Health is The Greatest Wealth.. A Reminder to Take Care of Yourself.

in #steem-health7 years ago

I'd spent the majority of the past decade abusing my body with little regard or respect for it. Last night I got a reminder of my mortality.

I generally run long hours in front of the workstation.. Generally atleast a 24 hour waking period or more at a time. Running my body and mind like a slave machine, but without the proper upkeep. Recipe for disaster.

You Never Know What Your Day Will Bring

It was a regular night, had drank a few gins, a pack of redbull, smoked the devils lettuce and had tabbed over to check out what was going on with Steemit. All of a sudden the right side of my face felt like it'd been lit on fucking fire. It took me by surprise and my first reaction was to rub my face, the burning subsided and I realized I'd lost most feeling in it.

What happened to me last night was a TIA.. Or transient ischemic attack, otherwise known as a "mini-stroke". I was extremely lucky, it could have been far far worse. While I'm still regaining proper motor functions on my right side I've made it through the worst of it. This was the second stroke I've had in a decade, the first one was around a decade ago and left me with a crooked smile.. Now it's tilted the other way.

About 3%-5% weaker on the right side but feeling and functionality is returning and I expect I'll recover fine. KLYE is strong in mind & soul.

My body is demanding I treat it better, seemingly I spend to much time sitting, not enough time excersising or eating good foods to fuel it for these long hours I've been forcing on it. Need to try to be more respectful of this shell I inhabit. There is no glory in dying young due to self neglect and after last night it's clear to me it's time to make serious changes in the way I live in order to make the most of the time left remaining in this realm. I'm not finished my mission on this earth.

It Takes More Than Brain Damage to Kill KLYE

I will be ok, my body is incredibly resistant to death. But knowing I could have just as well died last night does shake me up a bit. My speech and memory are seemingly unharmed but I'm down roughly 3%-5% strength and control on the right side. Face is still a bit numb on the right side but feeling is returning. Been blessed with a chance to improve the way I maintain this body. Incredibly grateful to my biology, system design, guardian angels and/or creator for not leaving me dead in my chair.

All of the money, fame and power in the world means nothing if you're unable to enjoy it due to dying from self neglect. I learned that last night. It's time to start treating myself like a human being and not an immortal dick drawing code deity... Because at the end of the day I'm just visiting this realm for the experience of it. Everything is temporary here.

Less stress, more excersize, better eating, less masking my bodies feedback with pot, booze and caffeine.. Because at the end of the day tomorrow isn't a guarantee.

Every day could be my last, Each breath possibly the final.

Take care of yourselves better than I was taking care of me. You never know when your face is going to get lit on fire and your ability to move or feel properly taken from you. I'm a lucky fuck to still be here. Don't be like me and run yourself into the ground, take care of your mortal bind to this planet.. You never know when your number may be called.


@KLYE for Witness
Sort:  

Thank goodness that you are getting better, am glad that all went ok. You have to be health smart and take a lot of water...try water therapy ie 4 glass of warm water first thing in the morning , and wait 45 minutes before breakfast. Success to you

Damn near back to normal today. Still a touch of numbness in the face and a bit shaky on the right side but brush the dust off me and I'm good as new.

Interesting technique. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome...I keep my fingers crossed for you and wish you a great recovery...

In addition to my last comment, I referenced you in my latest post about flag / downvoting war in steemit-feel free to check it out

We are so busy in making money that we forgot about our health.

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 1.13 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @steemthat. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow! And The Price Of Steem Will Appear! @steemprice steem

$1.139 USD/STEEM
Volume: 37.2800 BTC, 135024 STEEM / Average Price: 0.00027610
Last Updated Tue Sep 12 18:42:49 2017

yikes, glad you're ok! Yes self care is #1 priority...we've only got this one body and when we take good care of it, we feel SO MUCH better too. Heal well!

Hope you are okay.. i think we all get caught up doing bad things to our bodies.. the key is to catch it and correct it before it gets to late..

I'm doing alright considering. Enjoying the little things in life today and countin' my blessings.

Cheers man!

You should count your blessings everyday

Oh my god dude was this happening while we were talking? I have been cutting caffeine completely out for a few days now and going through horrible withdrawals. Obviously nothing like having a mini-stroke though. Don't do that again okay? Having a stroke is a bad idea usually. Not all the time.... but usually.

Was around 5:10 or so it happened. Not sure what I was doing at that point yesterday morning.

I'm good on strokes for a while.. I hope. That isn't something I need any time soon or ever.

And pay attention on the roads, whether you be a driver or a pedestrian, you know my story man, but others don't.....

I was run down by someone not paying attn and damaged for life.

Klye man, you are too valuable to this world man, it is a bummer you needed this wake up call but this can help many, as well as yourself.

#BroHug

--

<3 you Barry are like a prime example of our people of Canadistan and thus an ambassador to all things wonderfully north!

We need to get you some bionic bits.

Thank God ...at least you have realised that health is wealth ..It took a mild stroke for you to feel it.. we must do work as long as our body could tolerate not beyond that..

Pushing myself to work longer than what most humans would even consider and eating like shit.. Not a good combo.

As the saying goes Health is Wealth....we should have to pay attention to our health too...as we love work,we should care our health too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43