How to start using Steemit? The SIX most asked questions! (5/6)

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

If you are aware on how to create a Steemit account, go ahead. Otherwise, if you are reading a steemit post for the first time, check my post here (on how to create a steemit account and your first post) and then come back once you wish to know more!

What is Steemit (google knows)?

Lately, I have been seeing some confusions and questions from people that get to know Steemit for the first time... Many of these are something like:

  1. What levels of security exist on Steemit and how they work?
  2. Is there an app to access Steemit on my phone and how to start using it?
  3. Can I use my phone's web browser to access Steemit? is it secure?
  4. Is there a Steemit Wallet for my PC? HowTO and FAQ?
  5. Someone stole my phone (or is using my account), how can I gain control again?
  6. How do I recover my account and what/how to backup?

Well, the answer to the above questions is quite easy and straightforward (you will see). Steemit is developed from another blockchain platform (called BitShares) developed and tested through the open community for more than 4 years! That should give you some level of secured proof (it's not hidden if you want to check) about the system.

I was lucky enough to be apart of it since it's very beginning... I am member #194! If you wish you can also become an Investor of BitShares from this link.

Steemit blockchain and platform tools, like this website front-end (you are using to read this post) are all available on GitHub if you wish to check them out!

So, let's get down to business...

5. Someone stole my phone (or is using my account), how can I gain control again?

To start, you need to be able to answer yes to the following question.
Can you still log in over steemit.com somewhere?

If not, then check my next post about the sixth question.

If you CAN log into steem.com, then QUICKLY try to complete the following steps!

If you happen to have a session where you are already logged in, please do not log out and start bellow steps immediately.

  1. Head to the Change Password page, https://steemit.com/@<your_user>/password
  2. Enter your current Steemit.com password under the "CURRENT PASSWORD" field.
  3. DO NOT CLICK ON "RECOVER ACCOUNT"!!! - This will be used in the sixth question post.
  4. Click on "CLICK TO GENERATE PASSWORD" button.
  5. Save the generated password somewhere safe (copy to a password manager AND write it on a paper). And still, keep ALL your previous passwords!
  6. Fill the "RE-ENTER GENERATED PASSWORD" field with the one you copied to the password manager (to be sure you have saved it right).
  7. Check both boxes:
    "I UNDERSTAND THAT STEEMIT CANNOT RECOVER LOST PASSWORDS."
    "I HAVE SECURELY SAVED MY GENERATED PASSWORD."
  8. Finally, click on "UPDATE PASSWORD"!

Once the page confirms your request, You are then safe!

At this point, all your private and public keys have changed.

You can now go ahead and change any private keys you have on devices you use to the new ones.


But what if your phone was stolen? Can they still change the password on your account?

No. After you changed the password successfully, your phone keys will not work anymore. Although, go and change your phone applications passwords too, like email, etc (before they get compromised)!

What about my phone number? Can they forge my identity with it?

In regards to Steemit.com, NO. Currently, the phone number is only being used to create new accounts.

What happens if I can't log into my Steemit.com account anymore?

Well, if you can't use any of your keys, it means whoever got access to your account, already changed the password. In this case, quickly check my next post, because you have around 30 days (or less) to recover your account.


Stay tuned, VOTE and RESTEEM if you wish to show others what you have learned.

Let me know if you have any queries bellow...

You might also want to check...


Get your POWERVoice! - until 2017-06-28 11:39:39

Sort:  

Good article for beginners. Will be following you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31