Steemit Activity of Accounts in June and July

in #stats7 years ago (edited)

I have been searching for metrics that give an accurate indication of user growth on Steemit. In a recent post I looked at unique authors per day as a metric and I looked separately at Posts and Comments.

Posting by unique users is a metric I have not seen before and I think is probably the most important one for looking at level of activity.

How many unique authors are posting or commenting each day?

Further Analysis

Extending this out to include further information such as when the accounts were created provides additional insights into the user activity.

Posts

This next graph shows the split of the red line above (Posts) between authors of different durations. 0-3 months since account creation, 3-6 months etc...

We see most activity on accounts that have signed up in the last 3 months.

The above graph in more detail

Comments

This following graph shows the split of the green line above (Comments) between authors of different durations.

There is a similar profile as on the posts profile.

The above graph in more detail

Observations

The volumes of posting activity on Steemit is being driven by new accounts but there is significant fall off in activity of authors that are on the platform for between 3 - 6 months.


Recent Related Posts



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

In june it was very huge:)
we have to promote this great communiy to enlarge this big family

Wow i like it really
Kool graph
And analysis

Thanks for this

@yann0975

That seems like it would be normal behavior for a social media website. People are excited at first and taking it for a test run.

Not everyone has time or interest to make SteemIt valuable to them.

Thank you for some great data, nicely presented.

That makes sense. It's very reassuring that veteran accounts are so consistent.

For the graphs, at what point is age measured? It seems to be a static point, not relative to the date on the graph?

I have divided the accounts into several arbitrary cohorts. It is static from a point in time. I wanted to give an idea of what cohort of authors are posting at the moment. Future iterations of the graph can look at the same cohorts or a rolling fixed period.

Now that I think more about it weighting this by payouts would be an interesting analysis.

Interesting how green declined more than purple and blue. It seems that the longer you are on the platform the more stable your activity.

These guys are getting the bigger payouts.

Yes, they also have a better idea how powerful everything works. Newcomers often assume it is easy to earn a lot of money very quickly. Then they got disappointed and stop. And finally they come back and give it another chance. :)

Hi @eroche, you seem to be very good at the whole science behind Steemit thing :) unlike me! Would you know why this post of my is at 87 upvotes, but only worth $1.8 SBD? I know not every vote has a value, but still doesn't seem right to me. https://steemit.com/adoption/@sweetpea/adoption-the-wait-the-call

The payout largely depends on who votes for you. If you get a vote from someone with a lot of Steem Power your payout will be much more. 1 vote from some of the whales is worth hundreds of dollars. So if you get a small percentage from one of them your post payout goes way up. I will have a look later but I guess you got a lot of votes from minnows on the post. Hopefully a few whales or dolphins will see it soon :)

Thank you so much for the feedback! I just can't understand why the value would stay that low even if it is only 88 minnow votes...maybe I'm just that naive and hopeful :) I very much appreciate your time! I read all our Steemit stats and updates, I'll soon know the dynamics behind the block!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82