How to Make Lihing (Rice Wine)

in #steammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

My Dear Steemians friends,

Today I going to share on how to make the Kadazandusun famous Local brew rice wine called Lihing.

Lihing or rice wine juice

I remembered these steps by heart because when I was kid, at the age of 10, my mum taught me how to make it. I used to make it, sell it and get profit out of it so that I have pocket money for school.

Lihing is made using sticky rice or glutinous rice (beras pulut) because sticky rice produce more water. The process of making Lihing are simple.


Beras Pulut or glutinous rice

First, clean and cook the sticky rice. After cooked, get a big tray to spread out the rice, then wait till it cool down.

Photo rice mix with yeast

Mix the rice with Sasad (traditional yeast), make sure all the rice is coated with the yeast powder. Then, get a clean jar, put the rice in and cover the jar.

Wait for 2 weeks or more and walla!...you can see the Lihing juice inside the jar. To get more juice wait for 2 months and you will get a nice sweet and addictive Lihing.

Taboo when making Lihing.

A woman that is having her time of the month cannot make Lihing because it will turn the rice wine sour.

When making Lihing, one cannot speak or think something bad or be too noisy otherwise the rice wine will turn sour.


Lihing is good and refeshing drinks for ladies especially during their time of the month. Just mix it with chicken soup or any soup. Its so delicious.. One bowl is not enough!

Delicious Chicken soup Lihing

That’s all. Thank you for visiting my blog.

Please also see my other articles:

https://steemit.com/teammalaysia/@verasj/journey-of-the-mighty-lihing-fruit-cake-a6a60842e8694

https://steemit.com/teammalaysia/@verasj/journey-to-tanjung-tepalit-baram-sarawak-borneo-15e52f325953f

Sort:  

I remembered when my mom said we cannot make noise when she's busy preparing the tapai. I guess it's true 😝

Ya..they also said that if you're angry dont make them because the people who drink them will be fighting with each other...mangkali lah kan..sebab mabuk suda..hahahh

Tu la they said. Drink with responsibility (ngam kaitu)?

Kalau suda mabuk..mana lagi ingat tu...aramaii trus itu..ahhaha. mana sy tau sy mabuk dia bilang.

Awesome write up... keep the tradition alive...

This wine is a good business now day due to beer too expensive.

Thank you for the tutorial. Easy to understand & definitely will try to do it myself😀

Ya...you should buat tapai too

Lihing is associated with soo much tradition also 😊

You're right there friend.

Yes..it is thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87