Statewars: Florida State Symbols

in #statewars7 years ago

Manatees, sunshine, and dolphins oh my! Now not sure what you are thinking as you frozen this morning to get out of bed. Ponding where god has gone as of late. Why can’t he make up his mind in January. If you should have snow or rain or maybe just for the fun of it both at the same time? Is there not a better place to be? I’ve no had to shovel snow or deal with black ice in my morning commute for quite some time.

flacover1.jpg

Pixabay edit with Lunapic

Have you ever seen a giant sea cow?!?! Manatees are very amazing and peaceful creates just eating away on grass as they move up and down our river ways, bays, and canals. During our mild winter times down here they tend to mirage towards our warmer waters. Where you can see hundreds of them!

While certain types of their species are moving off the endangered list and onto the threated list you still have been mindful when out boating and enjoying other water actives. You never know when one of these gentle giants will come by and want to give you some affection!

statenickname.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

When I think of state nicknames I draw blank even in places I’ve lived in or vacation in. With one exception – Florida. Do you even know your own state nickname? Most people seem to know ours “the sunshine state.” Things get better once you learn our state motto as well. I won’t spoil that one for you.

That sums us up very nicely. Some of our beaches you can even drive on. Whenever the weather is bad you just have to wait five minutes or so and the rain tends to pass on by. From our world famous Daytona Beach to some of them off the beaten path you won’t run into another person for hours. We have lots of sunshine to go around!

hugdolphin.jpg

Pexels edit with Lunapic

While you are out enjoying all the water around us and all the adventures to be had with friends. You might also spot some dolphins. Now I know what you’re thinking football fans right? Well, kind of we do have a football team named after them and maybe you run into some pirate fans as well!

I’m talking about the beautiful creates called dolphins. You know the ones that enjoy feeding on fish along shorelines and are so lovable you just want hug one! Naturally, we do have one the larger area to interact with them in person in a theme park if you are more into guided tours.

Here you thought all Florida had to offer you was a glass of fresh orange juice and some overpriced theme parks!

Information

Content is written by @enjar for my entry in Statewars Day 1.

enjar_blue_footer.png

Sort:  

We have sunshine!! and palm trees! and sharks! that counts, right? :)

Don't forget the zombies!

Yes!! Lots of Zombies - but that is true for every State. Only we have Hollywood - so all the best Zombies go there to make it into the movies lol

And I am pretty sure that Shawn of the Dead did not take place in CA 🤪

Those are only fake Hollywood zombies! We had a real one here. He was on so many drugs he tried to eat a person’s face off. God bless Florida…

Okay. You win on the Zombie quality!! Yay for Florida!!!
I remember that story - it was crazy!!!!

Manatees are such gentle giants aren’t they

And yes I knew Florida’s nick name Even before coming to the states

Tip!

He he sea cows? Yes I saw a few manatees about 24 years ago. He he they are adorable.... and the sunshine aww please send me some!
Regards from the Big Apple!

Consider it sent try and not freeze in the mean time!

Woohoo!

Go Florida!

Whenever I am reminded about manatees, I get pissed off. Not because I am reminded of the senseless violence effected upon them by careless motorboat/jetski captains, or that apparently some people like to scare them half to death for fun.

But because I just really, really don't like manatees.

or because I went to meet some once during the one time in my life I probably could have but they never showed up probably because someone was an ass hole to them before we got there.

Here you thought all Florida had to offer you was a glass of fresh orange juice and some overpriced theme parks!

Haha, well I got my first laugh in for the morning. What about retirement communities and hurricanes? I guess this is supposed to be about all the good stuff though right ><. Thanks for sharing and hoping in the next 5 - 10 years I get to take a trip down to Florida again and enjoy some overpriced theme parks with my new family.

That is what flood insurance is for. Some crazy people just keep rebuilding.

While 2017 was a rather busy year for hurricanes. It has been rather calm for a number of years where I live. It was only the second time in 15 years I want to say that I was without power for days due to a hurricane. I’m not crazy enough to live on the beach just far enough inland where I’m not as worried.

Yeah, but after what I've seen friends and loved ones go through in Texas after Harvey Flood insurance doesn't do anything for all the emotional loss and the stress that follows.

Living in Georgia means I have spent the majority of my vacations driving down to Florida to enjoy a little time at the beach. ;) I have an aunt in Sarasota, too, so we like hanging out with the blue hairs in Siesta Key.

I like eating dinner at 4:30pm, so I feel right at home with all of the elderly retirees. ;)

Hehe they do love there early bird specials! Once in a while I'll go past a restaurant and there be a bus parked out front from an old folks home!

Woohoo! Go Florida!

Love this! Definitely some of the things I love about living in Florida that is for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46