think one of Steemit's major strengths is its constant supply of new and unique content, and I would hate to see pages become cluttered with recycled articles.​

Sort:  

Now that you mention it, I think it really may become "cluttered" with old articles and the stream of new ones would lower. There's a chance.
Still, I myself wanted for several times to hit the "share" button, but alas! it's not here. :(
Also, this feature would be great in means of featuring other authors, if it'll be implemented in some similar way as @condra proposed in his post.
And a built-in option on selecting wether the author wants his/her post to be shared is very needed, so no misunderstandings occur further.

One of the brainstorming comments I had on @condra's first resteemit post suggested that resteemit posts only show up in your own blog feed and in the feed of those that follow you. That is if resteemit resembles twitter or facebook. I have stopped following relatives that post junk on facebook.

My thought behind that is that it would prevent individuals from resteeming a lot of posts that are uninteresting since this would bury their own original posts. Users that resteemit posts that are uninteresting to their followers could lose those followers. This would actually encourage sharing of interesting posts and deter sharing "clutter".

I like your thought process here. Unless I had valuable insight to add to a previous post, I'd be afraid to Resteem anything in fear of losing my whale followers.

Yes, I thought it would work like that and this maybe a solution, indeed. Or maybe it could also be shown later on in the feeds of those who voted for the post - as in Facebook, if your friend likes something, it's in your feed as well - that's for greater exposure.
But in the case of featuring posts it's really necessary then that somehow it's possible to resteemit several posts in one post, so that the feed is not a chaos. :/

Do we really need featured authors posts if the resteemit feature works? I'm not talking about "the weekly roundup" curation type posts that when done right prompt the visitor to check out the contributor's post. But "featured author" type posts that post featured author's full creative work.

For example, I'm following you. You resteemit @happyzoee's "I'm a dog" post. It shows up in my feed as "resteemed by". I think it's good. " I resteemit. So do half my followers.

Now, maybe that would "clutter" my main feed. How about a second feed tab? I can look at the second tab and see all the resteemed articles from those I follow.

Preferably grouped together so that I see:

"resteemed by @happyjack, @happymack, @dogriley and 10 others -- "I'm a dog" by @happyzoee

I see immediately see that a lot of my followers like this... I need to check it out. Okay, this is awesome, I resteemit and then jump on steemit.chat and start telling everyone about it.

So, @happyzoee who's been posting for a month finally gets noticed by writing an awesome post about her life as a dog and how she trained her owner. Those who truly enjoyed it will follow her.

Just a thought.

I agree with your thoughts, and do think that "second feed tab" is a wonderful idea! It should be very handy and no clutter. Your posts will be seen, and so could be the shared posts, if one clicks on the tab.
No, I don't think that we need featured author posts when the whole work is being posted, "share" feature would be enough, imo.
But me, for example, I am doing daily top5 in psychology - so am featuring 5 articles at once, not the whole text, and @dragonslayer109 has a whole bunch of articles and links in his hidden gems, for these kinds of featured author posts it's form difficult to impossible to realize everything just by sharing single posts, but I think it's something you meant by ""the weekly roundup" curation type posts".

Where should we propose the "second feed tab" so that we're heard? :)

Maybe this is the right place to comment: https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/203

Yes, posts like your [Daily Psychology - It’s a Lucky Find!] (https://steemit.com/psychology/@aleksandraz/daily-psychology-it-s-a-lucky-find-12-today-s-top-5) really encourage curators to visit the link if they find the title and text snippet interesting. I really wish we could use inline thumbnails, but I made another comment on that and don't want to repeat myself.

"resteemit" like on twitter could be turned off if you don't want to see shared (retweeted) content in your feed. "resteemit" can help also discover new great content more easily...as good content would most likely be retweeted plenty.

Hmm.. But that idea of yours, @patrice, wouldn't work if there's an option to turn-off the shared content from your feed, as @simoneighties suggests, would it? Or at least it'll has less impact.

is it possible that something could be resteemed only once in X time period.

Completely agree. It would become extremely dull.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64