Steemit Video Tutorials - Understanding Permissions Keys

in #steem-help8 years ago (edited)

Understanding Permissions Keys

  • Posting Key - used for login, posting, and voting
  • Active Key - used for making transactions with your Wallet
  • Owner Key - this key has super user privileges -- Protect this key with extreme security
  • Memo Key - used for signing and reading messages


If you enjoyed this article and would like to see more, click here for my summary page!

By @pairmike


Sort:  

Your video is set to private at the moment @pairmike

Thanks. I changed it to public.

Cheers mate :) Awesome tutorial!

Thank you. Very informative.

I'm glad you found it useful. It took me a while to understand how the keys worked as well. I thought others could benefit from this information.

That was a very usefull video with detailed information for newcomers. I knew a bit about the first 3 keys, but hadn't figured out yet what the Memo key was for. Thanks! I would recommend you change the music on your next video's, for me it was more of a distraction from the real message, I felt that it didn't add much. Good luck!

Thanks for the feedback. I'll make sure the music is much lower in subsequent videos.

Hey, I really want to watch the video because the Key's are confusing to a lot of people but when I try to play it the message "This video is Private" shows up. Teaching things like is going to mint some whales. I did a post about just that. https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/millionaires-will-be-minted-by-just-teaching-steemit-to-new-users-proof-inside-and-discussion-on-the-problems-of-teaching

Try it again. I set it to public now. Sorry about that.

Thank you for this post it is very valuable to those receiving more steem power and could be targeted by hackers. I will follow you blog and hope the feature to see all followed with come soon.

Also witch one would you use for witness ?

I don't run a witness, so I'm not quite sure.

Thank you! Very clear and concise. It took me a while to figure it out - I wish I could find a video like yours at the time. I'm sure this is going to help many new steemers.

I'm glad to help. Navigating the Steemit platform can be overwhelming for some. Posting and voting is easy, the other parts are a bit more difficult in the beginning.

pure gold baby, not solid, nor liquid, but hot steemy golden vapors

Thank you. Great to have you in our Facebook group.

I'm glad to be a member.

Hi, thanks for your explanation.
This subject is very confusing, especially when you add it that the interface has changed and when you try to link it to the notion of miner and witness.

Anyway, I would live to change all my keys, for security reason, but I can't find anywhere how to do that. Before there was some kind of option in Steemit to do it. I can't see that anymore.

Do you think resetting the password will reset all the other keys ? Thank you for your help or pointing me to some kind of official documentation.

Resetting your password does resets all of the keys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44