You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW Applications for the Steem Blockchain - Idea’s - Let’s collaborate..

@hisnameisollie ..I'm a day late to comment and upvote this but maybe you'd still be able to read it .
Yes, please - a travel help guide - trip adviser style would be great.
I've been on tripadvisor for a some time and honestly speaking - you get benefits being one of the top users - this is my profile -https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/members/EnglishTeacherIvyE
When we book hotels or bed and breakfast and even when we eat out and they find out you're on trip advisor , we get spoiling and the establishment owners tend to be very nice. The problem with tripadvisor is the establishment owners doesn't seem to have a voice for their sides to be heard and sometimes people tend to abuse it. Perhaps we could add that and turn establishment owners into Steemians as well so they could write about their sides plus more investors for Steem - we'll never know. I just think it's a win - win - nobody gets bribed to just write positive reviews and no establishments get abused - just because the reviewer didn't like them.
As for ..

There is some discontent within the Steemit community which seems to revolve around the disparity in rewards. The same authors receiving the large rewards, and the masses struggling to earn a few cents. The problem with valuing subjective contributions, is they have different value to different people.

This is so TRUE and one whale(I can't remember who anymore - read it on my feed a long time ago) has already written about it that upvotes are based on popularity or perhaps things have changed .. not certain if this is still the situation cause I used to follow one travel blog that is being outdone by another traveler who posted better information about where she is than that I follow. I follow both of them and I appreciate the newbie more because here travel blogs have more pictures, more information - you get an idea of what on earth to expect when you get to travel in the place she's featuring. I love travelling so that's really helpful for me.
As for ..

The problem with valuing subjective contributions, is they have different value to different people.

I totally agree with you and am confused because when I was writing in trip advisor - I had this mentality of writing for the benefits of both new and old travellers - I brought the same mentality in Steemit - I was writing both for the Steemians and the non Steemians because we'll never know - one day they could be, too if they happen to bump into reading one of those articles.
Last night, I wrote about this https://steemit.com/artsycoffeecups/@englishtchrivy/a-different-coffee-experience-paid-with-bitcoin-in-kaldi
because I live in the bitcoin city in Arnhem - I was hoping to promote Steemit this way in Arnhem - in as much as I want to promote Steem - obviously no shop in Arnhem has ever used it yet and we have to start somewhere and bitcoin is already established.
One thing more, I wrote it trip advisor style - with info about whether it's wheelchair friendly, family friendly, all the necessary stuff - for the benefit of the Steemians because anyway, they are coming to The Netherlands they might as well know that this city has different shops that accept bitcoin for payment on products and services. I included one article link on that blog to show that it's not just that coffee shop that accepts bitcoin for payment.
I want to do more reviews on those shops to serve as a guide to whoever may get lost on this side of the earth because there are also German and Belgian, French and Brits Steemians who may some day go to some camping places and might want to benefit from their bitcoin - someday - can you imagine you can pay your grocery needs, tire replacement , shopping for clothes, have a tailored suit, sportswear and even stay in this hotel paying with your bitcoin
photocredit : hotel groot warnsborn
but since the upvoters are Steemians maybe my post has not much bearing for them but I am thankful to those who upvoted it. Very.
So perhaps, aside from the "establishment owner's side" page you could also add - something that would show how much benefits it got from non steemian viewers too , perhaps a like button on pictures, review.
There's also no weather info on weather conditions there - so maybe you could add that. I hope this pursues - I'll be looking forward to it! Fingers cross ^ ^

Sort:  

@englishtchrivy Thanks for your contribution here. Obviously we are just spitballing idea's, and we will continue to do so, but it's certainly interesting hearing from someone who is a avid Trip-Advisor user. Allowing establishments/product companies to reply to review's would be very valuable.

@hisnameisollie, Thank you for reading it.
I'm very happy - I thought I was too late, I saw this reblogged by @oaldamster and that guy doesn't just reblog anything so I checked it out - saw that I'm a day too late but I thought - give it a try.
I'm glad I did. I'll be looking forward to this - progress and hitting follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95