SteemUSA State Wars Entry - Make Way for Colorado, Y'all - A Poem

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)


Colorado, shining bright,
Often freaking cold at night.
Sit up nights out on the deck?
Better scarf your naked neck.


Wonder why there's snow in May,
Or why there's none for Santa's sleigh?
In Colorado, where we stand,
The weather never goes as planned.


Colorado Columbines
Garnish "Fire Danger" signs,
Complete with Smoky smiling bright.
Take great care for fires you light.


Legal weed has brought the masses
To sit on their elevated asses.
We're quasi-legal criminals
In spite of revenue it pulls.


The big-horn sheep, the little lark,
And every tree in every park,
Each blue lake and weathered stone,
Make Colorado stand alone.


My heart's true home, fantastic place
That nearly touches Heaven's face.


This has been an entry in #steemusa's STATE WARS! The first day's topic was State Symbols, several of which I covered in the above rhymes. Thanks @SteemUSA for giving me an outlet for my State pride!


Speaking of rhymes... I rhyme often. Check out my #dailylimerick if you don't believe me!


Image Sources
https://herb.co/marijuana/news/weed-smokers-guide-colorado
https://statesymbolsusa.org/states/united-states/colorado
https://www.fs.usda.gov/detail/inyo/home/?cid=stelprdb5173311
Other images from Pixabay or Wikipedia


USA! USA! USA!



Sort:  

Great post @chrisroberts!! I love how you worked things in with rhyme!!

Read stuff from me, and quickly you'll see,
That most of the time I use rhythm and rhyme... ;)

Thanks for commenting!

You're very welcome! That is awesome! My mom was great with words like that but me..not so much!! I enjoy reading it though and I'm following!!

The first one I've read so far and I like it! I have a cousin that works as a bartender and Denver and my brother really wants to get assigned to the base in Colorado Springs. If he does I may have to pay a visit to Colorado in the next couple of years.

I live in Indiana now, but know what you mean about not having snow for santa, but getting a freak blizzard in May. It's so weird.

I'm about three and a half hours south of Denver, in the middle of nowhere, which is where I like it. The last few years, each time I've gone to Denver it's been more of a jungle. I'm like a skittish wild animal... I guess that's why the deer are my friends. (See above pic).

I'm originally from KS. It was hard to decide which State to go with, as I love them both. Colorado has a little more interesting stuff to write about I suppose.

Thanks for the comment and resteem! USA! USA!

No problem thanks for participating. I know what you mean about not wanting to live in the city. I live about 2 hours East of Chicago and it's crazy. I try to avoid it as much as possible.

Hahaha yes tourism is indeed up for your state recently.

Absolutely. And millennial hobo-ism...

You make rhyming great again!

Ho ho! Hey hey! Metered rhyme is here to stay!

I have officially been motivated by you! I am cooking something up right now ;p

This is such a cool entry for state wars
Nice using poetry and rhyme to cover the state symbols

Tip!

your all post is same post but why

I don't understand your question.

I love that picture at the bottom with the deer! So cool. Great way of doing it using poetry. Thanks for sharing your state :)

That pic was an entry in one of @papa-pepper's Wild N Strange Contests. We live in a wildlife refuge, so the animals have nothing to fear from us. Often, when I walk the dogs, the deer walk with me.

Great post @chrisroberts! I love the rhyme!Good luck!

Great photos, Colorado is beautiful

Thanks! It's definitely breathtaking where we live. The 14000 foot peaks of the Sangre De Cristos are just right there in our backyard. We don't get much of a sunrise, but they're nice to look at.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28