How Did You Make That Hat? 🎩

in #steampunk7 years ago

People always ask me, Did you make that hat? How did you make that hat? What is that hat made of?

Well just between you and I, seriously don't tell anyone else. I'll find out if you do, I did make it myself and it took a bloody long time...

It is made from PVA floor mats, craft foam and love!


 Top Hats

First I made the basic hat out of the floor mat, from a pattern that I'll link to below. Then I, slammed on some Funky Electro Swing, sat down on the floor and cut a bunch of 2mm Craft Foam like this, the thin stuff anyway, into random sized shapes. Mine are mostly straight edged, but I'm open minded if yours are otherwise inclined ;-)


craft foam bits

Yep you guessed it, it's Gluein' Time!! So stuck all the random craft foam bits onto the base hat. I did try to arrange them so no patterns formed in the placement. This is where you begin to appreciate the upbeat vibe of the Electro Swing!

Now how are you feeling so far, are you Riveted yet? No? Well this next bit is a thriller. you'll be stuck to your seat, or hat, like I was... I used a match and two part Epoxy Resin like this, and painstakingly applied each little rivet one at a time. The Epoxy sets nice and hard, I mean, honestly, who doesn't like it nice and hard every now and again? :-o


Add Patina Top Hat Do not buy this zero sugar lemonade it is truly feral.

Paint It Black, let it dry then I went for the Rub n Buff but any metallic wax would do. If you don't like Rubbing in the Buff, that is... :D

Add a ribbon, flower or what ever tickles your fancy for embelishments. Hey Presto a Top Hat! Pretty sure you could even pull a rabbit out of it! Ha Ha Ha. This was fun!


Map Hat One hat is never enough.

The pattern for this hat and 30 or so other FREAKING awesome steampunk Projects can be found at Lost Wax.

For Super entertaining video tutorials for most if not all these patterns check out Chris on YouTube.

Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post


Please Take a few minutes read My Awesome
Introduction post 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To
“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

nice looking hat's I like the map one that's nifty :D thanks for sharing

Hello @freakygeak I'm flat out busy this week, I apologise for only just finding your comment. Hope your days has been good. Did you post about the bread yet?

I'm a bit slow with answering replys myself one day there is a red box with a number big or small but most day's no box so I'm randomly checking to find your post a day late :( sorry for that and I was just thinking I should finish finding pictures to share to go with my story/blog :D also don't be sorry I know people have lives to live :D work and such get in the way of internet fun all the time :D well for most people ;)

I love that hat.....NEED.

you caint have it, shmine! thanks mate, legend.

Nice work, love it!

This post received a 5% vote by @nettybot courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dingo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Looks stunning Bryan, you are quite talented. Perhaps reminded me of the Will Smith film Wild Wild West I think it was.... for all the mechanical contraptions. Really the metalic look is captivating. Well done!

Thank you mate, that was a fun movie. I could watch it again!

Awesome, thanks for sharing! I cant wait to check out the links.

I forgot to even check if they worked :/ thanks for reminding me, hope your day is going well!

My day is going great! Thanks for asking. I wish the best for you too! BTY, the links worked great and I just can't get over that hat. It is just the coolest hat I have ever seen. At first, I thought it was patches of thick leather but the metal look is even better. Copper, what a great choice. I am really glad you joined. I look forward to you posts.

One more question, do you have any pics of the hat before adding the foam? I am just curious what it looks like. I guess that is what the links are for but still thought about asking. Thanks again.

OK, never mind. I just watched the video. It was so easy. Not that it wasn't time consuming or tedious but the basic pattern is so much easier than I thought. Thanks a lot. I think I might have just found a new hobby. I love this steam punk stuff! I could really get into making these types of items.

Glad you found your way around it. It was not difficult like you said but it is time consuming. Some of the projects that guy does are more complicated. I enjoyed the process.

I used to feel the same about my builds, especially when I am selling them at markets and such, but I recently started sharing my tutorial vids like a few others (I even give props to Chris too!), and share them here. So I make a lot of mine almost exactly the same way that you do.

Very cool map hat! Upvoted and followed.

Thanks very much for your positive feedback. I really enjoy making and sharing stuff. It's very rewarding.

I completely agree with you. I put a video today for a quickie build I did for a lady who's boyfriend needed a hat fast, so I recorded my process to share. I even sent her the link to see, since she was quite curious about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48