Sort:  

But you're just being a dick so i'm not going to take that seriously.

It's fine, I know I"m over reacting so probably not getting my point across the best way. My point is just that you're stuck on 1 small aspect of what you think is hurting the platform...when it's not your place to make that decision for everyone. Also, your approach to solving the problem does more harm than good.

It's not a decision, it's a conclusion. SteemIt won't succeed when you make more money when you vote on yourself than when you vote on others.

I don't know if you're for example familiar with bots in MMORPG games like World of Warcraft, but once large groups of similar people learn about SteemIt, this platform is gone overnight. If people do everything to cheat in games, they will try even harder when there's money to be made.

I agree with the problem statement. I disagree with your approach in trying to solve it.

The thing is, that they still haven't fixed this self-voting issue after a goddamn year, so then the only thing remaining is try to solve it together as users.

I'm with you on that. But solving together is not the same as putting people with a lot of Steem power on your list and imply that they are all abusing the system. That isn't working together...that is creating a divide.

I believe in the platform so I bought $20k of Steem instead of spending that on other alt coins. I shouldn't get penalized for having faith in the system. If I had $500 of Steem power instead, I would never end up on your list. Why are you penalizing someone for believing in the system vs someone who cashes out all their earnings?

I also don't believe that I gave myself 50% of all the upvotes I did. Will run the data myself this weekend to find the disconnect.

The lists show highest amounts of SBD going to self-votes and highest % of self-voters. Those are the groups with the most impact. The disclaimer also clearly states that not all of the cases are considered problematic.

How can you believe in the system when you just agreed that it's voting incentives are problematic?

I believed in the system when I bought the Steem. Starting to have second thoughts and may power down. Why buy Steem power when it just means I'll show up on your list.

I feel like I'm just repeating myself over...but your list should not be about SBD value...it should be a percentage of the Steem power in your account. Just the fact that most of your list consists of people with a lot of Steem should show you that. Transisto is on there? That guy is as anti self vote as it gets, but he has so much steem. If your list was based on proportion to Steem power, you would see the real abusers.

All your list is doing is making people like me, who actually want the platform to work, who doesn't abuse the system, who is a content creator, to think about powering down or creating multiple accounts or creating a bot or selling my power via delegation.

You self-voted 282 times for ~$0.57 SBD on average. It adds up mate.

In general i don't think there should be any reason to upvote your comments more than a few % of the time. If you're a content creator it's technically OK to upvote yourself, but what if we just all stopped doing it? What would the harm in that?

None at all, would be great. Unfortunately, the system isn't set up like that. If you can't stop the bots who do majority of the harm, then leave the humans alone.

Also, how much did I upvote others? What percentage is my self upvoted SBD compared to my Steem power?

If you got any other suggestions, i'm all ears :)

We can use all the help in the world. Nobody wants this experiment go to shit.

It's not a solution, but measuring and giving props to people who give out most of their upvote dollars to others is better than a shame list. That's good positive reinforcement.

Second, the problem is so much bigger than humans upvoting their comments. How much more money are the bots creators getting from selling votes, or people selling delegation power to minnows who will self upvote, or multiple account abuse, etc? Those are much bigger problems.

I don't know what the solution is....besides changing the underlying rules in the next hardfork.

I don't know what the solution is....besides changing the underlying rules in the next hardfork.

There you go, now you get it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38