Statewars - Favorite City - New Orleans

in #statewars7 years ago (edited)

I really can’t pick a favorite city. Mainly because I haven’t seen the majority of the world and I feel that would be presumptuous, but also because I like so many things to choose. So instead I’ll just pick one that I like a lot and has a variety of things to offer.

Favorite City.... New Orleans, Louisiana

Reason One... Mardi Gras

Is it crazy to think a place is amazing because of a single event that only lasts a couple weeks?....No, no it is not.

Credit: Here

Mardi Gras is one of those events you have to be there to understand, and NO, you can’t just go to the Galveston, Houston, Beaumont, etc. versions that exist. Honestly it’s not even the same to go to the major cities such as Shreveport, Lake Charles, Lafayette. You want the true experience...in New Orleans.

I could go on and on about the history of Mardi Gras and specifically how it further developed to what we see today in New Orleans, but I’ll just leave you a link to follow HERE with a good starting point. It general though it is balls, parades, food, beads, costumes, decorations, libations, and just about anything else you can imagine that could be part of having a wild party.


Credit: DarkroomBaltimoreSun

Reason Two...Jazz

Known around the world as the birthplace of Jazz, if you want to really feel the music, you’ve got to go to New Orleans.


Credit: Pinterest

Sure the Jazz age isn’t at its height anymore, but head down south and you’ll still find plenty of it. Coincidentally you’ll see a ton of it around Mardi Gras, that's for sure.


Credit Parties2plan

There’s not much I can really say about Jazz that can’t be looked up or found on the Google...but here’s a better way to appreciate it. Spotify top 100 list HERE

Reason three....Food

You’ll notice I like food, since it seems to come up often in my content, and will likely continue. The south in general has some incredible food...probably the reason for the high prevalence of obesity...but that doesn’t discount the fact that the food is truly to die for. New Orleans is no exception, and is one of the biggest hubs for amazing food.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/LvoZrBt5wML4etfY2
Credit: Made it myself (red beans & rice)

From cajun staples such as crawfish, red beans & rice, gumbo, and the poboy to fine dining and sweets (the famous Cafe du monde)...New Orleans has it all.


Credit: Shutterstock

Did I mention sweets......

New Orleans is really an amazing place and I’ve barely had the chance in my lifetime to explore it. Perhaps when my kids aren’t so...young and demanding...then maybe?

captenredbeard

Sort:  

I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite city for the same reasons you mentioned
But I have always wanted to visit New Orkeans and this post makes that only more true now

Tip!

Hi @captenredbeard! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0 SBD @tipU from @tattoodjay :)

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monomad Tuesday Street Rough Morning. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Great post! I haven’t been over there yet but, the music is amazing! Congratulations

Take a vacation around this time next year. Enjoy Mardi Gras!

New Orleans is pretty sweet. Good food, good music, and lots of heritage. French Quarter is best quarter

Nice :) I went there for Mardi Gras once, fun times

Thanks! tried to find images that gave off the 'feeling' you get when you're there.

LOL cafe du monde is so overrated in my opinion.

You're supposed to keep the same state all week, but I will let this one slide. Need to decide if you're sticking with Texas or Louisiana the rest of the week.

The food in New Orleans is delicious. My cousin has bbqed clams (or oysters?) for his wedding that was the best I've ever had.

Apparently St. Louis has the second largest Mardi Gras celebration falling second only to New Orleans. Never would have guessed that, but learned it reading another post in the statewars.

It's still good lol. And I feel pretty attached to both states!

There's a place in Abbeyville called Shucks, incredible oysters.

St Louis, sounds cool, we should go.

yea most of new orleans is gunna be under water soon due 2 sea level rise ..... louisiana has already lost alot of the coastline. its part a natural cycle though but sure we can modify it u can create anything

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59774.28
ETH 2422.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44