STATE WARS - New York State -

in #statewars7 years ago

Hi all in the @steemusa team! I have been living in New York City for a while now. This city is my second home, it adopted me 12 years ago, I love this city as my own. I am a proud NEWYORKER.


This is my entry in #steemusa’s STATE WARS

~ STATE SYMBOLS ~


New York State Slogan



A9E910FD-EBAC-464C-BF64-14E42F37FC2D.jpeg

I ❤️NY is a famous logo, you will see it it usually in T-shirts, accessories and decorations items. It was designed by graphic designer Milton Glaser in 1976, in the back of a taxi. It been used since 1977.



Apple State Fruit Of NY



492A13F9-C7F8-4E3B-840E-3F1131E2FB65.jpeg

The Apple was designed as official state fruit in 1976. NY is the second largest
Apple producing. Many varieties are shipped raw, squeezed into juice and cider, frozen, canned in sauce or in slices, and processed into vinegar.



Sugar Maple Tree



3A76BBF3-C563-4259-BD2F-AABA102BE744.jpeg

It was designed the State tree of NYS in 1956. Sap from the trunks is used to make maple syrup, which I love it over my vegan pancakes.
The leaves also turn bright colors in Autumn, the most spectacular fall foliage I have ever seen in the opportunities we went upstate to Lake George with my husband. The view turns absolutely stunning. Ahhh the bright colors of the leaves.



Our Majestic Statue Of Liberty



0798ECE9-D612-457F-ACD9-EEB16826C08A.jpeg

I know it symbolizes America’s immigrant heritage but, I could not forget to name the Statue Of Liberty, because she is located in New York Harbor, in New York City. On her base is a tablet inscribed with words penned by Emma Lazarus:

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!



Thanks @SteemUSA



Image sources
https://www.famouslogos.us/i-love-ny-logo/
https://parentinghealthybabies.com/health-benefits-apple-baby-food/amp/
https://www.naturehills.com/sugar-maple
https://www.howitworksdaily.com/the-statue-of-liberty/




~ Maru🌻 ~

Sort:  

Great entry I have worked here many years and never knew about the Maple tree

Tip!

Thank you so much my dear friend @tattoodjay! Much appreciated the tip!

welcome 😎👍😎

Hi @maruharraca! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday - Under Pressure. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Nice entry Maru! upvoted and followed

SteemUSA

Hi @mattressgod! Thanks for the support! :)

you know it! :)

Awesome entry. I never knew the history behind the I <3 NY design and that's pretty cool and now I know why New York City is called the Big Apple. You've already got a head start on tomorrow's topic I think (next topic comes out in 3 hours) but it sounds like that will be an easy one for you.

I want to go see the Statue of Liberty as I've never had a chance yet.

Hi @gniksivart! The logo was designed by graphic designer Milton Glaser in 1976 in the back of a taxi, and was drawn with red crayon on scrap paper. The original drawing is now held in the Museum of Modern Art in Manhattan.
source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Love_New_York

I am excited for the next topic! Hmm I think I have an idea of what will be the next topic! 😝

Nice! I do enjoy NYC. I was born in New Jersey, so I was lucky enough to take a few field trips as a kid to the city before we moved down to Georgia. My favorite was when we got to spend the night at the Museum of Natural History!

Ha ha! I went a few times to the Museum of Natural History! Cool!

I was born and raised in NYC myself. And although I will probably never live there again I will always be a New Yorker at my core and it will always have a special place in my heart 💗

I had no idea we had state fruits lol. I looked it up and my TN fruit is tomatoes...I'd prefer apples. lol

Haha tomatoes are fun!

It is hard to beat the statue of liberty!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49