Steem Payout PatternssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #stats7 years ago

Regular payouts on Steemit are a mixture of hard work, talent and connections. Authors who get up to 50 dollars a post or more usually write great articles, but they also have put a lot of work into getting to where they are today. It doesn't happen overnight.

Since I last did this post, 2 months ago, Steemit has evolved quite a bit. There have been so many new users so lets have a look at who is making the Trending list on Steemwhales in the last 7 days and how they have gotten to where they are today.

How have these great authors gotten to where they are today?

Top Trending Authors over last 7 days

Here is how the payouts have tracked for this select bunch of authors since they started posting.
Each dot represents a post.

This graph is a bit different than the last time. The last time I showed trending authors over 30 days but since there has been so many changes in the last few months I have chosen a shorter timescale for this post (7 days).

What is notable about these graphs is

  • 3 of the authors took a break and seem to have come back.
  • There is only one new kid on the block @jerrybanfield.
  • Only two authors; @craig-grant and @papa-pepper were in the top 10 last time.

My Previous post is https://steemit.com/steemit/@eroche/steem-payout-patterns

Let me know what you think. What is your strategy for making it onto this list?



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.




Sort:  

Lots of whale votes :))

No Doubt. I need to befriend a few whales.

Also a new kid on the block here (pardon the pun...) but I believe it's a combination of hard work, connections, being interesting and also - most importantly - having good external platforms to plug your Steemit posts. That is a winning recipe for success in my opinion!

I'm not so sure about the last one.

Social capital is desirable, and stakeholders upvote those who have large followings on other platforms. Also it certainly helps long term for both the platform and the author. However in terms of affecting raw payouts, I've not seen any evidence that sharing on social media has a big impact.

I would say you are correct in a sense. The direct impacts of sharing on external sites is quite probably impossible to measure accurately. My train of thought is more the longer term effects of having a good follower base of people who are genuinely interested in your subject matters and therefore more likely to make interactions, I believe that one of the paths to finding these people is to branch out across different networks and interact on a variety of levels.

The more links you put out there, the more exposure your post has and the likelihood people will see it is greater. I am still trying to figure out which social media platform is most effective at promotion for "normal authors" Twitter seemed good for a while but less so now. Posts are back to their 2 hour window where after that pretty much no more exposure.

Do you mean posts on Twitter have a 2 hour exposure? Because I have made exactly that experience on Steemit. After two hours NOTHING happens anymore in 99% of all my posts.

thanks for the info "having good external platforms to plug your Steemit posts. " you mean g+, fb, twitter, linkedin etc?

If you have a quick check of my reply to the OP below, I mean exactly that :) I think that so long as you are unafraid to link back to here on those platforms (and do it in such a way that it isn't just spam) then it is one of the founding steps toward success - I don't want to repeat my other post too much but self-promotion is a major player and shouldn't be underestimated in my opinion!

Interesting observations. Do you think regular folks can make use of external platforms to achieve success or do you just need to be famous outside of Steemit?

Being well known on other social sites will definitely be of great benefit and may explain this weeks new entry to the top 10.

I think for regular people like ourselves the same mindset of self-promotion applies. If we look at people in the craft industry for example - say you have an etsy shop. To "advertise" your products you tweet about them, set up a tumblr, make a page on facebook, link it to friends on whatsapp, use G+ and so on. At the end of the day your little etsy shop has a lot of hits by the time any secondhand clicks or shares have happened. If we think of our steemit posts as that product, so long as we are comfortable with the self-promotion on other platforms it is a decent way for an account to gain traction and ultimately helps the community and value of steemit increase in the long run!

I agree with your points here. I also believe Steemit can be the glue that holds them all together. Build your Rep here and use it on other platforms, especially for building online businesses.

Yeah, thinking of Steemit as the binding agent is a good idea actually. I am investigating setting up an online business soon too and exploring all the options in terms of promotion is definitely good preparation I think :)

great survey man... I actually got here because of @jerrybanfield
I am a subscriber to his youtube channel and he is an incredible and informative marketer I must say.

I don't know much about him, but I am certainly going to check out his feeds.

yes, I will do the same too since he got me here as well as the others on the list... to see what I can learn from them

I'm happy to see some of my favourite Steemians on this list: @mindhunter, @papa-pepper, @tamin ... They produce consistent, good quality content and they also engage with the community regularly. I view them all -- and likely everyone else you've mentioned -- as true community leaders.

Tamim is literally there because they upvote their own posts. They get ~$5 or so payouts from others, until they lift it with their own vote to $100+. They do this about 6 times a day.

Wow. That's nice work if you can get it!

Tamim is #25 in estimated value in the steemit world, and at 534K SP, an upvote will carry a lot of $$.

Work hard. I'm old fashion. just trying to win with some interesting content...following

how to write posts with up to 50 payout? just upvote your own post. It's not about writing, it's all about how powerful your upvote

say @sweetsssj always upvote herself and her vote cost $59.

Hmm, I wonder if someone has done some numbers to prove this theory. Maybe @eroche can?

Interesting post. But more than knowing about the amount that self-voters have given to themselves, I want to know if self-voting is actually better than not self-voting in the long run.

i guess it depend from how to use self-votes money - if you buy SP for this money it's definitely support Steem as a currency and Steemit as a platform (and of course, make user more powerful ).

If user earned money output form the platform, this is an opposite situation

I'm so happy you shared this insight, i feel motivated to invest in steem , good to these steemit members at the top ,, thanks for sharing and i also followed

It looks to me like the Steemit experience is the same as on every social media site in the sense that if you have a huge following somewhere else and then advertise to that audience that you've started an account on Steemit and encourage them to join you here, it's going to cause you to leap ahead of other newbies than someone who lacks that kind of "star power" if you will, to jump start their following here.

Personally, I'm happy to see Steemcleaners doing so well. People take them for granted, but without them there would be a lot more visible spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57